Parents

sighhhhhhh

i have been/supposed to be working on this test project for a potential job for like the last week…its anotha matter i spend mosta my time on GS tho when i am on the comp

lekin like im thinking right now how supportive n caring parents r

just now i was sitting n my dad just went n got me juice from the shop n put it next to me on the desk n then went n got a cup n put it next to the juice

every night before sleeping papa asks me what i’m gona eat for breakfast n gets that for me…

my mom works 7am-7pm these days n my dad works 8am-10pm..n i’m the biggest bum in the world…my mom doesnt expect me do a single thing in the house… not even straighten up my bed sheets coz the cleaning lady does that..she just says parhai karo apni kismat banao hamein tum logon se aur kuch nai chahiye…i sleep the whole day like a bum n stay on the computer at night in my dad’s room coz the internet is fast at night…my dad doesnt even let me turn off the light coz aankhon pe zor paray ga..

i usually go to sleep after pulling all nighters on the bed like a bum being lazy enough often to not even bother to reach inside the drawer to get the razai out n so when i wake up i see someone has put the razai over me coz its cold these days

i got a pimple breakout recently on my face and someone told my mom about some recipe from the hakeem so my dad got the chokidaar to bring these ingredients from nwfp and my mom prepares the thingie and brings it to me to eat everyday n mein hazar nakhray kar k khaati hoon

i like amrood n maaltay n my dad always gets those for me n i like sheermaal n theres always sheermaal in the house n if ever my parents notice i havent had dinner or lunch in time they ask me a billion times khana kha lo n papa always says chalo bahar se kuch kha lete haen

on eid i was kinda sad and i was telling my mom mein ne mehndi nai lagani na hi choorian kharredni hein…my mom forced me to go n buy choorian…at the shop i was being a brat…and then on chaand raat my mom stayed up late up making sure mere dono haathon mein mehndi lag jayay…

i went to sleep like a bum on chaand raat and my mom made all the kheer n sheer khorma herself…i had asked my mom would wake me up to help her but i woke up to see everything was already cooked..my mom dint wake me up takay meri neend poori ho jayay

my laptop suddenly stopped working last week n my dad got me a brand new pc the very next day…

i get kinda intimidated by formal office atmoshphere, not anymo but used to, my dad himself went with me to all my interviews to drop me off…drove like 20-30 minutes for each…

i remember when i was having A level exams my parents used to make mango milk shake n lassi for me all the time n bring it to me in my room and bring me badaam n pista n stuff to eat for brain energy

and this is just some examples i can remember right now…its nothing compared to all my parents have done for me

living in the dorms i missed all this loving care…its like i kinda rediscovered what living with ur parents is like…i almost forgot abt all this…abt what its like to live with ur family n thats why God made parents…one thinks they can be happy just by living by themselves but one doesnt know wat they r missing

and i dont even ever do anything for my parents in return..i dont even work hard enough for my own self which is all my parents want from me

i cant believe what a bum n spoilt brat i am… :teary3: i shud go n drown myself :teary2:

and like it looks so cheezy for me to actually say all this to my parents or even say thankU to them thats so cheezy n our family isnt like that openly mushy n sentimental so here i am typing this up and posting it on Gs i dono y :smack:

hmm…all nighters r making me corny having a psychological effect on my brain… :bummer: shud get back to the proj now…its due 3pm on the 18th

danggggg im a loony n i’m going nuts :crying:

Do you think your parents could adopt me please?

Yeh, ur a bum :p

ah.... this is what life in heaven must be like!

well seriously, I think that your parents think that you are doing your part, waisey be some desi parents think that their daughters should enjoy and have a relaxed life, as they will have enough responsibility after shaadi and some parents want their kids to focus their main aim on studies and career, some sacrifise a lot for their kids, so that they get good futurs, which might be in your case, so don't let them over-do and do make them rest and relax sometimes, you can make them breakfast and treat them with breatfast in bed, on their off day, if you are not the sentimental in your words, well parents are cute when they do these lil things for their kids, I love it when my abbu asks me, if I want a cup of chai and even if I am not in a mood, i can't reject such a offer. :D

*Originally posted by Sadi Sobi: *
Yeh, ur a bum :p

Says the person with a sociology degree......(snigger, snigger)

irem, you know my parents were here with me for three months, and now i've just gotten back after spending 3 weeks in india being pampered by my parents and sister. i was up the other nite crying my eyes out coz i missed it all so much. and i went through these feelings of guilt ke my parents are so selfless in their love, and how selfish am i when i insist on living here when they so badly want me to go back and live in india. sigh those three weeks i spent there were heavenly. i enjoyed every bit of it thoroughly knowing i wouldn't meet them for another year or so.

khair, don't feel too badly. i'm sure you are a wonderful daughter to them, and they have many reasons to be proud of you. they have missed you a great deal while you were living here, and they're thrilled to have you back. i find it hard to express my feelings to my parents also...but i try to show it in other ways... i took my parents for a short holiday when i was in india.. and the smiles i saw on my parents faces during that time were something to be cherished.

anyways, please cheer up and hey, share some of those yummy goodies na... i've totally forgotten how to cook since i haven't stepped into the kitchen in months!

dont feel bad, iam sure you will be there for your parents, the day they need you,

