Parents and Beliefs

Nothing in my life made my heart ache more and eyes weep more than the times when my parents came in the way of my beliefs. If I remain quiet than they mostly think that I have agreed to their views and it keeps eating me from inside, and if I argue, I might be carried away due to their intense criticizm. I know one should remain calm, logical and respectful but at times my dad’s comments about my beliefs seems to burn my soul. I don’t feel hurt if a person use abusive words for me, but in case of beliefs I am unable to control my anger.

They mashAllah themselves follow more sincerely the basics of Islam but the difference are in the details, like keeping beard, doing hijab, listening to music…etc.

I pray to Allah to help me and my parents to understand the truth, and I need prayers

Have you ever faced any problems in dealing with your parents, when they are forcing you again and again against your beliefs, and you find it difficult to continue your beliefs and it becomes difficult to give them the amount of respect which they deserve, as the discussion always tends to convert into arguements.

Kindly help me, if you know some tips to keep a balance, that is to give full respect to parents without compromising on your beliefs. Your help would be appreciated in the form of prayers from heart

Re: Parents and Beliefs

Maybe you should just say, "You have your veiws, and I have mine:)."

umm but i really dun know....

STP,
i do not know whether what you want or wish to be like personally, is something that is ethical

if it is then you must stand up for your self

if you are a grown-up individual, then you must live as an independent being, not necessariloy being rude to your parents, but being firm for your own happiness and not be afraid to own up to your own mistakes, as well as be open to trying going back to what you wanted to do.

things that make human examples worthy of having gone through rough times, in personal relationships, include

a) learn a lesson from a bad experience, some one acts immature or trys to be clever with you
and then if you cannot deal with such a person, sadly, but for their own good and your own well being, you must leave them alone for the time being

b) know that you have the option of going back and making the person who you hurt, feel that you are not a bad person

c) help other people not fall for the short comings of weak people and making them aware of their rights

d) enable yourself and others live with personal social dignity and a status of a thinking, feeling and ethically alive human being

true and caring friends who know you better and can be fair to the situation, that is making you at odds with your parent, these friends will be ALOT more helpful than your parents.
parents will be the first one to remind you that they had have enough of your sadness, and determinedness, but your friends will recognize the hurt you have and are bearing.

also, if your parents give you guilt trips and due to their toughness, hurt you even more, remove yourself from them, and be surrounded by only what you think is good.

give them the time to recognize that they are putting you in a tough situation. only you know your situation the best.

i hope this helps and prayers do come your way.

best,

dushwari

The best way of handling things is with silence.
Our elders can not take the disrespect of discussions.
Practice whatever you firmly believe is the path of Allahjee
and still fulfil your obligations towards your parents....

If there are often fights and clashes between you, then you
should consider to move out or let your other relatives give
you a mean while shelter until things cool of.
Whenever my own family wishes to discuss Diin with me, I simply
say it very respectfully:
"Har ek ne apni qabr mein sonah hai....."
We all answer to Allahjee and none else at day of judgement.

Try to be self sufficient. It generates respect and also peace of mind.
Even with siblings, be loving and giving, but avoid any discussion until
they truly accept you as you are. These tips have helped me through my
own decision and hard times. Allahjee will be with you all the way.......

Assalamoalaikum.. I just wanted to say that mash'Allah I admire your perseverance in this matter. Keep tawakkul'Allah. You'll see it will pay off insh'Allah. Think of this as a test from Allah swt, because He said that He'll put us through trials in order to see who will stay steadfast on his path. And the fact that you're going through a hard time shows that He wants to test you. Will you give up or will you stay strong and turn to Him all the way? Because at the end, it's no one else you can ask help from except from him.
-> keep your parents happy. Be extra nice to them, and become for them a source of sadaqah-jariyah.
-> show by your amal the true spirit of Islam, because insh'Allah your amal will incline them and make them understand you better.
-> Don't lose hope. Read this du'a:
Rabbi shrahli sadri. Wa ya sirli amri. Wahlul ukkudatam mil lisani. Yafkahu kauli.
O my Rabb! Expand for me my breast and make my matters easy for me and loosen the knot from my tongue so they understand my speech.

May Allah help you through this and insh'Allah my prayers are with you.
Assalamoalaikum.

OMG you have the exact same problem as me.

