Parents showing favouritism

hmmmmmmm nadz i have to admit i’m my papa ji’s favorite coz i’m the only daughter in four sons :queen: :blush: :mash: :smiley: :slight_smile:

and i love him the most in this world as well…Rabb lammi zindagi, sehat aur khushyaan de kadi koi takleef na de aur agar koi takleef ho kismat mein to wo meri kismat mei likh di jayay INSHALLAH :flower1:

but…i think my parents have always been equally fair to all of us :mash:

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Oh yes, There definitely is. When I was about to enter this world, my parents wanted a girl after a row of sons. Actually my mom was so sure she was gonna have a girl that she made all girly things. So I was kind of a disappointment.

I have never been loved.

Someone, please take me.

Funguy can I put u up for auction please?

Only with a reserve price.

Oh I can do that...just don't dictate the limits to me please.

The reserve price will be inversely proportional to how desperately I need to get rid of you.

I guess kids would feel that someone else is getting more attention even if the other kid is not.

I dont think that a vast majority of parents want to show favouritism, but maybe how they deal with the kids.

I think they have different ways of dealing with diff people, they have to adapt their approach as well, and their approach is just as different as their child's approach/personality. Whereas, we as their children may feel that one of us is being treated differently, we dont realize when we ourselves are getting the benefit, and it varies by situation and person.

Madhanee thats cos u live so far away from them and they only have to put up with you once every few years. If you were with them I can see you in a completely reversed situation.

I think parents sometimes favor abilities/achievements of one child over another, and that sometimes translates into more attention, etc. I dont know if it means they love more child than the other.

I remember a Punjabi family that lived a few doors down from us, and they had 2 girls and a boy. The mother used to tell the eldest daughter that she is ugly compared to her youngest daughter. Atleast thats what the daughter told me. My family always noted how she doted on her youngest daughter as the pretty, smart one, although she was only 6 years old, and the other children were in their teens. I found it very peculiar and sad.

interesting thread nadia :-)
just had a baby daughter after two boys ...n its like a dream came true ....we think our family is complete now .....but still i can't say i love one of three more than the other .....welove all three equally ...

yes it happens always that one sibling may get more hugs n kisses one day than the other ...but it depennds on many things ....a messy child will not get any favour for being messy ....but that doesn't mean he is not loved!

Afia Baji, That's wonderful Masha'Allah. May Allah always Bless your three little angels.

I guess kids would feel that someone else is getting more attention even if the other kid is not.

Initially i agreed with your post, but now i think sometimes it is quite obvious.

When my two sisters and i were little (before my brother was born), and if our mom was taking us all somewhere by taxi, the taxi drivers would always ask her, Yeh teenon aapkai hain? When my mother would say "Ji", some of them would reply, "Kuch nahin hota - Allah dai ga". :frustrated icon: Didn't Allah already give with three daughters. i don't intend to be rude honestly, i understand what they meant and i respect their opinions. i also believe that Allah already 'gave' with three daughters. Would they have said the same if we had been three sons ? Would they have said "Kuch nahin hota - Allah dai ga". i doubt it. They'd have said "Masha'Allah".

It's a family thing and how one is raised i suppose. i could be wrong for feeling frustrated, i don't know.

Thats nothing Nadia, wait till you hear what I have to tell. My brother-in-law didn’t want to have any sons and luckily Allah gave him and my sister three gorgeous daughters. Even though baaj and mum wanted atleast one boy. But anyway when they had their third daughter my phupho calls and says to my mum..bara afsos huwa hei :hehe: Mum was absolutely furious ‘ke yeh kon hoti hein ‘afsos’ karnay wali’… dad too. Mum said, ‘jiski hein usko afsos nahi tau aapko kyon hei! Allah unki qismatain achi karay. Yahan beta beti barabar hee hein’ Loser loag.

:frowning: @ “Bara afsos huwa hei”… that’s such a wrong thing to state. What more can one want than healthy, beautiful children - regardless of whatever gender they are.

i know this one lady who actually said this type of ‘curse’ right infront of me, towards a family she knew whom she didn’t like, praying that they would get a daughter. (The parents already had two daughters, and the wife was expecting). Turned out the wife had a third daughter (Masha’Allah) and the curse lady was all happy that they hadn’t had a son and that her ‘curse’ worked… as though pata nahin they had given birth to a frog or something.

ah well these are my drastic examples. i know everyone is not like this.

Not everyone, thank Lord! But unfortunately MOST people are like that. If they have a few sons they think they deserve to be crowned or something. And honestly speaking on an average daughters do care more for the parents later on in life. Don't know why people still die to have a boy.

the other day, the host of Career online said in a discussion keh " larki ke liye hamesha yehi dua hoti hai keh 'Allah naseeb ache kare' aur larke ke liye yeh keh 'Allah acha mustaqbil de aur maan baap ki khidmat kerne ki taufeeq' and its kind of stuck with me ever since, I mean even though some people don't show it but discrimination is always there, I guess the concept that a girl too can be the earning hand of a family hasn’t been accepted by many in our society yet.

SKN aajkal tau larkon ke liyay bhi yahi duwa deni chahiyay ke Allah qismat achi karay. I don't find that discriminatory. It's a dua full of love and concern.

nadia...my mother has six sisters n had two brothers ...
all 8 have more daughters but either no son or just one.....that means we all cousins r mostly female (21) n just (7) male....n we r really happy ...which i don't think we would be otherwise

n now in next generation we all cousins have more sons n majority doesn't have any daughter n guess what ....everyone tells them to try again :)

i know sooo many ppl who don't have any kids ......those who think daughter as a burden should look at them !

personally.. i dont think one kid is more important/loved than another.. but a child can feel favoristim happening.. the parents dont mean to give one more attention but it happens... lekin that doesnt mean that the other child(ren) arent loved just as much.. parents jsut have different ways of communicating with different offspring... my belief

I was an only child for 6 long years, but I don’t think that is the reason my parents favor me over my brother, I think they do it because I am more intelligent than him, he could care less for school and they could care more, his stupidity frustrates them. :flower1:

Re: Parents showing favouritism

well we are four brothers n one cute lil sis n shes not only our parents but a sweetheart of all of the family. the yongest bro have been getting lil jealous but not anymore. and beleive me its not easy to be the single in the family either as bro or sis. sometimes she does not find anyone to play with n share her thoughts n views. she even started acting infront of mirror as a class teacher or doctor with pillows, bears, dolls n all girly stuff as her class or patients. on weekends when i get back to my home she just starts sharing about all she bin up to all the week. keeps tellin me that bhai you should have been my elder sis, bhai na hotey hehehe. she’s so cute n truely the soul of us. Masha Allah. May Allah guide her to the right path and bring all the divine luck in her way. Ameen!

I must get her a ‘bhabhi’ as soon as possible :hehe:

thats so cute chodhry :flower2: the lil ones are always like that.. so adorable mashallah

hey paki maryum.. im sure ur parents love ur bro just as much as they love u… i have really close family friends with a bro and sis each.. and the sister is mashallah so damn smart, lekin they both get treated equally (well as much as desi parents can with the double standards in place)

Oh of course, I am not denying their love for him, I am just saying that they have more respect for me! :flower1: