Re: Pashtuns in Karachi Unite
And we wonder “What went wrong with Pakistan!?”
Ans: There’s little Faith, NO Unity, and Discipline is alien.
Instead we believe in Prejudice, Racism and Agendas.
And we wonder “What went wrong with Pakistan!?”
Ans: There’s little Faith, NO Unity, and Discipline is alien.
Instead we believe in Prejudice, Racism and Agendas.
and LOTD, could you quote the chapter and pg no from 'My Brother' with that remark from Quaid?
And, pls also mention the source where you get all these excerpts from ancient news papers. Thanks.
Absolutely true. Now that we are at attacking and defending our points of view, let it be with the hope that sanity would prevail.
I doubt thats really the case. Looks more like this forum is a vent for the really pissed and disgruntled loser sorts who couldn’t make it in Pakistan. All my folks migrated frm Indostan to Pak, and we’ve all made it great in Pak and are spread over all the cities. We’re patriots and ETHNICISM is absolutely absent frm our family, I was never told I was Punjabi till I was 15! Nobody cared really. And I would hope mostly nobody does, people like this freaky LOTD/some others in this thread are reasons why moderation needs to be more “intelligent”. The guy probably needs a hug.
Exactly, 99% of people on this forum live thousands of miles away from Pakistan, yet they think because they read an internet newspaper they know exactly what the ground realities are.
They support a corrupt govt for personal reasons and don’t even realize how much corruption and dirt is going on in Pak, as bad as it has ever been.
Threads like ‘Pak shining’ are laughed at by those of us who actually live in Pakistan.
These naive pardesi need a lot more than a ‘hug’ ![]()
Yaar,
Since we were part of British India, there will be some corruption and poverty cuz we got that culture from them as part of the legacy.. but dont worry we are much better than our neighbor and ahead many years in terms of growth. Most of our citizens follow a better religion than our neighbor.. mashallah. I guess one of our better rulers was Gen. Zia-Ul-Haq who has brought lot of hope for us. Mushy should follow his footsteps.
Zia was a curse on Pakistan.
Zubairi, the excerpts have been taken from a book "Pakistan Ki Siyasi Tarikh: Jinnah-Liaqat Tazad awar Punjabi Muhajir Tazad Volume 4" by Zahid Choudri.
The remark by Qaud-i-Azam is present in the original manuscript of Fatima Jannah book 'My Brother" preserved in the "National Archives Pakistan", Islamabad. You can also find it in the book above (i.e. Zahid Choudri's) page: 61-62. Moreover, "Shahab Nama" by Qudratullah Shahab includes the exact comments on page:438-439.
Qaud-i-Azam Academy published "My Brother" in 1987 but Shariful Mujahid, the compiler of this edition, expunged the above sentences, which he admits to have done in the forward to the book.
Sharifuddin Pirzada also mentions the remark of Qaud in his essay "Last days the Qaud-i-Azam" published Pakistan Times Oct. 17, 1979.
Why I believe Zia was better for Pakistan is because-
1) There was almost no sectarian violence during his rule.. maybe 1-2 deaths due to Shia-sunni fight.
2) He kept India in check.. there were no intentions from the Indian side to attack Pakistan when he was there.
3) He didnt crush any uprising like Musharraf has to do now in Balochistan.
4) The GDP grew almost every year during his 10-year rule..
By the way, Mushy is following him.. Zia had Md. Khan Junejo, Mush had many including Zafarullah Khan Jamali as puppet PM :o
The remark by Qaud-i-Azam is present in the original manuscript of Fatima Jannah book 'My Brother" preserved in the "National Archives Pakistan", Islamabad. You can also find it in the book above (i.e. Zahid Choudri's) page: 61-62. Moreover, "Shahab Nama" by Qudratullah Shahab includes the exact comments on page:438-439.
Qaud-i-Azam Academy published "My Brother" in 1987 but Shariful Mujahid, the compiler of this edition, expunged the above sentences, which he admits to have done in the forward to the book.
Sharifuddin Pirzada also mentions the remark of Qaud in his essay "Last days the Qaud-i-Azam" published Pakistan Times Oct. 17, 1979.
LOTD your references are good. Yes! Jinnah and Liaqat were at odds even before August 1947. In fact Liaqat left ML and started his "agriculturist party", won his seat and then begged Jinnah to get back in ML.
Liaqat started two really bad things in Pakistan: Islamo-fascism, and Muhajarism. My Urdu People (UP) community wants to ignore all that and treat Liaqat as Jinnah version 2.0. That is clearly wrong. Liaqat was not at all in the same league as Jinnah.
However Liaqat was murdered in cold blood long time ago. What we ought to do is go past whatever bad stuff Liaqat may have done, and make somthing good for Pakistan. Even for an Afghani, a good and strong Pakistan is a great thing.
This thread was a very good learning experience for me. Out of curiosity is anyone here an actual policy maker or has the ability to make decisions for Pakistan?
Thanks for this reference info LOTD.
If only Pashtuns in NWFP would unite rather than fight each other over petty disputes with heavy weaponary.
Tribesmen fight for control of marble mines
Tribesmen from the Masood and Gurbaz sub-tribes are using heavy weapons to fire at each other’s villages in Mohmand Agency following a flare-up in their conflict over ownership of marble mines. Affected tribesmen living in the area told The News that the exchange of firing between the belligerents began four days ago and was continuing. One of them said some houses were hit by heavy fire and sustained partial damage. He said a few cattleheads too were killed though no human losses had taken place. The tribesmen said rocket-launchers, mortars, Russian-made Dachaka and Zikoyak heavy guns and other sophisticated weapons were being freely used in the fighting. They said Masood tribesmen first started using heavy weapons as clashes erupted and pounded the rival Gurbaz tribe’s Gadezai and other villages. They said the fighting could escalate once the Gurbaz fighters too start firing with sophisticated weapons. The affected tribesmen blamed the political administration of Mohmand Agency for remaining inactive and doing little to resolve the dispute between the Masood and Gurbaz, both sub-tribes of Safi tribe, over the ownership of the world-famous Ziarat White marble mines.
What grievances do mohajirs have against karachi based pashtuns?
^ 4 saal baad khayal aaya hai? :)
better late then never
Muhajirs as such do not have grievancces against pakhtuns, neither do Pakhtuns as such have grievances against Muhajirs.
MQM thug mafia organisation has been trying to bully most ethnicicities including their own into submission because they feel they own Karachi. In a way I think karachi should form its own province and the Urdu speaking community who migrated from India have a home province NEVER should this right be given under the MQM.
There are many issues extremist parties such asthe MQM are explopiting:-
the continued immigration and fast growing pakhtun population of karachi will almost surely make them them the no1 ethnicity of karachi. Like other extremist organisations the MQM are exploiting this. in a democratic set up they could vote who they want into power
jobs - competition could be a problem but there are many areas which you dont get certain ethnicities in.
harrasment of pakhtuns in Karachi by MQM has united them and they wont tolerate anymore bullying, and who in their right mids should?
criminal elements within both sides are exploiting issues so that they get the spoils of war
transport - most bus drivers in Karachi are pakthuns and their reckless driving has led to many a loss of life and this issue can be ethnicsed.
The Talibanisation of karachi never happened as Khekehshan and some others were reporting at that time.