PCB to probe into Shehzad-Dilshan religious chat

PCB to probe into Shehzad-Dilshan religious chatBy AP
Updated 43 minutes ago

[TABLE=“class: media media–left one-whole palm–one-whole, width: 650”]

The PCB said that it is investigating religious comments by batsman Shehzad to Sri Lanka player Tillakaratne Dilshan. -AP Photo

ISLAMABAD: Religious comments by Pakistan batsman Ahmed Shehzad to Sri Lanka player Tillakaratne Dilshan after their one-day international last Saturday are being investigated by the Pakistan Cricket Board.
While the players were walking back to the dressing room in Dambulla, Sri Lanka, Shehzad was caught on camera telling Dilshan “if you are a non-Muslim and you turn Muslim, no matter whatever you do in your life, straight to heaven. “
Dilshan’s reply was not audible, and Shehzad went on to say, “Then be ready for the fire.“
Shehzad was summoned to PCB headquarters in Lahore on Wednesday and asked about his comments, board general manager media Agha Akbar told the Associated Press.
“Ahmed has informed the PCB that it was his personal chat with Dilshan, and there was nothing more to it,” Akbar said.
“What we understand is that no Sri Lanka Cricket official or our own manager lodged any complaint.“
However, Akbar said the PCB was still investigating the matter. Dilshan was born to a Muslim father and a Buddhist mother and was known as Tuwan Mohamed Dilshan.
He shed his Muslim name shortly after his international debut in 1999 and took up the name Tillakaratne Mudiyanselage Dilshan with an ethnic Sinhalese-Buddhist identity.
His childhood coach Ranjan Paranavitana said even though Dilshan carried a Muslim name, he and his brothers and sisters followed their mother’s religion from their childhood.
Dilshan scored an unbeaten 50 on Saturday and powered the home team to a seven-wicket victory in the ODI series decider.

PCB to probe into Shehzad-Dilshan religious chat - Sport - DAWN.COM

Re: PCB to probe into Shehzad-Dilshan religious chat

preaching version of Islam followed by Pakistani politicians.. do what ever you want to do. Being Muslim, you are destined for paradise. :nook:

who told Shehzad that a Muslim will go to paradise no matter what he/she does? what can be farther from the truth.

neem mulla Khatra e iimaan!

bad he should have stick to the cricket :(

Yeh to Afridi ka bhe baap nikla

He is referring to sayings about non-Muslims reverting to Islam as they become 'clean as baby' (in terms of 'sins').

he said, "no matter what you do"...not did in the past!

he also remarked, "be ready for hellfire" [if you don't revert back to Islam]...

...Islamic protocol is to talk to someone regarding conversion with 'wisdom and kindness'...telling someone to go to hell is neither 'wise' nor 'polite' to say.

agree?

besides, har baat kaa ek mauq'a aur ek maHel hotaa hai...cricket ground par raah chalte aisii baat karnaa Ghaire munaasib hii nahiiN bal k aHmaqaanah bhii hai.

Another example of an idiot needlessly judging others. To each his own. Seriously some of us need to end this thekedari of other people

And isn't this what mullahs would have us believe that a muslim however bad would eventually go to heaven after having received his/her punishment whereas a non muslim however naek (as in good deeds/huqooq al ibad or humanity) would go to hell

i.e. this evil IS butcher 'Jihadi John' would go to heaven but someone as pious as madame Teresa who devoted all her life to humanity would go straight to hell. Personally I find it very hard to believe esp. as none of us choose their religion.

Taking people into a desert with their hands tied behind their backs then slitting their throats like gajar mooli. What the hell? Which Islamic teaching is this? These IS criminals are devoid of humanity.

By and large people practise the religion of their parents or the religion of the country in which they were born. To each his own. It is not for us to judge others or to pass judgements left, right and centre all the time. Leave it to Allah. Let HIM be the judge of everything on the day of judgement.

And there is clear hypocrisy or duplicity in how mullahs perceive and propagate the message of islam to the masses. On the one hand they say that The Prophet pbuh came to this world as a blessing for ALL mankind, Yet mullahs ONLY (there may be the odd exception) pray for muslims at Juma and Eid prayers. Isn't this a universal dua? "Allahumma a'izzal-Islama wal-Muslimeen."**Mullahs do not pray for humanity or mankind. **Such narrow-minded thinking and attitudes breed intolerance & backwardness.

And then you find many muslims conveniently hide behind the excuse "muslims are in the current mess because they are not following their deen, because of their own aamaal!!!" Maybe we all need to rethink and maybe the Western world is doing something (humanity) that Allah is happy with and maybe muslims also need to change/focus on human and social development rather than just being obsessed with jihad. Maybe praying and fasting alone does not endear you to god as much as your good deeds. Even in our religion there is greater emphasis on duties towards mankind than duties towards Allah (of course it doesn't mean that you stop praying and fasting etc.)

ps. I got a bit carried away but I feel extremely ashamed at what IS butchers are doing in the name of Islam. May Allah destroy them

yes, you did...and i would add "not just a bit but quite a bit". :)

Sir correct me if I am wrong..

if i correct then it will become a thread of argument for the sake of argument. :)

vaise, aksar josh e Khitaabat meN aisaa ho jaataa hai. i suggest you read again [without being emotional] what you wrote and i'm sure you'll know what i am talking about. :)

I stand by what I said in my post. IS really make me sick to my stomach..

Dilshan was an ex Muslim and converted as far as I know.

Back to the topic of the thread. Shehzad really should have minded his own business

His middle name was Mohammad (just like Obama's middle name is Hussein) but Dilshan always followed his mother's faith (Buddhism) This is what I read in the British papers today

who or what is IS? you mean ISIS?

YES

oh ok...i don't want to derail this thread...if you wish i can PM you with my reservations about your post...

...i'm back to the topic.

Shehzad was said something at a wrong place, at a wrong time and in wrong words without any wisdom or politeness.

janab posted 51000 posts in 5 years…10,000/year…30 posts/day…allah o akbar..very impressive!

but still hazrat is delivering lectures to others on josh khitabat!

I am sure all of hazrat’s 51000 posts were right on topic, within boundary lines, and a huge value-add!!!

:teary1:

jahalat ka koi solution nahieen hai...most of our players players are hardly educated and fed on mullah's broadcast....

chatrol honiee chayee shezad kee.....you did not do well for what you were paid...did not score much and you are lecturing people on religion