Pakstan A Team Named - Misbah Captain

**Pakistan A **Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Bazid Khan (vice-capt), Hasan Raza, Mohammad Hafeez, Rafatullah Mohmand, Shahid Yousuf, Mansoor Amjad, Abdur Rahman, Mohammad Salman, Mohammad Khalil, Fawad Alam, Mohammad Irshad, Wasim Khan, Akhtar Ayub; Reserves: Samiullah Khan, Shahzad Malik and Tahir Khan.

Source: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/250015.html

Good to see likes of Akhtar Ayub finally been given the opprtunity. He was very impressive and very nippy bowler in the under 19 side.

Re: Pakstan A Team Named - Misbah Captain

i am glad pcb honored yasir hameed' words when he said that he shud not be playing an a team....
so what r his options now????

Glad he is not selected - PCB for once made the correct decision. I don't think by selecting him would have made much difference as he would have struggled on Australian picthes.

Very much. Along with Akhtar Ayub, some of the other noticable selections include Abdur Rahman and decent tail-ender/off-spinner Tahir Khan (who were sent back to Pakistan in the middle of Sri Lanka's tour).

Any updates on the status of Anwar Ali and Jamshed Ahmed? Seems as if the names of these two have altogether skipped in the news.

Akhtar Ayub's fastest delivery was 88 mph which is pretty decent for an U19 bowler, he looks quite bulky for an 18yrs old though. It's really good to see Fawad Alam and Akhtar Ayub there but i think Jamshed Ahmed is by far the MOST impressive young bowler we have, i would have loved to see him but Akhtar Ayub is not bad at all.

Anwar Ali swings a LOT but i don't think he is that good otherwise, it doesn't mean he cannot improve.

I will take Jamshed Ahmed over Khalil any day but i don't know why Khalil gets that many chances :|

Totally agree. As he gets older and when he gets more stronger he no doubt will be able to generate extra pace and touch 90+mph. Also as stated above I don't know why Jamshed Ahmed is ignored and has more potential then likes of Khalil.

It is important to remember that these tours provide learning experience for the youngsters and any good prospect should be given the best possible chance.

Misbahul Haq bachon ka captain banay howay hee retire ho jaye gaa :hehe:

I don’t know what favor Khalil has done to PCB or selectors, the only difference I see in him and other bowlers is that he uses left hand to bowl with no extra pace, variety etc.

Good to see Mohammad Irshad from the U19 WC. I think you guys are forgetting out of the 3 pacers who helped PAK win the final of U19 WC one was Mohammad Irshad. If I am not wrong this is the guy who resembles a lot like Akram with runup and bowling actioan and he is the one who can move the ball both ways.

Good mentions, both posts above.

Reportedly, Mohammad Irshad's name heads the list amongst the twenty-nine other bowlers in domestics who have come under heavy scrutiny by the PCB for ther illegal bowling actions.

Unless the recently advertised Bowling Action Committee (BAC) gets underway at the NCA (under the supervision of PCB and Mudassar Nazar), I personally don't see Irshad getting a call-up to the National team. It would be less riskier to correct his faults now as oppose to shutting the doors of International Cricket on him for an [x] period of time, as in the case of Shabbir.

Mohammad Irshad might have helped in U19 WC 4 years ago, now he is 23 years of age (officially :D).

acha! than I guess I was wrong.

Re: Pakistan A Team Named - Misbah Captain

Thats Jamshed Ahmed (the left-armer) who joined hands with Anwar Ali in the WC victory.
Muhammad Irshad is the one who resembles Shoaib akhtar :)

Hasan Raza was demoted from captaincy after a very stupid driving act?? oh well!

As far as I remember this was not the first time he did something stupid. He did something silly in a plane whilst returning back from foreign tour.

Mohammad Irshad has never played at U19 level for Pakistan, you are talking about Jamshed Ahmed.

Nahi dhobi bhai, Irshad's action is pretty much CLEAN, there is absolutely no doubt whatsoever. Irshad's runup is very similar to Akhtar and Shoiby himself said that Irshad is really fast and one of the fastest in domestic ( Irshad was disappointing in the recent Abu Dhabi tournament though).

Yasir Ali is another youngster who played his first test at the age of 17 against Bangladesh (Sohail was selector), he is very promising and probably the fastest in Pakistan after Shoaib and Sami, he is currently playing league cricket in England and performing extremely well with bowl and bat, his bowling action was a bit dodgy but he has improved a lot since he played his first test.

Hasan Reza as captain of the A team had delivered positive results with victories in the under 19 world cup and then in Abu Dhabi tournament. Why on earth wud Pcb decide to change a winning captain is beyond reason. Misbah is also a very good captain leading Faiselabad to many trophy finals and may even ead Pakistan one day ie if he delivers as a batsman, but this treatment to a winning captain smacks of favoritism and may even split the team.

^^ Maybe because of what happened in Abu Dhabi, Misbah was also involved in that incident but Hasan has been invovled in such acts before as well.

Forget the captain part, Misbah shoul not be even there in the team, why don't we also include talented Arshad Khan instead of Abdur Rehman or Tahir Khan??

He was also involved in a prostitute/girl in the hotel room scandal along with Afridi a few years ago.