Is this tradition of touching feet of elders common in only some communities or it is common in all eastern communities?
Re: Peiri Paina
it is in practice only in Indic religions, Sikhs and Hindus, and whose feets are to be touched depends on various factor:)
But I think now its part of cultures. I observed it in Sindh (in Muslim families) and Ninja also told that this is prevalent in Indian Muslims too.
Some of things have become the part of our culture but these things are not part of religion. In indo pak Hindus, Muslims, Sikh were living together from centuries so they ve adopted each other things :cobra:
I think these traditions were being followed before Islam in Indo-Pak and were not form of the religion in pure sense. But on the other hand, religions do promote culture of a particular area.
Shaking hands is a western culture, touching nose is arabic culture, kissing is a persian culture, bowing is an eastern culture, touching feet is a indian subcontinent culture of greeting people.
all the people from those regions follow their age old traditions regardless of the religion.
religion and culture are two different things.
i wonder if you feel the same way when you say goodmorning to some one or shake hands. or even when you speak in english. ( cuz i know some people feel it blasphemous to use sanskrit words in pakistan)
kaka chinta nahin karo. Pakistani People whether they want or not can’t avoid to use Sanskrit, because the basic fabric of their languages is made of Sanskrit ![]()
khwaja moinuddin chishti(rahem tullah aleh) him self learnt sanskrit.................:)
But but but… when a wife touches his husband’s feet it is considered as respect. Why Men can’t convey respect for their wives in such way ![]()
I am yet to come across a muslim family where they touch feet of elder:confused:
In sikhs, younger touches feet of elder, wife by default is considered younger. In Hindus, it is the status that decide, age is not the matter even:) and tradition of hinduism changes from region to region:)
khwaja moinuddin chishti(rahem tullah aleh) him self learnt sanskrit.................:)
Scholar Al-Beruni was the first one to learn and his understanding of Indian society and culture is unmatchable, Infact, ancient historians bank upon his work for understanding that time:)
I’ve observed my uncles and Dad doing that when they meet my Dada. Ninja also had the same version and he himself follow that.
As per Islamic tradition, "Paradise falls beneath the feet of mother’, however, I don’t think that Arabs ever had tradition of touching feet of their mother ![]()
I am hearing this for first time, I have seen them bowing in Mazars and shrines even though they never touched feet in their family. Both Sindh and Maharashtra were in Bombay Presidency hence some tradition among the people might be common:)
One tradition of not eating in the home of enemy is unique in Arabs, I personally like that:D
I used to learn Quran from a Mullani ji. When I was going to complete it, my Dadi advised me to touch Mullani ji’s feet after reading Last Ayat convincing that ‘Ustaad ka rutba (status) bada hota hai’. I was just going to touch her feet, when she asked to touch his son’s feet too and I was in
state.
I think this is also common in french people. Read it in Dickens’ novel ‘The Count of Monti Christo’. There is also a tradition for not eating / drinking in sister/ daughter’s in-laws in many communities of Indo-Pak ![]()
Ha ha, Had been house of Panditjee, they might have made you touch feet of entire family and younger the girl is higher is their reverence:), In Pandit family, daughter of the house has highest reverence, even grandfather has to touch feet of his granddaughter as she is devi:)
Sister can go to her brother and sister home without giving anything, but father and later brother has to pay indirectly for the hospitality given to them and when they come back to their parent house along with her husband than hospitality should be even more:D
But I think now its part of cultures. I observed it in Sindh (in Muslim families) and Ninja also told that this is prevalent in Indian Muslims too.
The Indian side of family does touching of the elder's feet, especially the ones who follow pirs/murshads
Yes this tradition is more prevalent in areas / families believing in Peeri / Mureedi, although the Sufisim preached for equality :(
They actually do. when she has a danda or belan in her hands ![]()
aji hum chinta nahi kar rahe hai. i know there are educated and level headed people like you in pakistan. i was just talking about a minority who show up on TV from time to time.
I think i knew that. my own nana ji can only write in farsi not in hindi at all.