PCB bans Younis Khan, Mohd Yousuf for indefinite period

re: PCB bans Younis Khan, Mohd Yousuf for indefinite period

To me it is much harsh for Younis and Yousuf. PCB needs to tell the nation, the prime reasons behind such decision. As I said that before, Afiridi with or without captaincy is bound to bring trouble to the team. But he not being captain will make more trouble. PCB is facing another challenge now i.e. T20 WC 2010.

This is strong whip used by Board will have some effect. PCB is the governing body of Cricket in Pakistan, players with or without Central Contract can be banned and fined without any problem.

Exactly,,, I guess the 'leaked' report that we saw couple of days ago didnt had its full contents. Perhaps it had more information about the Y&Y.

Australia and England will be so happy already after knowing all this. Early Christmas for them :)..

Yes indeed, and to save his own Butt. Ultimately, the higher ups are responsible for the disaster or a team or a project. Who chose the team manager, administrator, captain, etc. They get fired first. However, Butt lives on without being an effective team leader and main reasons for the disaster and now squashing player power when YK pointed it out and stepped down.

Like everyone has said, I dont understand it either that Malik gets 1 year ban and Y's get lifetime ban. Certainly, I think the 2 most sincere cricketers are the Y's. Yousuf lacks the captaincy material but still I dont think his intent was malicious. He just doesnt know how to control player power and neither did Younis Khan who stepped down because of that. So instead of getting the support in UAE during NZ tour, he was allowed to take a break by Butt who appointed Yousuf as captain and now YK is paying with a lifetime ban.

I hope they can appeal and concentrate on domestic cricket and be in good form so the can be selected for England. Otherwise, the summer England tour will be another disaster for Pak specially in the test arena.

You can consider the new test team of Pakistan without Y's to have a lesser batting punch than Bangladesh.

I don't agree with PCB not disclosing the facts or reasons behind the bans of Malik Rana, and younis and yousuf in particular. And I don't buy this $hit that they couldn't disclose it because they are under an oath.

Even if Malik and rana were trouble makers, PCB needs to give some kind of details or at least officially say that theses two were creating grouping in the team and thus got the 1 year ban.

Speechless about Younis and Yousuf. I am not a fan of Younis the drama queen but did he get a ban because he was a drama queen? And what about Yousuf? He got a ban because he is a pathetic captain?

I don't care if Younis and Yousuf are or aren't fit enough to play international cricket but it is unfair to ban any player from playing cricket for his country without any reason. PCB must give these reasons becasue it is our right to know.

Bagherat PCB waley, slapping a lifetime ban on two of the MAIN players is stupidity and retardedness.. now what the hell are the new players goona do .. without senior experienced players ..i dunt see pak winning anything now .. the more you want to support pak .. the more hate the pcb creates for the fans ..ullo k patttthey .. i hate em .. sab kameeney log ooper baithey hein get their wages ..and khaa pee kar dikaar maar kar side maar jaatey hein …they dunt care about pakistan .. they re just in for the money … as id they havnt made enuf already .. :mad:

And PCB licking its own spit

this is what BUTT have to say now

Its nothing else but the STAYA HOYA BUTT.. BUTT has again proved that he is the problem in PCB... changing Captain in the middle of series is the biggest blunder one can ever make ( well i thought it was the biggest) but BUTT sahib have proved me wrong again...

ban only younis khan
dont ban yousaf.

^^ didnt i say these ppl have no gherat or imaan .. one min they say one thing and the next min another .. yehh log aisi harkaton se baaz nahi aatey chaaey political leaders hon ya koi sports k leader .. theyre all from the same $h1t hole :made:

Another joke from PCB. Main culprits still prevailed (Malik and to some extent Afridi). Malik only got 1 year ban while Yousuf and Younis got "unlimited" ban for unforeseen things. Was it on performance? or was it on something else?

Now its PCB's duty that it publishes the findings of the committee and unless that is done, bans on Yousuf and Younus will be regarded as too harsh.

and finally, will the board take ANY RESPONSIBILITY for all this and butt sahab moves his butt out? after all all these bans and fines are not only based on AUS's tour performance in and out of the ground. Why did PCB let it go for this long? Should'nt Butt sahab resign too?

Exactly what I just said in my post above ^

PCB inquiry committee report: What of the punishers? | Pakistan Cricket Features | Cricinfo.com

The immediate point that comes to mind is who gave the PCB keys to running this asylum? The merits and demerits of what is effectively the biggest purge in years of the Pakistan cricket team we will come to shortly but, in effect, the PCB has cleaned up an asylum in which its members are as much inmates as the players.

**The basic question that arises, after all, is if the team is racked with unrest, indiscipline and factionalism and is performing so poorly, then is the team operating within a vacuum? It is not. It is selected by men and run by men, men of the board. If the team is rotten, then are not the people who are in charge of running it the same? The players have been singled out, but the managers, selectors and board officials who run the show have sidestepped the mess nicely.

