There was this guy in my class, he got into a good university in UK. We were in Pakistan. So anyways this guy bragged about how he would go and sleep around drink and party. All the guys seemed so proud of him lol. He went and a week later before he even joined university he started praying 5 times a day, even kept a beard and would carry a tasbeeh around everywhere. He said he saw goras and realized how lucky we were to be born Muslim. Everyone was so shocked lol. Now hes getting married to a girl in his family who is also really religious mashAllah! He also does charity work in Pakistan and completely changed his ways
Do you know any people as such lol? Who went from good to bad or bad to good?
I remember something like that when I was on school. A senior guy became super religious, kept a beard and always spoke in a very nice and soft manner. I guess yeah people can change really quickly. It all depends on what type of event causes this sudden realization for change.
When I first read this thread, I thought I don't know of any personal examples. But what's funny is that the example was right in front of me. My cousin who was visiting has changed. She wasn't wild like the guy in your story, but she had anger management problems, an unpredictable mood and a rocky marriage. She and her husband went through one crisis after another and it resulted in them becoming closer as a couple. Their marriage is MashaAllah se stronger and they're amazing parents. She's become more religious and covers her hair now.
My mom has become calmer and more patient after becoming religious. My dad is not religious, but he's become more relaxed about some things. I feel that people can change a bit even within a shorter time span, you may not be exactly the same person you were several months back. It seems that in many cases there's a problem that acts as a catalyst for change. I wonder if the guy in your story went through a problem that made him become more religious and I also wondered if he was lying about his wild drunken escapades. :p
i know a few guys , both old and young, who never prayed in their entire lives, even missing Jum'as and Eid prayers...then, all of a sudden they became very religious N pious! masha Allah N alHamdolillah! :) mind you, they did NOT become so called fanatics...just normal people with deen in their lives.
well as for from bad to good tou Hidayat tou Allaah k hath mein hai , kb kisey de de pta ni !
I know a guy, he was a brilliant student in our school n was modern type stylish guy.
So once we saw him keeping beard n being Moazzen of a Jamiaa Mosque.
Daily fajr ki azaan dena Imamat n all. And saying shukr etc.
Then again he wanted to be bad , n how he did ?
Jb niyyatein buri hon tou raste b mil jate hain
Usey beard mein allergy hogyi as daney n all , doc told him to shave n is bahane na beard rahi na Imaan raha !
I still know him n nw he is pehle se b ziada aaahooo ;)
Well..sometimes it could be hadayah as well..there is nothing wrong..if someone becomes better Muslim. However..problem occurs when people go into extremes because that is when shaitan gets them. And yes i have know couple of people..one guy and girl. I see a fella..in masjid sometimes...mas'allah became very humble. Girl..she doesn't talk to non-mehram fellas..so i don't know. So yes..people do change. There is nothing wrong with that. And yes...i remember one more case..while i am writing this..i have got a friend of mine..she used to very very religious. Used to wear niqaab. But now..completely taken her niqaab and hijaab off. Still mash'allah prays and all..so ya..again..people do and can change.
Dont ask about the story its not a juicy one but still i dont like reminding what i did in past. The change happened in 1998/99 and now i can visibaly see the difference in my life alhumdolilah.
I was the first one who changed in my family(although we used to pray 5 times) but sternly opposed by all when i grew beard in 2000.My sisters changed and started taking hijab in 2000. My parents went to hajj in 2005 and mashallah my father grew beard and from not praying very regulalry/not having complete rozas to doing hifz after retirement/not missing tahajjud since 2005. Mashallah complete change for him.Mother used to pray but she is mashallah more religious now.Younger brother grew beard few years back despite the opposition in his office(he is in airforce). my wife changed the next day after marriage and mashallah now its 7 years and she is fine alhumdolilah.(some of the details can be found in my previous blog entries)
My cousin changed from a badmash boy friend of a tv actress to very pious tableghee , even scholars when meet him they respect him due to noor on his face.
I have seen, without exaggeration, hundreds of people changing the course of their lives. Dozens of entire families with little to no influence of deen in their lives within my relatives, neighbors and acquaintances have completely changed during last 10 to 15 years, mostly for better, as they became not only better Muslims but better human beings as well.
Until almost ten years ago, one particular guy in the neighborhood had similarities with the guy OP mentioned, famous for his affairs and aggressive nature during his college days. Then he spent some time with tableeghi jamaat which brought a world of change to him. He became unbelievably humble and pious within months. But his family, specially mother and one of the two brothers, were not very pleased with this all as they believed that "Mullahs" will ruin his career and life. I am an eye witness of his brother slapping him in front of many people for attending tableeghi activites. And I saw him, more than once, crying with tears in the mosque for hidayat of his family. And Alhamdulillah they did change. That brother of his is now settled in Australia and actively participates in dawat o tableegh work there. His mother too, who used to be an uber modern lady and recently retired as Principal of a Govt. College, now does sharai parda and carries other women of the area with her in weekly mastooraat ki taleem. My mother has met her many times, both before and after the change, and what she observed was not just the change of appearance, but the change of attitude and character as well.
Beshak logoon k dil Allah taala k ikhtyaar main hain.. jisay jab aur jesay chahain badal dain..
There was this guy in my class, he got into a good university in UK. We were in Pakistan. So anyways this guy bragged about how he would go and sleep around drink and party. All the guys seemed so proud of him lol. He went and a week later before he even joined university he started praying 5 times a day, even kept a beard and would carry a tasbeeh around everywhere. He said he saw goras and realized how lucky we were to be born Muslim. Everyone was so shocked lol. Now hes getting married to a girl in his family who is also really religious mashAllah! He also does charity work in Pakistan and completely changed his ways
Do you know any people as such lol? Who went from good to bad or bad to good?
Maybe he couldn't do the drinking, partying and sleeping around in the UK
Well..all these are good stories..there ARE stories like that to where..people became extremists. For example..turned into alqaida type. In fact..there is one case atm...but i am just minding my own business.