hey peoples
could you please recommend some good PDAs.. i’ll most prob be getting it from US, so lemme know whats out there..
im looking for something pretty simple, good memory (maybe 32mb) and nothing toooo extravagent..
thanks ![]()
hey peoples
could you please recommend some good PDAs.. i’ll most prob be getting it from US, so lemme know whats out there..
im looking for something pretty simple, good memory (maybe 32mb) and nothing toooo extravagent..
thanks ![]()
:google:
i am using Dell Axim X5 for some time now and i am very happy with it…Dell have new models these days and some good prices…chekc them out at http://www1.us.dell.com/content/products/category.aspx/pda?c=us&cs=19&l=en&s=dhs
Re: PDA’s
I would go for IPAQ from Compaq/HP … they’ve the biggest Accessories range in comparison to other PDA’s … try the 4150, 5450 or 5550 … they’ve Bluetooth, W-Lan etc. etc.
I personally have a Ipaq 3750 but gonna soon upgrade to the above mentioned ones
Re: Re: PDA's
*Originally posted by Zero_one: *
I would go for IPAQ from Compaq/HP ..... they've the biggest Accessories range in comparison to other PDA's ..... try the 4150, 5450 or 5550 ..... they've Bluetooth, W-Lan etc. etc.
I personally have a Ipaq 3750 but gonna soon upgrade to the above mentioned ones
she said she wanted something simple :)
try the following few Sadzzz :
PalmOne Zire 31
Palm M130
Sony Clié PEG-TJ27
PalmOne Zire 71 <----------------- I would sudgest this one. Its small easy to use, and works just great. ( I dont have it, but plan to buy this one aswell ) A friend of mine has it and I played once with it.
Dells are also cheap, but HP and Compaq are always over priced :)
If u want a review of the PalmOne 71, I ll post one.
I would vote for PalmOS devices. PocketPC software are bloated so it needs a lot more memory than a comparable Palm device. Depending on your budget, check out the Palm Tungsten T3, very cool device, I almost bought it. I currently use the Tungsten W with the cellphone.
i woudnt recommend a PalmOS based PDA....PocketPCs are always easier to use, plus u can find lot of applications wriiten for them (being a .NET programmer, i write my own apps for my PPC)...
mere pda …ipaq 1945..itne shoq se khareeda..acha hai…par kasam se yar..yeh cheez use nahin hoti practically
pachta raha hoon. fuzool main is par aur bluetooth modem par itna paisa kharch kia ![]()
according to a survey conducted by some people/insitute, PDA are not very usefull u can look at Khanzada, lol i would recommend not buying a pda at all, look for in the other thread about mp3 plays and the device TofiBaba is talking about there, i think that's more like it ;-)
First figure out why you want to buy a PDA. If all you want is to carry your contacts and some basic calendar features, then most cell-phones would suffice, so you don't have to carry two gadgets. If your requirements are more than that, then let us know, so a more precise guidance can be provided. A lot of people buy PDA's just for the heck of it or they think this the cool thing to do, and later on don't end up using it all that much.
For most people, a cell-phone/PDA hybrid is perhaps the most useful, especially if it has an MP3 player and decent quality camera built-in. That way you don't have to carry multiple devices. Although admittedly, this is like a Jack-of-All-Trades-and-Master-of-None.
If u have a laptop then you dont need PDA. notebooks are way better than PDAs. A PDA cant substitue a notebook but a notebook can easily replace a PDA's functionality and then some.
thanks everyone.. i have some idea now what to look for
Faisal, its not for myself.. more for my dad. He mentions it now and then (well for the past few years) but has never gotten around to getting one. I thought, electronic things a bit cheaper in US, so i may get one from there..
ur right though, if ur only storing contacts and a few meeting details, its best to use ur mobile phone instead..
i will look into it.. not sure if dads gonna use all those sci-fi features
dutch paki, thanks heaps :k: i’ll check out the review myself.. will go shopping and see what comes in my price range
I think I have more applications for PalmPilot then I have for regular PC’s ![]()
As for ease of use, its all a matter of getting used to. The reason why I’m into Palm is because all apps and docs are very small. I have a 256 mb SDIO card with all my applications on it. If it was a Pocket PC I’d need a 20 gb hard drive to carry around.
I have a T3- it is excellent. I had an IPAQ b4 that and I think the palm is better. The software is very easy to use. It can be very simple for beginners and at the same time, it can be an MP3 player, you can watch movie clips, you can put in SD cards to increase memory etc etc.
i have a palm tungsten t3 and i have had it for over a yr now. i use it extensively..it depends on how u incorporate it in ur everyday life.. its going to be as useful as you will want it to be. in the business world it is a very common gadget and a useful one too. i doubt if you would be able to tell which features ur father will need or use. since this is something very personal only the person who would be using it can know what features he might use/will use. this is not to discourage you from buying it. in ur case you might want to narrow down ur search based on ur budget and then buy the best one in that range.
you should check how much it costs in au...i bought it when it came out for about $400 and it was available in germany for $50 more. it won't be worth buying from usa unless you are going to have somebody
bring it to au.
why did i buy t3? at the time i bought it i went through the available products in the market and t3 best suited my needs and enjoyed a good customer rating too.
when you finally decide which one you want to buy; you might want want to consider buying a case for it too. www.vajacases.com or ..