Parents having a key to your house

Say after marriage your house is pretty close to parents (your parents OR inlaws) house. Would you feel comfortable giving them a key?

And would you automatically give it to them, or after a situation arises where it seems it’s better if they do have a key?

Re: Parents having a key to your house

:hehe: tough decision, but I will give them.

My sister's house is two roads away from us, so yeah, we have a spare key. We don't barge in whenever we feel like it, but it's useful if they want us to keep an eye on it while they're gone away.

My Ammi had a key to my house. When I got pregnant, it was a big help, because my husband was traveling a lot for work, so either she was staying with me or had my son with her (while I was on complete bed rest during the twins pregnancy) and I had a key to her and my stepdads house as well.

Neither of us would ever barge in unannounced anyway, so it was not an issue.

Never really thought about it. Although I'm sure if someone's parents did have the key it would be for emergency purposes only and not barge in whenever they please. Atleast I hope so.

When I was away from home, my parents had keys to my apartment.

When my sister lived close by, my parents had a key to her apartment.

They also have a key to my other sister's house.

Its just a spare key they have just in case. No one has ever popped over to anyone's place unannounced and actually used the spare keys.

no they dont...i live with my inlaws (MIL.. precisely) :-|

I have my sister's hosue key, whenever I tell her im coming over she say's 'well you have the key, use it'

If I ever use the key without telling her beforehand she say's 'you could have warned us!'

:/

If I'm keeping theirs, I might as well consider offering them mine. Different thing if they (mainly abu) doesn't give a damn about having it though.

I don't really see the point but I'm okay with giving it to them as long as they don't barge in

y u all worried about ‘barge in’ ??
its your parents for godsake !!!

women had issues living with parents , now you don’t want to let them in even . :nahi:

nomi... not everything is to be taken as negetive.. use some common sense and it all makes perfect sense

in laws have the keys to our place and vice versa.. we never come unannounced nor do they.. even if its a quick heads up.. we and they, still call.

imagine.. if the other side isnt home? your trip is a waste.

or lets be creative and married.. what if fil 'barges' in and sees their beloved son and bahu rani acting out something from the kama sutra?

i sometimes wear clothing at home i dont want my fil to see me in.. what if he just pops in and there i am.. in my shorts and tank top?

last but never the least.... i havea very heavy and thick rod/bat like thing that i was ready to use a few times thinking someone had entered teh house... in laws DO NOT need to die jsut cuz they came in unannounced.

makes sense all of a sudden eh... good.. i knew it would :)

oh and we gave each other keys aisay hi.. the day we moved into our new places. just thought it made sense.. sometimes they wanna come by but we have plans (somethign minor like grocery shopping etc).. so we plan it out and they get to our place before we do.. so they just let themselves in .. sometimes mil even gets dinner going.

dekha.. nomi ko abhi sub kuch acha lagnay laga hai..