PCB boss Ijaz Butt likely to be removed next week

Long overdue, the damage done to Pak cricket under this idiot is unbelievable.

PCB boss Ijaz Butt likely to be removed next week

There are indications that the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Ijaz Butt may soon find himself kicked out of the post, as President Asif Ali Zardari, as the PCB’s patron, has given his consent for a massive overhaul of the board. According to sources, Zardari has taken serious note of recent controversies and complaints against Butt and may soon remove him.
“Indications are that the President has finally taken notice of the complaints by the members of the National Assembly and Senate Standing committees on Sports,” *The News *quoted sources privy to the development, as saying.
One of the key points, that goes against Butt, is his persistence to appoint his own relatives and known people on important posts of the board, while ignoring other deserving candidates.
“His insistence on continuing with Yawar Saeed and giving him important positions like that of the national team manager despite criticism from many quarters has also gone against Butt,” sources said.
Zardari is likely to announce some major changes in the board next week.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/News-Feed/cricketnews/PCB-boss-Ijaz-Butt-likely-to-be-removed-next-week/Article1-550365.aspx

http://feeds.bignewsnetwork.com/?sid=641007

Re: PCB boss Ijaz Butt likely to be removed next week

Long overdue but I would welcome this only once I know who is replacing him

yeh na ho k aasman sey girey aur khujoor mein atkey! Merit is rarely followed in anything in Pakistan

another sifaarishi and an equally undeserving person will most likely replace Butt. One thing is for sure. It won't fundamentally change anything

Last two chairmen of PCB have been disastrous for Pakistan cricket. If he is sacked let’s hope this time some one who have knowledge of cricket is appointed.

And whatever the hell happened to the constitution that was promised by Nasim Ashraf? :rolleyes:

may be Rehman Malik.. :hmmm:

it's not the person that's the problem. it's the system that is the problem. there is no messiah waiting... there's no magic bullet that can set Pak cricket right.

Pakistani people love waiting for that messiah who will come, wave his magic wand, set everything right and make us world champs. unfortunately there is no such messiah - yes, not even Imran as is the popular demand. we need to introduce systems - not change faces every couple of years. changing PCB heads every few years is just as stupid as changing captains every six months.

well said....yaar samb tum to bhot hee samajhdaar ho.....it's the system, stupid!...koi messiah nahiee ayae ga.....and it is not only in cricket, the pakistani nation is waiting for a massiah in every aspect of life...kartay raho wait.....

I think with the current trend, i can predict who is going to be the next chairman of the board, it would be either some friend of Zardari or somebody who go penalized by the SC...

I politely disagree. Yes the domestic infrastructure and PCB set-up needs a major overhaul but a good and sincere administrator can make a hell of a difference.

Air Marshall (r) Nur Khan is a shining example of that. He was still only answerable to the president (General Zia) back then but he had good leadership and management skills. And because he was a no-nonsense, take charge kind of guy he produced impressive results wherever he went be it

Hockey
Cricket or
PIA

Sometimes you need that 'danda'

but asif, what if that person dies suddenly....or suffers from a heart atatck.....or what if he is an ahmadi because in that case we will “inshallah” eliminate him sooner or later! or what if he goes to liberty market and become victim of a terrorist attack…hamary country may 101 ways hain to be eliminated suddenly....then what…..that is why we need a functional system that is permanent and not outstanding personalities that appear sporadically…

Removing Ijaz Butt is a first and a positive step towards changing the system.

Do not dispute that for a minute

But I believe a competent, honest and strict disciplinarian like Nur Khan can make a real difference DESPITE the system.

PD a functional and operational system can only be put in by a competent person or team. That is why a man with vision is required, call him messiah if you so wish. Systems dont fall from sky, someone has to take charge and put the systems into operation.

and I completely disagree with you.

