palak gosht

how do you cook it? i used to boil both meat and spinach and it wasn’t something that one can eat. then i tried frying onions and meat and then added chilli, salt and then added spinach. it doesn’t taste the way i have normally seen it cooked. is there any other recipe?

Re: palak gosht

Cook em seperately and almost at the end add them together :love:

I'm sure its like this...altho dont take my word for it cuz i never cooked it in my life ...but...i reckon..

its make your masala for gosht n add your gosht in.. tada...
boil palak separately to save time OR add in ...
and then STir n stir .....u know bhoon it n whateber.

and the dish shud be ready :D

You can microwave palak if its fresh and then put it in prepared ghost masala. Also, add some cream or mild after mixing up palak in ghost & let it simmer on low heat for 10 minutes. Once the ghee separates, its ready. I sometimes sprinkle gram masala on it too. Yum Yum!

Boil the paluk and fry (bhoonofy, I don't believe bhooning is same as frying :D ) the meat then add paluk and bhonnofy it :p

khan_sahib,

here's an easy recipe for you. :)

Ingredients

1/4 kg mutton
5 or 6 bunches Spinach
1-2 tsp ginger garlic paste
2 medium tomatoes
1 tsp coriander Powder
1 tsp red chilli powder
2 onions
few black pepper corns
3-4 tablespoons cooking oil
salt to taste
1 tbsp. fresh coriander

Method

First chop the onions, spinach, coriander and tomatoes finely (do not mix them) and set them aside.

Wash and cut meat into cubes in whatever size you want.

Then, heat Oil in a pan. Add few black peppers and half of the onions. Stir for one minute. Add meat and stir again for few minutes. Add a little salt and enough water. Cover and cook till the meat is soft.

Once meat is cooked, strain out all the water and keep the meat aside.

Heat oil in another pan. Add remaning onions and fry till light brown. Add salt, coriander(dhuniya powder), chilli powder and chopped coriander. Fry and mix it thoroughly. Add Tomatoes and spinach. Cook till they're done(add small amount of water if needed). Add meat to the mixture and stir. Fry till the water is dried and oil leaves the sides of the pan.

The simplest of recipes comes from the kitchen of funguy.

here is what u do

Spinach:

Buy 2 frozen packs of chopped spinach.
Bring them to boil
Drain and chop them further in a chopper
set aside

Meat: In pressure cooker,
Add oil
add meat
add Laal mirchi, coriander powder, salt and qasoori methi (very crucial ingredient)
Bhoon the meat for five minutes.
add 2 cups of water and pressure cook the meat for 10 minutes.
Release pressure

NOW add palak to this meat. Bhoon for another 5 minutes and cover the cooker and simmer for another 10 minutes on very low heat.

Garam garam naan k saath tanaawal furmaaeiN.

thanks everyone

use of tomatoes and water is mentioned above but as far as I know tomatoes and water aren't supposed to be added especially when i get chopped and frozen palak which already contains water.

i haven't tried bhoonofying so i will try that.

*Originally posted by khan_sahib: *
thanks everyone

use of tomatoes and water is mentioned above but as far as I know tomatoes and water aren't supposed to be added especially when i get chopped and frozen palak which already contains water.

You don't need to add water as long as the mixture isn't sticking on the bottom of pan. Water is used only to prevent that from happening!

munday n cooking :eek:

i’ll believe it when i see it :rotfl:

I love to cook and eat palak.. secret is teh masterful ending at cooking time.. try to evaporate all water while stirring at end.. and continue until u feel it smells great..

khan bhai: aap hamara khub naam roshan kar rahe hain :k: fakhar se peeth thapakne wala icon

Sab ne achi tarkeebein bataai hai..yeh batein ke hamare ghar main to hamesha 3/4th portion saag ka hota hai aur 1/4th us se milti julti kisi aur sabzi ka (forgot the name). Aisa kyon hota hai? (i remember that other 1/4th sabzi is very strong and kinda bitter in taste).

I never boil frozen/canned spinach.
Could someone tell me what's the purpose behind it???

*Originally posted by SAJAL: *
I never boil frozen/canned spinach.
Could someone tell me what's the purpose behind it???

You don't have to. I boil frozen palak to speed up the cooking process.

Funguy
I see. Thanks.