Passing of Knowledge...

:salam2:

I don’t know whether you guyz had ever noticed this or not. Allow me to share with you guyz.

We all know that our beloved Prophet :saw2: said that “I’m leaving two things behind me one is the Book of Almighty Allah (The Qur’an) and My Sunnah. So hold both firmly.”

Coming to the point the first part of above saying i.e., “Book of Almighty Allah (the Qur’an)”, how many of us taught it by our parents, elders? or are we teaching it to our brother/sister/childrens, after what we had learned?

What I noticed that in majority peoples send their kidz to learn all these worldly related knowledge, by learning that, they can survive in this world and may leave a comfortable life. In this case we teach them (share our knowledge/experience) in all possible way. But when its comes toward learning “Islam”, we send them to dar-ul-Iman or any other place where they can learn reciting Quran or at least finish reading it complete for once.

In a gathering, when I asked my neighbours, relatives and friends about this, they answered in negative that non of them were taught by their parents, elders except some basic info, nor they are teaching their kids except the basic info.

So we help them in their school homework but for learning Qur’an or about Islam, we send them to such Islamic organization in hope that they may learn at their own. So recitation of Quran and reading namaz is enough for us and we think it is enough for our children too.

In fact, we were prepared and are preparing our generation about how to live and survive in this world but not about next eternal life or the calamities which we’ll going to face in this world before the final day of judgement. Alas! we teach them about “Islam” but not about “what is submission to Almighty Allah”.

Your views are welcomed :slight_smile:

Re: Passing of Knowledge...

Walaikum salaam,

Your view on that is correct. The unfortunate tragedy of our generation, and of a few generations now perhaps has been that we're always asking about what the minimum requirement is, so as to just do it and get it over with. Whereas, the level of Imaan of earlier generations was such that they had very little hope, a lot of work towards the deen, and still feared that they're hypocrites because they do not do enough to Thank Allah for all the blessings.

But I do see that changing, Alhamdulillah. Hopefully the youth of this generation can turn the tide back to the ways of earlier saliheen who were steadfast on Sunnah, and did everything possible to live according to the Quran.

Re: Passing of Knowledge…

Peace Teggy,

:insh: and Hope the youth may turn towards the right path and prepare next generation like the earlier saliheen. I think we should change our life style by submitting our all wills to Almighty Allah as HE ordered us to do so. :slight_smile:

I think in the majority of cases it is advisable to learn recitation from an experienced qari who can and is approved and authorised to teach. We can of course teach our children, but we should have at least done the proper tajweed ourselves first. So it might be unreasonable to ask of parents to pass on learnings to the children that is itself not up to speed ... The better thing to ask from parents is to go along with their kids to madrasa to learn as well.

Also, I noticed that the argument is unclear ... For kids to learn dunya they are sent to good schools and for kids to learn Qur'an they are sent to good madrasas ... so where is the inconsistency here? Am I missing something? On the other hand if teaching your own children is best then we should also home school our children too and not send them to school ...

My reason for not sending the kids to a school is because we do not want them to be indoctrinated in such matters, but the reason we favour following scholars and teachers in Islam is because we DO want them to be indoctrinated in those areas.

Peace psyah,

You raised very valid point (2nd phrase) yes my first post is unclear b'coz I left the point purposely unclear just to know if anyone would raise that point so that we may discuss it further. :)

In answering of your second phrase. The main inconsistency here is that even we are 100% perfect we have no choice except to send them in those school because we are forced to send them dunyavi school so that they obtain so called "certificate/degree" and to get a job etc.,. That certificate/degree nowhere will be used in next life, does it? Although we are already indoctrinated to obtain such certificate and indoctrinating our generation too, because we need it. Here we struggle for duniya more then for our 'Islam'. Kindly note that I am not against it just sharing my opinion.

Teaching Qur'an should be in sense that we should be able to teach meaning of each word of a verse, its, tafsir, purpose, benefit, reason etc., Basically, we should spent more time indoctrinating oneself and others to learn more and more about Islam, Quran and Sunnah beside dunyavi knowledge.

In a party, some secular minded highly academic person (as its norm these days among Desi intellectuals) was critisizing the way Mullah has ruined the religion in last 100 or so years etc etc....and that there is no compulsion in Islam.....the regular rhetoric.

A person with courage (to challenge a very renowned intellectual / PhD) asked him that if he was this good in his studies, why his parents didn't make him an Alim-e-Deen. The Dr. Sahab was dumb-folded to the logic that this man presented. He said, in sub-continent, peasants normally work in their farms or if they don't have land of their own, they send their kids to either military (better than working for fuedels) or send them to Madarssa to become hafiz and have permanent job as paish-imaam for the rest of their lives. Same is for second tier clergy. The bottom line is that our social viewpoint of deen has shifted and its not even a second choice of education. We blame those Mullahs, yet we rely on them for Aqeeqa, Jummah, Nikah and Janaza. We know enough Surah to complete a Namaz and some dua to go with it. Thats all seem to be enough. The rest is left for Mullah, who normally come from not so very educated background. Some Ulema are exception. But if the middle class who churn out brilliant scientists, engineers, MBA, CA and doctors every year, send their brightest child to learn Islam and become Alim-e-Deen who will have knowledge of both Deen and Duniya, this kind of sectarian and stupid fitna that we have seen in recent times would have been avoided or minimized. When we keep our best for Duniya, how can we expect Deen to prosper at the hands of mediocre.