I don't know much about Nur Khan apart from the stuff I've read here and there. but I rate Shehryar Khan very very highly. I have huge respect for that man. he is a very dignified, reserved, sober man who thinks hard before he says something. he took a lot of excellent steps when he was the chief especially the fact that he refused to sack Inzi/Bob every two months as demanded by the people/fans of Pakistan. plus the Pak team did reasonably well in his time.

and yet what happened when he left? and in what circumstances did he leave in? and where do we stand today despite the relative stability in his time?

we stand today where we stand today simply because despite good, capable administrators like Nur Khan, Shehryar Khan - the dictatorship model does NOT work. you cannot leave everything to one person. it doesn't matter who he is. when he goes, the house of cards will collapse as it has. you need to build systems (and yes you need good people to build those systems).

everything has to be decided by committee. and no one - I mean NO ONE - should ever step out of their job descriptions. it is not the PCB chief's job to pick the captain, sack the coach, etc by himself. people have to go by the rules.

but see this is where the hypocrisy and short termism of Pakistani fans comes up. when the PCB chief breaks all kinds of rules but does something they like, they cheer for him. when he does something they don't like... then they jeer. but the point is that it is NOT his job to make those calls. it's the principle that matters.

when Butt sacked Lawson, I don't remember much protest when that warranted him getting fired. the irresponsible, unprofessional manner in which he fired Lawson was absolutely disgraceful. he deserved to lose his job for that. now I wasn't even a huge fan of Lawson. but when you appoint anyone to a job, you give them time to prove themselves no matter who they are. so even if Afridi is appointed captain, you should give him two years at least (may God have mercy on me, my soul and my kaali zubaan). but people wanted to suicide bomb Butt's house when he picked Abdul Rehman. why? because they didn't like the player.

and THAT hypocrisy is the problem. the problem isn't that he sacked Lawson or that he picked Abdul Rehman, the problem is that it wasn't his call to make and that he behaved like zill-e-elahi as do all PCB chiefs. now some were better than others. but the bottomline is that Pak cricket will always be in the dump unless PCB becomes an organization instead of being at the command of one man - even if that man is Nur Khan himself.

^ And I strongly disagree with you. Either is bad. No system or change can survive without strong leadership.

A system takes time to evolve. There's no quick fix for anything. Even the best set of administrators, however competent, cannot fix all that is wrong with our domestic cricket in a short time. There's no magic wand that can raise the standard of our domestic cricket immediately. But what a strong and sincere leader can do is put an end to sifaarish in PCB and fix financial and administrative mismanagement within the board. He would also come down hard on indiscipline within the team. It is because our board is so weak and incompetent, full of dithering fools, that players show such gross indiscipline from time to time. They know that the board does not have the balls to take strong action against them. Secondly they know that even if some action is taken by the board, any punishments w'd only be transient and they can literally get away with anything. A strict disciplinarian like Nur Khan would have made certain that all fines and bans are strictly adhered to. Shoaib Malik's case is a classic example of such weak leadership. He was reprieved not because he is 'not guilty' but because of his political connections. Nur Khan would not have taken any nonsense from any political group and would have told them 'politely' to mind their own business & shove their *sifaarish *where the sun don't shine! Groupbaazi and indiscipline was a big no no in his book.

Hence we need

1. A strong and sincere leader with a vision
2. A workable and functional system: Once we have a competent team in place headed by a strong leader, this will happen naturally over time

Hopefully then we will start seeing some results, i.e. players with better techniques at domestic level, players who are mentally strong and disciplined.

And it is because of clowns like Ijaz Butt that we have become a laughing stock in world cricket with people openly making fun of his incompetency

**" They have security issues which are far beyond the scope of its cricket authorities, but in any case they are well capable of making a pig’s ear out of basic sporting administration at the best of times. They have cricket’s most extraordinary chief executive in Ijaz Butt, a man who could create controversy in an empty room."

And he is right…

Javed Maindad should be selected as PCB Chief.

hata k nahee hata abhi tak?