Pangkor Island

Okay here is an attempt to upload some pics from a recent visit to Pulau Pangkor. We had a long weekend here in Malaysia bcos Chinese new year came right before the Saterday. So we decided to go to Pulau Pangkor which is one of the Island, actually 16 islands I think.

Little introduction about the place:

Pangkor Island is located just off the coast of North West Malaysia. This Malaysian island is about 250 km from the country capital Kuala Lumpur and it takes on average 3 hours to reach Lamut (another city) and from there you have to take a Ferry to reach the island, which also takes around 30 min. It’s in the state called Perak.

The locals believe the island was protected by the sprits and hence the name, which means sprit island. It’s filled with rainforest and beaches all around. Historically a lot of pirates used to come here, rob the people and use the jungle and hills to hide.

In 17th century Dutch came, and in 19th century british came and renamed the island to Pulau Kera, which means Monkey Island. You cans till find many monkey on the island.

It is peaceful and beautiful place to be, among the things that u can do there are first of all relax. U can hire a texi or even a motor bike to roam around the island. And it only cost around USD10 per day. A nice room or a shellay (sp) u can get in around USD50-60 for 4 people. The motor boat rides you can get from USD 10, u can rent a water bike and enjoy in sea also starting from USD 10. U can also rent small boats and so on.

Although our timings to go there were not perfect, it was country’s public holiday, season and long weekend. So it was very crowded and prices were triple.

Okay enough talking, here r the pics.

We started our journey at 2 AM from Kuala Lumpur and we reached in Lamut at Fajr. This is a view at dawn.

By this time we have boarded in ferry and its another view of the sea

Some Navy Ships in view

:bravo:

Re: Pangkor Island

You can see that its all around just hilly and rain forest

A different view

One of the corner of the island, fishermen houses. This corner has some Chinese temple and that’s why the ferry normally stops there for a while if someone wants to go there

Our shellay (sp) room. Also very nice and peaceful, and just opposite the beach

Front view

Street

We r going for a boat ride and snorkeling to another near by island

Views from our ride

One of the beach point on one small island.

Okay, I missed the angle but this rock is suppose to look like a Whale

And this one is suppose to look like a Crocodile

Me getting ready for snorkeling and taking self snaps :cb:

It is one of the most amazing moment to feed the different colorful fishes with ur own hands and when u r watching them taking small bites from ur hands. They r not afraid of u…and the come in groups and eat from ur hand…just be careful when they r big they can bit the fingers hehehe

Floating on water …..beautiful feeling blush

Going back now

Some people enjoying in their hired boats

My hotel, bikes for hire also there.

Next morning

Going back

Waiting for the ferry

We are back in Lumut, some street pics

Now going back

Okay tata bye bye ….. khail khatam pesa hazam …..there is another camera pics but now I m tired of selecting and uploading :silly:

oh God sooo many pics....:p

Nice---thx for sharing

Nice pictures.
Thank you for sharing

Beautiful pix :k: JB You floating one is the besht:blush:

Really awesome! I wish I would visit the place some day!

:hayaa:so many pics

nice:D

lol I read it as, “beautiful feeling flush
:rotfl: I don’t know y i am doing this :smack:

Pags aao saath mei floating karain :phati:

Moonstar bhai jaan then come na :wink: we ll go again … wo pics bhi dikhaon ga jo yahan upload nahi keen :wink:

EM … apna ilaaj kerwao …khud ki ankhon ki ghalti aur khud hi hansti rehti hu …achi nishani nahi hai :stuck_out_tongue:

Wow. Nice pics jony :phati:

p.s. all-male beach par gaye they kia? :asa:

wow!

Shikky … sirf censored version share kia hai :wink: