People of Karachi

Unlike any western metropolis where you find international culture diversity, in Karachi you find a diversity of pakistani cultures/castes. I was wondering if all the different groups can be listed here. (please leave religeon out).

From the back of my head:

Memon - Kacchi
Memon - KaathiwaRi
Memon (plain ones)
Muhajir
Bohri
Makrani
Sindhi
Punjabi
Pathaan
Bihari

theres gotta be more…

Parsi
Chinioti
Burmese
Agha Khani (Ismaili, Gujrati)

cheegum

but mohajir is not a single group, u have hyderabadis, lukhnawais, dehli walay, bihari, etc etc etc

From the back of my head:

Thankyou Fraudz. That is why i have asked other people to add what i do not know.

Gujrati ?

I was told there are Baloch as well? Didn't Altaf Hussain marry a sindhi Baloch?

Actually yes balochis do make up a large percentage of karachi's population. They are often confused with makranis.

Afghani

Bengalis, who migrated to Pakistan after the fall of Dhaka, live mostly in the Korangi area.

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
Bengalis, who migrated to Pakistan after the fall of Dhaka, live mostly in the Korangi area.

Right on! That and in new karachi area.

Bangali didn't migrate after 71. They are always there and still coming for work. Those were Behariz who came after fall of Dhaka.

BTW Kalachi was a village of few thousands Balochs, some 175 years ago. The bohri and hindus were first settlers of this city and who developed it under British rule as a small port. Which later bacame one of the most densed populated cities of the world. Geographically its in Baluchistan, but historically 'babul' is the part of Sindh or Indus Valley.

Among 140M of the city population here is the rough fraction. This is what I read some 8 years ago in a newspaper. May be someone else can shed more light on the current numbers.

Urdu speaking 35%
Pathanz 20%
Punjabiz 20%
Sindhi and Balochs 10%
Afghanz and Bangaliz 10%

Ismailiz, Bohriz, Christians, Hindus, Zoroastrians and others 5%

Smoothie, just like your original settlers theory, your population figures are also screwed up. 140M is the population of Pakistan and not of Karachi. I believe Karachi is about 12M.

ahaN intressting !!

its 14M.....ur rite. Yaar this is what I read in the newspaper that originally Bohri and hindus were the first modern/business community of this port city, which were joined by Gujrati, Khatiyawari and Maharashtri. There are still lots of old landmarks in the city to support this theory. Anyhow, the bottom line is that it was a baloch village originally and later on was stormed by the business communities of the sub-continent.

Chinese!

^ bhai…karachi main ‘chinkay’ kahan dekh liay. Hum ne to sab goron aur chinkon ko pakar kar bas saddar main chor dia hai :halo:

Do mughals consider themselves a different "people"?

The most important ...Bhaayai

Man im serious almost everytime i went to dolmen i used to come across chinese people speaking urdu.

Lahore aur Islamabad ki tarah, Karachi mein Burger hazraat bhi hain. Unki apni aik alehda caste/ethnicity hegi :p