PCB not to renew Lawson contract

Yeah, I think it will be a desi coach backed up by a desi 'malshi'.

If Javed is back as a coach than his nephew Faisal Iqbal will be back in the side.

‘I am duty-bound to fully back Lawson’ - Butt

In what appears to be a softening of his earlier stance, Ijaz Butt, the new chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board, has said he bears no grudge against Geoff Lawson, the Pakistan coach, and that the PCB will continue to support him through the rest of his contract period.

**“As the PCB chairman, I am duty-bound to fully back Lawson and to take care of all his liabilities,” Butt told Dawn. “What I said in the press conference was my personal opinion **which I had also given to the then chairman Nasim Ashraf.” Butt added that Lawson would be given whatever support was needed to help him improve Pakistan’s performances on the field.
In his first press conference as chairman, Butt had given an unusually harsh assessment of Lawson’s tenure as coach, concluding that Pakistan had “no utility for him.” He also said that his contract would not be renewed once it was over.

Cricinfo has also learnt that efforts at a reconciliation of sorts with Lawson have been made by the chairman. Speaking to Cricinfo, Lawson revealed that there had been no contact with Butt since he took over. But it is believed that a message has been passed on to Lawson through a third party that there “may have been some misunderstanding” over the initial comments made by Butt.

Cricinfo - ‘I am duty-bound to fully back Lawson’ - Butt

What a clown Uncle Butt is proving to be in his early days… As chairman of the PCB how could you give your personal opinions about the national coach at a press conference??? That means from now onwards any player can also get away with controversial statements by claiming that it was their personal opinion and not official opinion. Akhtar aur Afridi kay tu mazay aagiey.

I guess all this will result in Lawson leaving this job before his contract expires which I think what Uncle Butt and Co. wants. I can see the next coach to be a Pakistani :slight_smile:

well lawson said tht under his coaching .. Pakistan has performed better then under any one ...
he is meeting up wid Butt 2day. .... lets see

In my personal opinion (and I am not at a press conference), this was somewhat expected, a not-so-great effort of bridging the gap which had already been damaged and now beyond repair. So Ejaz Butt backtracked from his initial statement, how different is it from the blunder in front of the media a few days ago? I don't see it as a cause of "doing the right thing" but more of a publicity effort and putting wool over the eyes of those who witnessed. Ejaz Butt is still of the opinion that Lawson's contract will not be renewed so anything to backtrack that statement now is a waste of time, really. The chief and the coach have reached a dead end.

Also, if it was Younis as the captain, I don't believe we would be seeing this today. I think Younis Khan and Lawson would have survived well as a pair. Also, I do not know where Shoaib Malik stands in all this mess.

If we want the next coach to be a Pakistani, start from the bowling department and bring Waqar Younis back.

Re: PCB not to renew Lawson contract

They are paying him $30,000 a month. With these kinds of idiotic statements, do they think he will deliver anything worth $30,000? No. So why pay him for six more months, rather than just terminate the contract, pay him 3 months of severance and bring in someone who is actually gonna do something for the team right from this moment on.

I don't know this clown, Ijaz Butt, but by this example, it seems things are just headed south (well, even more south, I should say). Cheers to Pakistan cricket fans!!

Whats our next international commitment anyway??

Australia, England, Newzeland and South africa are visiting Pakistan next month :chai:

Lawson sacked as Pakistan coach

PCB accepted my recommendation much quicker than I expected. Oh well :smooth: