Parents living alone

Recently due to something I’ve been doing, I have had a lot of interaction with the elderly. The majority of them are age 75 and over. Almost all of them live alone and some of them have caretakers that come during the day to assist them in tasks like bathing, etc. A majority of them have children living in the U.S. and most of them are Caucasian, of European decent.

Now these elderly individuals often want to talk to me for a little amount of time, about their lives or their family. It’s not something I ask them, but they just seem to like to share that with me, and I figure I may learn something from them so I just listen.

The theme that I find so overwhelming with a majority of them is that they don’t like living without their family members. They don’t enjoy living alone. Some of them live in a senior citizen community and they have their own apartments with nice amenities. Some just live in homes in the suburbs.

I recall visiting this one lady very vivdly. I was talking to her and she started speaking about her daughter who lives in another state with her wealthy husband. There was one complaint after the other about how her daughter refuses to even have her mother live in the same city with her. I don’t know the reasons but it was terribly sad. It’s true I don’t know both sides of the story, but it was just heart wrenching to see this 80 year old woman almost cry about the fact that she lives alone and has nobody to care for her. Apparently her daughters husband doesn’t like the idea of her living close-by. She kept asking me, “Who is going to know if I drop dead?” It was just awful to listen to that.

Then there was another lady who lived by herself and her brother lived in a nearby city. This lady was really sick and lived by herself. She complained right infront of me and her brother that he rarely visits her and therefore doesn’t seem to care about his only sister, and wouldnt care if she died the next day. I kept quiet. She complained quite a bit and I was thinking to myself that perhaps her brother may not have the patience to deal with that. I have found that some people just cant be around such individuals, because it interferes with their “functioning”. But do you leave a sister by herself, living so far away? Again I said to myself that I don’t know the whole story so I couldn’t comment. It also reminded me of the many times my parents have told me that if I don’t get married, I shouldn’t rely completely on my siblings to always be there for everything.

There was an elderly lady who lives by herself and her daughter lives about 30 minutes from her. She had fallen sick one day and her daughter didn’t come to visit. She told me she was very disappointed at this. I asked her why she doesn’t live with her daughter, she said because her daughter has a cat and she doesn’t like to be around cats.

Finally, there was this lady who lived by herself in this gorgeous condo on the beach. It had all these amenities. Her daughter and son lived in the same city, but about 40 minutes away. I don’t know what came over me, but I asked her if she was happy. She flatly said no. I asked her if she enjoyed all the amenities the place had to offer, she said not really when you don’t have anyone with you. She told me she’d rather live with her children, but they preferred to live by themselves.

It just seems like so many of these individuals are just waiting for life to pass. It’s so horribly sad. I just cant get over the fact that they have family and yet family cant or wont have them live with them. I do understand some people have supposedly very good reasons, but it just makes you think. When I was a teenager my parents knew that I didn’t want them to live with them no matter what. Thank Allah that since then I have completely changed my views. I have had to build a better relationship with them, and Alhumdulillah have been able to do so. Now I cant imagine the thought of not living with my parents, something just two years ago I didn’t even want to do.

Interacting with the elderly has really reinforced the fact that I would never want my parents to live without a family member with them. I think more people should visit the elderly or interact with them, and really take a look at their perspective on things. Perhaps you may not agree with their thinking (or mine) but I am pretty sure it will have an affect on you.

Many of the elderly people I come across often tell something along the lines of “ If you care for your parents, please don’t ever let them live on their own.”

I worry about my parents too..n i definately dont trust my brohters with them..

i will die with shame first the day my parents have to live alone...no matter what happens in this world, i'm going to be with my parents or my siblings will be with them...i am never ever going to leave them alone...inshallah...laanat ho mujh pe agar aisa din kabhee aya...

:salam:

This was being discussed here and here

I think this is so sad, how some people treat their parents. Ok some are bad, but unless their making your life impossible surely you can bear it.
In Islam we are not even allowed to say ‘uff’ to our parents.

I also think that this could become more common amongst pakistanis living abroad.

I would do as much as I can to ensure my parents dont have to live alone. And not just when they are old and need looking after, but before, when their still healthy so they can enjoy life and spend time with their grandchildren. Not to mention house prices and rent here, would porbably mean Id have little choice. :o

But when you get married you dont know how much your spouse will be accepting of your parents (or you of theirs). Especailly since people have ideas of their ‘own space’.

brother i understand what u r saying..but in my case i would never ever get married to someone who seems like someone who wont respect my parents and wont allow us to take care of them as needed...and inshallah i hope i would never ever be the wife who asks her hubby to leave her parents...its just not an option in my book...

when parents are old they need care of their children and its our duty to provide that care. anything less is not right.

i consider myself very flexible and compromising but this is something i just CANNOT compromise on...

*Originally posted by irem: *
brother i understand what u r saying..but in my case i would never ever get married to someone who seems like someone who wont respect my parents and wont allow us to take care of them as needed...and inshallah i hope i would never ever be the wife who asks her hubby to leave her parents...its just not an option in my book...

Not all people have that atitude.

I know people make all sorts of promises before marriage, doesnt mean theyll stick to them. How many actually keep them, with time people change (or their real character comes out).
Mother in laws and daughter in laws are famed for arguing with each other.

But what can a person do if he has children, and the wife (or husband) threatens divorce, espcially here in the west, the divorce laws favour women with regards to custody and the family home. Tough choice hey.

I think thats why parents are sometimes so keen on marrying within relatives, so they can all live together. Not that, that would be any gurantee.

It doesnt have to be a massive joint family, (that would just cause alot of problems, I think) but as long as they can live with one of their children (at any given time) then I think that would be good.

I have thought about this thing a million times. It's just too scary to think that (God forbid) my parents will ever have to live alone. :( InshAllah, I will never let that happen. I always want to live close to them even if my brothers are living with them!

thats really sad munni..this pakistani guy took his father to 'old peoples home' and while he was filling out the papers, his abba ji sat down and tilted to right but a nurse came right away and put a pillow to his side so he wouldnt fall down..old man started to tilt to the left and the nurse came and put a pillow to that side too..son was watching all that and was very impressed
he goes to abba ji..dekha abba ji, apki bahoo theek keh rahi thi kay aapka idher bohut khayal rakha jaye ga..abba ji ghussay say boltay hain "abay kahan joru kay ghulaam, idher to paad maarna azaab ho gaya hai"

May be that is why people like to have more than one kid. Koi aik to ghairat mand to ho ga jo maa baap kay saath rhay ga.

*Originally posted by M: *
I know people make all sorts of promises before marriage, doesnt mean theyll stick to them. How many actually keep them, with time people change (or their real character comes out).
Mother in laws and daughter in laws are famed for arguing with each other.

brother u r totally right...i dont wana act like a naik parveen and maybe its easy for me to say this coz i am not in the situation, may Allah swt help me when the time comes and keep me on the straight path, but i really dont think it has to be a fighting relationship. i have indeed seen cases of where its not and i think its very possible. in my own family we have joint family system and alhamdulillah sometimes small misunderstandings can occur but never the case where any old mothers or fathers are living alone.