Pasta 101

I love pasta but I have never made it at home. Mostly I go to a restuarant whenever I get the cravings but now I’m thinking about getting into it.

Now, I am not much into that creamy sauce sorta stuff - there is only one place on the face of earth where they make good alfredo sauce and it’s a bit too far from where I live so I ain’t even gonna go there. I like those white wine with garlicky (or garlic for short) light sauces but I have no idea how to make it.

I think sauce is the most important part of pasta making, then comes the meat or vegi (or both), and last would be the pasta itself.

So let’s hear your pasta recipes. Please, be elaborative (However, Anchal, in your case I recommend to be comprehensible as well).

Please bear in mind that I’m completely ignorant of the whole process of selecting the right kinda pasta, meat, preparation, blah blah blah, and the exact steps to follow so go ahead and treat me like a kid (Aunt Sarah, you can even nestle me and pinch my cheeks and kiss me on the other ones if you like) and start from the very basics.

Roman (with a name like Roman, one would think of you as an expert when it comes to Pasta…. Well, change your name to Johny Butterball). As you know, pastas come in many shapes and textures. I happen to like Linguini, Spaghetti, Fettuccine, and am not such a huge fan of Ravioli, and other stuffed types. I think eating Spaghetti is perhaps the sexiest thing. When on date, always order Spaghetti. Girls like the sucking in part. Never cut your Spaghetti. Always try to leave some sauce on your lips and then skillfully use your tongue to lick it. Girls go crazy for that. The greatest culinary myth is that Marco Polo brought Pasta from China. Pasts is as Italian as Vespa. Here are some tips for you.

Golden Rule: (add a capful of Extra Virgin Olive Oil, and a sprinkle of salt in the boiling water before putting the Pasta in). Golden Rule #2 (always boil Pasta for 8 mins – never more never less…you will always get endante).

For Sauce, meat sauces are good, but my favorite are tomatoes based sauces. Add some fresh Basil and top it with Parmigiano Reggiano. A bottle of Chianti, a loaf of fresh Italian bread, and an Italian babe to enjoy the pasta with. Bon Apetite

you can even nestle me and pinch my cheeks and kiss me on the other ones if you like

Roman, NYA's right, I like sucking better. Now please lick your lips.

You're my girl
And that's all right
If you sting me
I won't mind
- Deftones

this should be interesting.

I’d like to know if any of you add a desi touch to your pasta, meaning spices and all.

Romanji: Why go through all that trouble? Aren't there any nice Italian restaurants where you live? re:Mr. NYA, why waste time on cooking pasta when you could be cooking up some trouble with the fine ITalian babe.

Aisay hi Chalta hai!

Sarah sweetie, is that a promise or tongue in the cheek?

Sehar, I put some lassan, adhrak and zeera in the sauce. Cook these spice in the pan first and then add your sauce to it. It is more like desifying the sauce.

Roman and Ahmadi: can you two please keep your nasty fantasies out of pasta? Keep them where they belong(whip cream and chocolate).

Its pretty easy .. ok .. here it goes .. First take off your shirt .. let that tond roll .. breath easy .. wear a sleeveless ‘bunyan’ .. take a messy kitchen towel place it on your left shoulder ( right shoulder if you are left handed) … plug in cheesy pop cd in the stereo so you can shake your rump while cookin … take a lap around your house/neighborhood (if you are really into it) so that your neighbors can see you ‘what a pasta freak he is !’ … grab a bottle of Rego .. put that floppy arm muscles to use .. grab a big a huge a monstrous pan .. bring H2o to boiling hot .. until the water screams ‘cant we get along’ .. empty a box of pasta barila angel hair (not your hair) into the pan .. 15 min and.. you are done .. oh yeah pour like a virgin olive oil to taste .. .bon appetite

Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go

whip cream and chocolate

Chann ji, I happen to like gajrailla better (No, no 'chowl' connection - and Ahmadi likes it for carrot reasons).

Originally posted by Roman:
Sarah sweetie, is that a promise or tongue in the cheek?

Roman honey, can't it be both?

You're my girl
And that's all right
If you sting me
I won't mind
- Deftones

what now Roman?

Here’s one you cant handle!

ay veer mera aa gaya ay wapis khair naal? kiniyaaN keh murghaabiyaaN (and I mean murghabiyaaN) pharkaiyaaN, haiN?

chalo koi phaRhkayeaN hi hon giyan na dou chaar...tere waangh bighaaniyan gudiyan vekh ke te nai time barbaad karda.

Chann ji, define 'bighaaniyan'.

PS. Ain't it all just in the mind or what? Apnay samjho tay banaday nay na.

ohhhhhhhhhhh yara Rom,
Kallah "murgabeeyaan" marne na keh faida?
Howe koi sange sadeh naal, te fir koi mara ar ek do murgabuyaan.