Pathane Khan - Meda Ishq Wi TooN

by request…

plz don’t mind the quality, i had to compress it otherwise i couldn’t have uploaded it:

Re: Pathane Khan - Meda Ishq Wi TooN

amazing stuff :k:

cool DM :k:

this is such a classic… jus love it

hmm…i have the 17 minutes wala kalaam …but its to big to upload…

hi

What is this..Is he crying or laughing and what is he saying...gadya madya akiyah...my god first time to listen to this type of songs...but i didnt understand a word

i heard him before … we used to laugh at my mom’s choice … :hehe:

2G2BT: thanx :)

irem: u have it? can u send it to me plz? :D

Attia: neither...listen to it a few times, and u'll start understanding it :D

sando: what wrong with ur moms choice...this is a nice one :p

awesome…if you listen carefully it has beautiful words :k:

Nice Effort DM,
Here are complete tracks from Album "Pathane Khan".

Pathane Khan's rendition of Khwaja Ghulam Farid's Seraiki song "Meda Isk'a Wee Toon" Has been my favorite for many years.

Sufi Music from the Indus Valley" gives a sense of the true diversity of Sindhi, Punjabi or Saraiki musical tradition, from different instruments to various styles of vocal singing.

It remains the best kept secret that Pathana Khan sung much better when he was unaccompanied by tabla. His earlier recordings at Aslam Ranjha's place were recorded only with the harmonium. In my opinion Pathana Khan was at his best in those recordings.

Pathana Khan was invited to sing for PTV frequently but most music patrons of Lahore or elsewhere in central Punjab did not invite him. It was much latter that Raza Kazim did some beautiful recordings of Pathana Khan. Anyhow, once introduced by Mushtaque Soofi on TV, Pathana Khan's fame spread quickly
I remember reading back, I don't know if it was true or not but it was widely rumored late Z.A. Bhutto was very fond of his kafi "Mera Ishq We Toon Te Iman bhi toon" and used to invite him to hear it.

Pathana Khan's reverence for Khawaja Ghulam Farid was absolute. Khawaja Faird was everything for him and he derived all his spiritual strength from him. I have rarely seen a singer who can understand and render poetry as well as Pathana Khan rendered Khawaja's poetry for the audience. He gave his own deeper meanings to Khawaja Sahib's poetry in his typical style and sprit of singing. His reading style was so clear and properly punctuated that even a non-Saraiki speaking could follow the text and meanings of most words.

Mendhaa ishq Wee Toon...( Khuwaja Gulam Farid)

Mera Ranjhan hun koi Hor.....( Bulleh Shah)

i love this song :k:

oo...thank u YKKB :)

Sigh. An absolute favourite. There are words I can never make out in some parts of this song. Does anyone have written lyrics for it, maybe?

DM, you re Welcome!

Sadzz, DM and Hayaa, thanks for liking and appreciating, thanks all for your impatient respond!

Kiaan Haal SunwaanN Dil Daa...( Shah Hussain )

Hik De Dum Dum Hik Hey...( Khuwaja Ghulam Farid )

Main Bhee jana Jhok ranjhan dee... ( Shah Hussain )

Above are couple tracks from Bulleh Shah and Shah Hussain’s poetry, Hope you all will like it!

Lyrics for Meda Ishq 'We toon, this may help you.

Menda Ishq Wi Tun, Pathane Khan

gandhiyan mediyan khol na mahi
khen main tedi yah seh seh gandhiyan
aj tak wal lakhiyan ate pe gaiyan akhiriyan
gandhiyan akhin ro ro we mat karen yaad we
tediyan gandhiyan yaad fareed hon suhagan hoe yan
jede naal mahi de gandhi yan
menda ishq wi tu meda yaar wi tu
menda deen wi tu eeman wi tu
menda jism wi tu meda rooh wi tu
menda kalb wi tu jind jaan wi tu

menda kaba kibla masjad te member
mus'haff te quraan we tu
menday farz fareezay haj za'katan
soom salat azaan wi tu
mendi zuhid ibadat
tooq taqwa
ilm vee tu irfan vee tu
menda zikr vee tu
menda fikr vee tu
menda tooq vee tu
wajdan vee tu

menda sanwal methra sham saloona
mun mohan janan vee tu
menda murshad hadi peer treeqat
shiekh haqiat jaan vee tu
menda aas umeed tay khatya wataya
takya maan kalam vee tu
menda bharm vee tu
menda dharm vee tu
menda sharm vee tu
menda shaan vee tu

menda dukh sukh roowan
dard vee tu darmaan vee tu
mendi khushian da asbaab vee tu
menda bakht vee tu
naam vee tu nishaan vee tu
menda husn tey bhag suhaag vee tu
menda dekhn bhalan jachun juchunn

Regards,

YKKB.

DM sure, pm me ur msn/email..and yah now that i remember i wanted to get that sufi instrumental track from u too that u posted in the thread by omnibus :D

YKKB, you're a sweet-heart!!

Now to clarify a few words, gandhiyaan, does that mean knots? And what's lakhiyaan?

hayaa that's right, it means knots in saraikee..and his saraikee is just sooo pure, rich and classic, only you get to hear your elders speak like that, and i just hate myself for losing touch with the mothertongue....the way he said, 'enda jism wi tu meda rooh wi tu'..it is just absoutely marvellous the way he brought it out..i don't know what lakhiyan means..maybe i have to ask a friend who's more fluent..

Thanks outy. The gandhiyaan part makes so much more sense now. And while we're at it, what is khatiya watiya?

*Originally posted by irem: *
DM sure, pm me ur msn/email..and yah now that i remember i wanted to get that sufi instrumental track from u too that u posted in the thread by omnibus :D

oh thanx :D check ur PM :p

*Originally posted by DeSiMuNdA: *

oh thanx :D check ur PM :p

nai karTee PM check DM :D aap kya kar lo ge :p

i don't know what does this mean :)..i guess it's all said in classic and poetic saraikee..i will go over this song with a friend....now i am curious as well..since it's just a lovely song./

I found a wonderful collection of Khawaja Ghulam Farid's work online and guess what I stumbled upon!!! The words are so much easier to make out in the original script..

[thumb=H]meda679_8085720.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]meda1679_8085720.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]meda2679_8085720.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]meda3679_8085720.JPG[/thumb]