Parineeta (Merged)

Re: Parineeta

Movie Promos > Parineeta

Cast: Sanjay Dutt, Saif Ali, Raima Sen, Vidya Balan

Director: Pradeep Sarkar

Windows Media Player required to view the Promo.

http://www.movietalkies.com/video/parineeta.asp

Haan, that is why I mentioned Rocky, his first movie. He was so yummy when he was on cocaine back in the 80s. :love:

^ mehnaz aunty and her old old memories/fantasies :hehe: He had a girly face back then.

R u sure u were wearing spectacles while watching it…he was dashing even at that age!!

The movie is getting great reviews!

It comes on this weekend right? I think I will go to watch this one :hula:

I want to go watch it tomorrow too but I won't have time :( will try to catch it on another wknd!

sanju baba is a great great man…!! just like depp.. low key.. doesnt hog the limelight… and doesnt talk until morrow… wah wah..!

http://indiafm.com/interviews/05/sanjayparineeta/index.shtml

“Ek paise ka research nahi kiya!” - Sanjay Dutt

By IndiaFM News Bureau, June 09th, 2005 - 1230 hrs IST

The flower vase in the room had more to say than him.

Striking, commanding & emotive on screen but put the guy in front of camera crews & he freezes! We are pretty sure that fielding press questions don’t feature on his ‘My favorite things’ list.

While Vidhu tells us that Sanjay Dutt is mind blowing in Parineeta, the muscle man himself has precious little to say. Cold, cocky and tepid, it’s almost like watching his best bud, Salman.

Catch his answers, sometimes one, sometimes none…

What was your experience of shooting?

It was nice. The people there are soft-spoken; the food is nice, besides my mom is from Kolkatta.

Would you like to tell us something about the film?

Main apne role ke baare mien kuch nahi bata sakta. Par haan, mujhe kaam karke bahut acha laga.

How would you describe the film?

Parineeta is a classic love story.

That’s it…

Aur kya…

Any particular challenges of doing a period film…

None, the people are the same, the only think that has changed are my clothes.

Did you do any research for your role?

Ek paise ka research nahi kiya!

Word has that you did a complicated Bengali dance for the film, that too impromptu?

It was not so much of being impromptu as much as throwing it in my face. One day when I report to the sets, I see a dance sequence being picturised and Pradeep comes up tome and asks me to do that. I was like, ‘God damn, how I am gonna do that’ He told me to give it a shot. So I just copied the guy who was doing it and in 15 minutes we shot it

If we are not wrong, there is an interesting little tattoo episode that happened…

How did you know?

Your crew leaked it…

Well, I have this huge lion tattoo embossed on my arm and since it is a permanent one, it wouldn’t just peel off with a chemical rub. So I was a little worried as to how we would cover it up. But my makeup man Vidya did a wonderful job. First latex was applied, that had to dry up He then covered the tattoo with makeup. It took close to 2 hours.

Let’s talk about you co-stars. Tell us about Saif…

Saif is like my kid brother. He is a great actor; I am very fond of him. We used to play fun video games on the sets.

What about your leading leady, Vidya?

I think Vidya is a fine actress. There are these little gestures that she does on her own. I had to just observe that and react. I am sure she will go a long way.

What do you think are the challenges of converting a novel to a film?

Woh toh director ko pata hoga! But I think novel mein dum hona chahiye, toh hi film achi ban sakti hain.

What do you think of Parineeta being premiered at the IIFA?

I think it’s a great honor that Parineeta is premiering at the IIFA. I hope the international platform encourages people to watch the film.

‘Dislike’ for the press is a mild word; ‘allergy’ suits him better

:blush:

his one liners r just too much to handle!!:p

As much as it pains me to sit still for 3 hours in one place, i'm gona go watch this one next week, just for Sanju...i hope he has loads of topless scenes :D

the film does not have not 3 hrs length...it has about 2 and half hrs of running ...maybe less..

Since I'll never get to see it someone PM me and tell me what happens in the end. I love the soundtrack, mmmm Sonu Nigam's voice.

What an amazing movie! Saif acted brilliantly! and same with Sanjay...but the surprise package is the new girl...Vidya Balan...amazing actress. Its hard to believe this is her first movie and mark my word...she's an actress to watch out for. The movie is only 2 hours and 7 minutes in length and its a must see :)

I loved it :)

Everyone did a great job but Saif and the girl were simply superb. There's a lot of similarity between Devdas and Parineeta, the basics are pretty much the same... puppy love between neighbours, the boys side being of prominent stature, the girls side not so well off, his father a shrewd businessman while the girls family is very simple. There is enough in the movie to make you all teary but the end is a definitely makes you smile :)

Yaasir, I can always trust your reviews on movies, i’ll try and get round to watching it next week. In the mean time take a look at Urmila’s Naina…i think u’ll like the way the movie has been made.

That girl in the movie appeared in a few indian drama’s and in one pop video. She is indeed very talented.

Are you sure it’s not 3hrs and 7 minutes? thats quite short for a bolly flick with songs.

Thanks Coolmunda :slight_smile: Im trying to get a hold of Naina but I think the original is not out here yet…and I dont want to see the pirated copy. But yeah I definetly want to see that movie as I’ve heard great things about it and now ur reccomending it as well.

Parineets’s running time is less than 2 and a half hours…but its longer than 2 hours and 7 minutes. The person who works at the theatre told me its 2 hrs and 7 mins…but its probably around 2 hours 15-20 mins. Its a short movie and the songs are well placed.

well, thats what the Bollywood has done with all its recent flicks, slashed all those irrelevant and cumbersome details and unduly long and irritating songs.

FeFe, its indeed an awesome movie. Very classy, set in a different time, it really captures the beauty and simplicity of those days when men looked like men and women wanted to look more classy and elegant than chic and slick; adorning all the peraphernalia ( you know that heavy jewellery and gawdy saris). Loved the fact that they meetup in the end!!!

Finally another person who has seen it. I want to go watch it again :D But I think i'll wait for the DVD. Wasn't Saif absolutely scrumptious?

umm, well I am not a great fan of Saif or Sanjay. But yeah, the way he has matured over the years, his acting skills have also improved with time. Remember those days when had those long locks, ewww. Acha acha, won't break your heart, you can call him scrumptious and whatever you feel like. Waisay he looked good,no doubt!
I liked the girl, I really liked her looks.
waisay what is Parineeta FeFe?

I think it means married woman or something like that. Saif is just growing on me. This is one of his rare serious roles so I liked him quite a bit. Could have been all that muscle too!