KARACHI: A baby girl was found in the cradle of the Korangi office of the Edhi Foundation after her “poverty-stricken parents” left her there, officials of the charity said.
Abdul Sattar Edhi said he was certain that it was poverty that drove the parents of the girl — not even one year old — to part from their child.
He added that galloping inflation and poverty were causing an increasing number of parents to abandon their children.
“Our volunteers found her in the cradle and waited for a response from anyone for hours. But nobody turned up. The girl was given food and clothes and finally shifted to the Bilquees Edhi Foundation Centre at Mithadar.”
“We don’t even know her name,” he said, adding that the charity remained unable to determine any family links of the abandoned child.
“The registered number of people living in different facilities of the Edhi Foundation in Karachi has crossed the 13,000 mark,” said Mr Edhi.
Among them were 500 children below 10 years, he said, adding that most of them were abandoned by their parents on account of abject poverty.
Re: Parents abandon baby girl at Karachi Edhi centre
Diamond321, i see you always just post negative about Pakistan - is this a habit or you have negative personality ?
Problems like this happens in all the societies around the world, heck i live in NY and i read news .. police found newborn in garbage can's.. etc..etc..
I hate stories like this. I dont understand why these sort of parents, especially if your already in poverty, bother to procreate. We all say that its best to have kids when you can atleast afford to, otherwise allah ki rehmet anyway. but still, surely if your this poor, dont have them, and if that means , no sex, then no sex. if your this poor, you wouldnt even think of sex, you would think of making a means to live.
this reminds me of some relatives, long distance, who live in pak, in a village, they have 11 kids, 11,,,,,,,,,and are POOR.VERY POOR. barely enough to eat. but this doesnt stop them wanting more kids. and having them. obv now they are in a bit better state where they have people/relatives helping them out, but they seem to think its a given, that they can have more and more kids, and someone in London will just keep sending them money. and the icing on the cake-they are rude, batameezzzzzz like hell, always demanding more, and never appreciating anything, the father even said he wanted someone to send him money for a tv, so my uncle did, but the father called and said yeh kya, bacho nai to flat screen chaiye, itni paise to kuch bi nahi milta, zyda bhaijo....
And you know what sucks? I would gladly adopt one, as I’m in a baby frenzy with no one to impregnate me ( ) and yet, they put up so many barriers to adoption. Just the time it takes to go through approvals, and the forms you have to fill out, and the investigations and the amount of money it costs - it is horrendous.
I mean, you’d think people are actually trying to find homes for these babies.
Mr edhi aient looking for people to adopt them having a laugh have u seen any one giving away there business to some one to take over with out royalty ??
Actually those craddles were made by Ehdi sahab so that people if are unable to take care of their children, can leave their children in the craddles instead of dumping them in garbage containers.
Mr edhi aient looking for people to adopt them having a laugh have u seen any one giving away there business to some one to take over with out royalty ??
Edhi foundation encourages adoption/fostering however they have to do their due diligence so they dont hand kids over to human traffickers, organ harvesters etc.
The issue is that many people dont want to adopt girls, and majority do not want to adopt a child who is not newborn, because newborns are very often passed as one's biological kid in order to spare the parents and the kid the scrutiny of society.
The overwhelming portion of these barriers is not edhi foundation’s doing.
much of it is US govt requirements, the homestudies, background checks, visa fees etc
from what I know edhi does not charge any exorbitant fees or any fees at all, maybe charges for documentation etc
other portion of the costs is pakistani court related which edhi has no control over
and last barrier is the six months the kid has to stay in pak post adoption, and that is not an edhi established barrier either
I know u were speaking in general terms but i wanted to add this for others’ clarification
btw u wont be able to adopt from there since Pakistan only officially allows married couples to adopt.
Diamond321, i see you always just post negative about Pakistan - is this a habit or you have negative personality ?
Problems like this happens in all the societies around the world, heck i live in NY and i read news .. police found newborn in garbage can's.. etc..etc..
Take it light..
ok may be light for you but not me........
abandoning your own baby is the most disgusting thing in the world. I don't know how these people sleep , live & eat. Like X2 said that people don't like adopting baby girls and the same reason makes people give up their daughters too and they leave them on the mercy of others.
If you don't like reading my threads then don't ......if they violate any community guidelines the Mods will take care of my threads. You don't have any right to judge if I like or dislike Pakistan or if I have a negative personality.
and the news also shows that how much difficult life has become for some people in Pakistan due to high inflation . People committing ijtamai suicide and people abandoning their own children are an example of that. May be light for you but we are talking about human lives here.