Ummi is fine, I never debate about religion with her so we don’t have differences, she’s quite spiritual and just tells me to pray Salaah, do Dhikr and recite Qur’aan all the time, our talks about religion end there…

Now Baba, I am more conservative/orthodox than him and we’re always arguing about it, it’s so frustrating sometimes because we can’t tell our elders even when we think they’re being hypocrites or don’t know Islam properly but only what they’ve been taught in their villages (it’s getting better though, at one point Islam was limited to burning a diya at the local shrine every thursday before the sunset). Baba wont let me go with Tableeghi Jamaat (I guess he’s scared I’ll get brainwashed), when I was younger my reasons were far from religious but now I want to go for spiritual benefits, I know they’re not perfect but they have a lot of good to offer.

May Allaah :swt: guide us and our families and the entire Ummah, aameen.

I love Islam, it’s the only thing which makes me feel I truly belong, the only thing which gives me solace.

yes i had the same problem , but that was only in teens , once i crossed my teens i was better able to understand their point of view , though i always kept argiung and kept finding my own ways :slight_smile:
but now i see i have adjusted well to their dantain :cb:

STP,

At the end of the day, your parents are the only one who wants the absolutely best for you with the minimum of returns. Their thinking is to keep you away from the harm's way. Their thinking might be different from yours, based on their experience and upbringing, but that does not mean that you should shun them out.

It is possible that they might have picked up something from your recent behavior which is becoming a cause of concern for them. Find out the reason and then think about it and do something about it. Remember, after God, whatever you are is because of your parents efforts. Sitting and talking with them will resolve almost all the issues.

STP

Unless you prove yourself to be of some substance, you should keep a low profile. By that i mean get to your feet and prove your worth.

I had similar problem with my dad in my Teens but over the time Dad has become more religious and i have become less, so now Dad scolds me for being careless in terms of Deen.

JazakAllah khair koolkomal, Dushwari, Pathani, Da DutchesS, Promiscuous Paki, ~Iraj~, WitchDr, Iconoclast for sharing your kind views. They really helped me alot.

I would like to clear few things here. Alot of times such discussions take place among uncles or relatives and at that time if I remain quiet they would bulldose me with their biased views.

If I leave, than I am non respectful person. If I start giving logic, than after sometime they would not be aware if their views even make sense, as the only thing that seem to bother them is "How can a boy whom we even saw in "push chair" (when one year old) can now prove our views wrong ?"
Than they would start telling me that their experience is even more than my age and I haven't yet slept any nights with empty stomach. Than with a sobre look they would say " We know Allah's orders are true and we also believe that the way of the Prophet (saw) was the best, but the zamana is different now, the time 1400 years before was different,..blah blah..."

I know I am not a good muslim but I don't want to sound like a "Munafiq" by molding my personality according to the "group" I sit in. Also everyone says that "Rizq" and "Respect" is in the hands of Allah, but their attitude and way of thinking says that it is in the hands of their BIG BOSS (nauzubillah)

They say that you see it is enough that you do basics of Islam right, and the details are not very important (as if they have been given a garantee of Jannat by Allah, inspite of whatever they do) but when it comes to exams in Universities, they would be angry at me for achieving 85 % instead of 90%.

After getting logical proofs and reasoning they would say " Everyone would be held answerable for their own deeds" but after a couple of days they themselves would feel uneasy with your Beard or Hijab, and couldnt resist to comment.

When other relatives spend three hours till late night in the musical evenings, it is all fine, as they are unwinding and relaxing themselves. BUT if you are half and hour late from the Masjid than the house is on fire.

Previously they used to keep saying that once you become stable in your career and get engaged, than do whatever you like, BUT after you get a scholarship for Ph.D abroad and you get engaged, then Shaitaan brings more "waswasa's" (false suspecions) in their minds. And they say that you are at a very critical stage of your career so be careful. Than I start wondering that who was the one who advised me " Son, ALWAYS do in your life whatever satisfies "your" heart, and don't listen to anyone in achieving your aim"

Should I have to even tell them what my REAL aim is ?

I am not only talking about my parents, but some general examples of elders I have seen among my relatives and observed people around me, who are enjoying high status in society and seem to think that they might never be held answerable for minor details if they are following the basics of Islam Correctly. They seem to forget that Allah says that don't do a small sin by thinking of it to be minor and don't leave a small good deed by thinking of it to be minor as you never know due to which of your deeds Allah might forgive you.