My parents are also like this, speciaaly my amee ji. During my study she took care of my child and her own job, home and my siblings. During my exams i used to occupie one of theire room,s and she will take care of my daughter and looked after her, so she didnt disturb me. MY mther would make tee for me al the time and come with food, i didnt need to come out of the room. i was married and had my own home. THe last 3 years of my educations was the hardest years of my life, I wouldnt be here, where i am now, if it was`nt for my amee ji and my family. this is just a small part of what they have done for me. Telling you this made me cry. I hope with the help of allah tahllah i can be there for my parents and help them, ameen

Hmm when i was’nt married yet i did’nt do much
at home.
But only my room or sometime’s the bathroom.
Now im married and now everything i have to do
by my self:bummer: Sometime’s i wish had a
housemaid to help me.
And Irem you’ve great parents don’t let them down.
Bass sahi tara apna Pharai karo let your parents
be proud.

Lots of love Nilu.

Allah Hafiz.

hugz

I hear ya. I am probably lazier than you are, so I know exactly how you feel.

When I was younger I was taught to do several things by both my parents, like cleaning, cooking, etc. However, my parents do/did 90% of it. Even now, I work and come home and everything is done for me. Mom cooks dinner, cleans my room, does my laundry regularly, and then complains that I dont spend enough time in the living room (I feel most awful when I hear that). I am usually online advertising or talking with friends. I feel so horrible that I resolve not to do the same thing over again, and yet I repeat the same behavior. frown What I am trying to do is cook on weekends so she doesnt have to, and help out with more things around the house. Insha'Allah. I offered to hire a maid, but the offer was refused.

I dont see it as something I have to repay my parents for because I know it can never be repaid no matter what I do. Instead I am simply trying to help out more, provide for any needs my parents have that I can provide, and hope to raise my children in a loving and caring manner, and do for them similarly how my parents did for me. Insha'Allah.

Irem why did you have to mention all this and make all of us miss our parents??I am already homesick as heck and cant wait till Friday when I go home.:(
But dont worry about not helping your parents. Just do your best in however you can help your mom at home, etc. I mean thats how most parents are I belive and just enjoy it while you can.
PS: You better be working hard on your project...........make me proud :)

Irem how many siblings do you have?

You are a lucky girl :)

And I get punished for not folding my bedsheet in the morning even though I leave for work at 6:30 am and come home only at 10:30 p.m

Irem...enjoy it while you can :D

Irem, it’s awesome to have such a close-knit, loving family. My parents are the very same way with us kids. Sometimes I feel like a total rotten, spoiled brat even at this age because they baby me, especially my dad. At times I feel like I never grew up in their eyes. Also Irem, my parents say the same thing, to the effect that they want nothing from us more than us studying, making something worthwhile of ourselves, and being happy. Even now when I am a career woman, they refuse to take any gifts from me that I loving buy for their birthdays and other special occassions. All they want me to do is to save my money for myself (like that happens…hehe…a good chunk gets spent on my courses which thankfully are almost done…and the rest gets divided up between buying nice things for myself and investing in the stock market). I feel lucky indeed, as you do as well I’m sure, to have such wonderful parents. Parents/siblings shouldn’t be taken for granted nor will they live forever. Besides, you never know what tomorrow may bring. Bottom line is, family should be enjoyed as much as possible.

:flower1:

I didnt do much at home when i was single,most of the time i was busy with studies and job etc...
now that i'm married,i miss them and feel i could have done their khidmat in a much better way when i was with them....I try my best to take care of them now,more than ever,since i feel how important an asset they are for me,May Allah bless them,Ameen.

yes aameen. aor un ka saya humare sar par humesha rakhe. aameen.

Irem, reading your post actually brought tears to my eyes. You are SO lucky, I never had anything even 10% of what you have with your family. I cant imagine what it must feel like to be cared for so much and feel so loved.
Work hard and make them proud. :k:

r u an only child irem?? u r so seriously lucky i mean with me its totally opposite but i actually like it that way, i do everything for myself myself :D well most of the time at least i know how capable i am of things

You are sooo lucky! My mom is so cold to me nothing I do impresses her I got into a really good university and she's not happy about it just because I wasn't valedictorian and instead I was rank 10 which I think is pretty good because our school was really competitive!!! Moreover she expects so much out of me shes always comparing me to other kids and doesn't look at the good stuff I do always denying that I did anything good but making up excuses oh you only did that because of that oh yeah but she out did you in this, she gets mad when I talk on the phone for anything over 10 minutes, shes gets mad if I stay after school for help doesn't understand why I can't do everything myself, gets upset over my major and then when people told her its a really hard major then she encourages it, she always wants me to work ignoring the fact that I have so much homework, shes says kids who succeed do homework and housework whatever. She doesn't let us go to our friends house oh nobody wants anybody over that much, everybody wants to stay and be with their nuclear families she is soo antisocial, when I want to go to some friends house shes always complaining when I want to buy them gifts shes always complaining oh there's such a long list. The only thing that gets on my nerves is that she pressures me into being a overachiever while she herself has nothing on her she only went up to the 8th grade! She's my mother so I don't say anything!!! Gotta go clean!

oh so sad to hear it

some one show her mother this post
she may change

Thats so sweet Irem :) Brought a smile to my face.

I know what you mean by not being able to get mushy with them. Dont worry, they know you love them!