**If you can get beyond that, then there is no questioning that this is the most significant action the PCB has taken in many years against players. In one fell swoop, it has banned three men who captained the side last year. Of them, two, according to the board, will not play for Pakistan again. Another captain has been put on probation for six months and fined, same as the vice-captain of the last tour. Reputations and seniority have not been spared. The Qayyum report was similar, implicating big names, but that was for a graver offence and was shaped globally; on matters such as indiscipline, the actions are unparalleled.

A number of things have fuelled the severity of the punishment. Pressure on the board to do something, anything, has been intense, more so because of its general ineptness and failures elsewhere. It had to be seen to be doing something, and a man can only take so many grillings from parliamentarians.

But such dirt has built up over the last year. Shoaib Malik was removed. Under his replacement Younis Khan, players were forever conspiring. Mohammad Yousuf became captain only to ultimately engage in an open and stupid battle with Malik. The sins of Kamran Akmal and Shahid Afridi were public ones.

Additionally, results have been pathetic. Players’ popularity is probably at its lowest in some time, which undoubtedly helped the board in its decision. So steadily, over the year, such a picture of unrest and unruliness, factionalism and unchecked player power has emerged, and such a mood of discontent created, that all dirt had to be swept away. The official board line, that it wants to set an example for future generations, almost doesn’t matter. The reaction is mixed: some voices say it had to happen, some say it’s too much, as clear an indication as any that there are no heroes here. In fact there are mostly villains.

Trouble lies in the days ahead. Because the punishments are so severe, the reasons behind them must be made clear. The board is not willing to go public with the report, but that will be grave folly. If the PCB is not seen to be transparent in the way it has handled this, its actions have no benefit whatsoever.

Questions will be rightly asked as to the precise factors that led, in particular, to the banning of Rana Naved-ul-Hasan and Malik for a year and of Younis and Yousuf for an indefinite period. That kind of punishment is prompted only by the most serious transgressions and if the board doesn’t come totally clean on what led to it, rumour-mongering and gossip over coming days of the worst kind can be expected. That, Pakistan cricket can do without. Already there is confusion; the bans on Yousuf and Younis, the board had to clarify, are open-ended and they can be picked again depending on the board’s mood.

Talk of legal action is inevitable; such are the happy days with an empowered judiciary and legal fraternity. In any case it has not been uncommon over the last two years for Pakistani players to take the board to court and it cannot be ruled out here. It will be a waste of time, for even if a court overturns the ban, it cannot force the board to select players.

Nothing is permanent in Pakistan. It is worthwhile to bear in mind the summer of 1976, when a similar battle erupted between board and senior players. It was a petty pay dispute, but it soon flowered into an almighty ménage a trois of ego clashes between the country’s prime minister, Zulfiqar Bhutto, a close aide and minister Abdul Hafiz Pirzada and the board chairman AH Kardar.

Kardar sacked six big names, including Imran Khan, before a major tour to Australia. Within days, however, Pirzada - with Bhutto’s tacit consent - had taken temporary control of the board, reinstated the players and Kardar fell in a matter of months. Old folks say that marked the beginning of unchecked player power in Pakistan cricket, the rise of the superstar. Some might see 2010 as the end of it.

There are only whiffs in today of what happened 34 years ago - for one, the players then had tremendous public support - but with an administration as bereft of goodwill, public trust and support as this one, nobody will bet against a similar endgame.

Osman Samiuddin is Pakistan editor of Cricinfo

Feeds: Osman Samiuddin

i support PCB`s decision, the senior players were bringing all the dirty laundary from the dressing rooms out in public and bringing their own egos and personal enimosity in the team due to which there were divisions etc. I do however think that SHOAIB MALIK got off easy however there must be reasons and i am sure in the near future PCB will come out with explanations, cuz i am sure as much as i think PCB is a joke they cannot give that big of a punishment to senior players in public without solid reasoning. Lets hope our team learns from this whooping and get their act together and play as a team, inshaAllah i see good days ahead :k:

Afridi , shoib malik and kamran akmal also deserve life ban.

i fear that PCB will not be firm in maintaining the punishment.

Senior Akmal deserves more spanking, 3 Million RS is nothing as compared to what he has done. He has brought anarchy among the ranks by being one of the bigger Khalifas alongwith Malik and Afridi. A solid ban on him would have been sweet as well.

Sarfaraz Ahmed deserves a fair chance in the team to prove his worth.

What a joke!!!

I just saw the interview of PCB media manager on GEO who essentially said the same thing that there is no life ban of Yousuf and Younis and they can be considered for any format any time by the PCB.

and that anytime might mean tomorrow :smack:

For the 1st time, i am with Dasti... I support Dasti when he calls for the resignation of BUTT & Co... I am getting the feeling now that BUTT & Co is the problem in the Pakistan Cricket and for some reason BUTT sahib hay sworn that he'll level the Cricket t ranking with the Hockey Ranking of Pakistani team...

If anyone is responsible for the mess, then it is BUTT only... rest of the problems are just result of his incompetency....

someone rightly said that put BUTT photo on roads insted of "U"....u know what i means

Apparently PCB has taken a u-turn again and they're claiming it's not a life ban for Yousuf or Younis. It's "indefinite" like Tiger Wood's indefinite leave from golf I guess. So they can come back into the team anytime. Let's see when that time comes. What a joke.