Avoid arguments, though from your posts i reckon that you like arguments. But arguments with your elders will achieve nothing.

Getting a PhD scholarship is far from being settled. Settling is when you have a job, you own a house and YOU take care of family rather than family taking care of you. Then you can do what you want to do and people will respect your views, coz YOU would have earned the respect.

Beleive me religious/logical or whatever arguments all just look like empty rants untill you are a person of substance.

I dunno about you but i have seen a lot of young people who ignore there contributions and duties towards their families and to themselves and they consider that they are doing a service to Islam. If you sit in mosque for 1-1/2 hour while your Dad needs help at home then he has the right to be mad.

And last but not the least, there is a Hadith which means some thing like this; do not look upon sins of others as if you are their God.

And when I remain quiet, they become concious and ask me to share my views. When after the arguement I go to them to say sorry, and that I wont argue again, I am told that we actually enjoy your logical resonings and sensable way of discussion,there is nothing bad in it. And you are not disrespectful at all. We become more concious and worried when you start avoiding discussions with us..

Ok, fine. I would abondon my practices of keeping a beard, not listening to music, and other beliefs till I get stable in life, "ONLY if" I am given a guarentee that I would not die tonight and would live for atleast 10 more years. In that case I would not think of keeping a balance by taking along my beliefs and profession in parallel. Instead I would spend first 5 years in stabilizing myself and the next 5 in practicing my beliefs.

True, thats what I want them to know, that "I am not yet a person of substance and am trying my level best to become one, so kindly let me try my level best, and don't put me in such arguements" By the grace of Allah my performance and grades in profession has always improved with my practicing my beliefs, but I don't know what makes them afraid ?

Very true ! I totally agree with you. About the mosque part, I don't want to open my mouth, otherwise I might feel ashamed. Why do people not need you when you are spending 3 hours at night in the musical evening, or go out with friends at midnight, and they only need you when they come to know that you have spent only 15-30 extra minutes in the mosque during the day. Later you come to know that they only needed you because they were worried that why are you late from the masjid >?

Fine. I never like to look upon anyone's sins till those deeds (sins) are creating hinderance between me and my beliefs.

And when I remain quiet, they become concious and ask me to share my views. When after the arguement I go to them to say sorry, and that I wont argue again, I am told that we actually enjoy your logical resonings and sensable way of discussion,there is nothing bad in it. And you are not disrespectful at all. We become more concious and worried when you start avoiding discussions with us..

Looks to me that they feel they can out argue you and hence want to continue, another reason to avoid argument.

Ok, fine. I would abondon my practices of keeping a beard, not listening to music, and other beliefs till I get stable in life, "ONLY if" I am given a guarentee that I would not die tonight and would live for atleast 10 more years. In that case I would not think of keeping a balance by taking along my beliefs and profession in parallel. Instead I would spend first 5 years in stabilizing myself and the next 5 in practicing my beliefs.

I meant till that time, avoid arguments or confrontation. Do what you want while keeing a low profile.

And unfortunately, mosques these days have become a dangerous place! World had to come to this.

I m agree

what is the guidance on this matter according to your beliefs?

^ Brother, after trying to read the activities of the pious people of the past, the best solution I think is to remain respectful, logical and calm.

As it is difficult to control our anger/emotions in such situations, the best way is to do abolution (wazoo) before such discussions and start with Auzu billahi minashaitaanirrajeem. Bismillahi.....
This would prevent the devil to come in between us and our parents, and "DEVIL" is the root of all the evil deeds.

In a hadith, the Prophet (saw) said that anger is haraam, the cause of anger is devil, and devil is made of fire. The fire is removed with water, so perform abolution whenever you feel angry or emotional.

If easy recite the dua. Rabbishrah li sadri .....

and pray to Allah to bless us with "wisdom" (Hikmah), modesty and patience while talking to our parents.

Allah knows BEST!

washing one's face with cold water when is very helpful, when one is in a state of anger.
deciding anything in anger is not good.

You need to relax you're going to have a heart attack. Don't let "words" and/or "people" get to you. The ulimate prize which is paradise waits for you far not.