For the knowledgeable among us, please share your thoughts on this. I feel this is the appropriate platform to ask about this, since we’re all familiar with the customs of a traditional Pakistani wedding.
Which parts of the weddings are from sunnah, which are acceptable cultural practices, and which are prohibited practices? Considering a typical Pakistani wedding nowadays.
Sunnah is a simple nikah with dates and milk followed by a walima hosted by the groom with a simple meal. Pakistani weddings are everything but sunnah. We just follow the nikah part from sunnah and nothing else.
There is this new trend now mocking the religion and I personally find it really disturbing to see people opting for a nikah “the islamic way” in the mosque with bride wearing a “simple” white designer jora and “simple” jewelry, light makeup, etc, followed by a professional photoshoot :halo: AND all this is followed by festivities of lavish dholkis, mayoun, mehndi, baraat, walima, chauthi, maklawa and what not like whom are you fooling here ? Yourself? The masjid and “sunnah” ? Really ??
Re: Parts of Pakistani wedding(s) which are permissible/allowed, and which are not.
^ Yeah, have a super expensive ‘simple’ white wedding in the name of simple nikah. It is simple as long as the bride is wearing white or pastel shade, doesn’t matter if the overall expenditure is still Rs.12 lacs. LOL
Re: Parts of Pakistani wedding(s) which are permissible/allowed, and which are not.
The choli fashion is spreading like a wild fire, you’re right. It’s surprising how we managed to resist such skin show for all those years (or centuries even), but can’t even seem to dislike it without being called something.
The consent of bride and groom is one of the most important things people bypass. Also demand for dowry, suits for a bucketload of random relatives, wastage of food to show off with zero percent of it going to the poor seems to be a big no no.
^ Last question to be added : Will this excuse work with Allah when we meet Him that we were busy following culture in addition to religion and hence the add-ons in our aamaal-naama ? Or maybe thr excuse tgat since Arabs or blah blah didnt follow religion onky so they are to be blamed for our actions?
Lol aww
People love to complain and criticise…banda poochay did 1.2 lakh come out of your pocket jo itni takleef ho rahi hai…
you know what else is islamic? Not looking down at others and not keeping yourself occupied with other people’s affairs…being happy for others instead of being spiteful. Go ahead and show by your own example instead of dissing others.
JazakAllah for pinpointing that.
During the times of Rasool Allah (s.a.w.) there were certain practices which were not prohibited by Rasool Allah (s.a.w). Such as the singing of women, and using daff (sp?) as a musical instrument on certain occasions (Eid, Wedding, etc.), from what I’ve read. Over time and due to geographical differences, what would you say are the equivalent of that in Pakistani society of today? Although it is apparent that a lot of hindu practices were adopted and bundled with what is a marriage ceremony spanning several days, there must be parts which although were not found in Sunnah but do not violate the shariah.
The idea is to seek the balanced approach, neither extreme to the left of what is acceptable, nor the extreme to the right of what is prohibited.
In a way I guess, the weddings of rural areas still retain a sense of simplicity, although there is a lot of emphasis on the dowry, and such. Or maybe that’s all just a perception.