Re: Pakistan’s top judge is suspended
off topic, but what a statistic, a nation of crooks. And then we wonder why our rulers are corrupt…
Re: Pakistan's top judge is suspended
[quote="Iconoclast, post:42, topic:157030"]
The real reasons behind removal of CJ:
ڈیڑھ سال کے اس مختصر عرصے میں جسٹس چوہدری نے کئی اہم کیس نمٹائے جن میں سے کچھ حکومت اور اس
Brother Saleem and roadrunner
please read this post if you can read urdu
I dont understand what world you guys live in
I was in Pak about 2 months ago
I saw it First Hand how things are there
so my Brothers,try selling this to someone who does not know better we are all full here
^^ Go back to sleep. We're not talking about average citizens here. All people if they can get away with corruption would do it. It's the laws, the people at the top, and the enforcement that needs to be rigid and uncorrupt. And any move against the people at the top against corruption is a good one.
insider- as you can see, nothing will get through his thick head.
He can't even read it, yet he is commenting on it.
In his 'mind' he and his dictator are right no matter what wrong's are committed, poor stupid child he is
From where I’m sitting, all the people that speak English like “yaar, me play cards, you deal hand” or other zambisi dialects are siding with you. You read silly billy’s excellent points, to which you cant answer, or Sa1eem’s lengthy but informative and useful posts, these are all people with a modicum of intelligence. The people that side with you appear to be the types of semi literates …
yes, anybody who disagree’s with you is an idiot, grow up, your a waste of time ![]()
And eveyrone who disagrees with you is living in amreeka (under army paryoll) and relies on akhbaraat for their source of information (as if you get to see the regular tamasha in the parliament outside in streets)?
Spock bhai,
Do you really believe that CJ Iftikhar's elimination has nothing to do with his judgments against PSM sale and the pending cases that could embarass Musharraf?
No the allegations were made by leading papers like the Nation / Nawai-i-waqt.
This is what was written:-
*His spouse, Mrs. Gloria Cohen Aziz is a wealthy, well connected socialite with an interest in many private firms of consultants as well as security contractors for the US government. These contractors and consultants have worked in Afghanistan since 1977; they have also worked in Pakistan, in Russia not to mention Iraq. She has travelled to Pakistan regularly to case the joint, as the Americans say, with the State Department spouse of a well known former US Ambassador to Pakistan who oversaw the withdrawal of US troops from Afghanistan. The Americans are so keen to see her installed in Pakistan that they have left Iraq two days early to facilitate her entry into the country-an indication of the importance of the job she, not any PM is expected to do in Pakistan. Her arrival at the Prime Minister’s house in Pakistan should be a slap in the face of all those Muslims who have been horrified and disgusted by the humiliation and torture of Muslim prisoners at Guantanamo Bay, in Iraq, in Afghanistan and the hate crimes against Muslim citizens of the United States. *
Shaukat Aziz showed great maturity when he did not dignify this with a reply, as the world over know what the actual truth is. :k: But Ikhram Seghal sent the shameless Nation an email that reads as follows:-
*Gloriously wrong *
Kindly refer to Shahwar Junaid’s article “the ultimate deal”. While deferring to the learned writer’s opinion, to each his (or her) own, some pertinent facts are “gloriously” wrong. Shaukat’s wife is not “Gloria Cohen” but “Rukhsana” and unlike the mythical “Gloria Cohen”, an invention of a really imaginative mind, Rukhsana is anything but a businessperson. Daughter of one of our finest civil servants, SS Iqbal Hussain, now retired, Rukhsana is a fine, upright person who is a low-key personality without any ego whatsoever, the perfect example of what a Pakistani housewife should be like. What to talk of Shaukat, all of Shaukat’s friends are proud of the exemplary manner she conducts herself. I think we owe it to our readers to at least get our record straight.
IKRAM SEHGAL, Karachi, via e-mail, July1.
Now tell me did the Prime Minister summon the editor of this newspaper to his office, and effectively warn him to lay off like the suspended CJ did over stories running about his son?
^ interesting.
when i said 'commenting on a court decision is a different matter', i meant that it's different from slander or dissemination of inaccurate/libellous information. i didn't mean that judges should be given special treatment in this regard.
i still believe that, wherever possible, more people should come forward and use courts to file libel suits if they feel they have been wrongfully maligned. this may lead to a few apologies (or counter libel suits) in the beginning, but eventually it will lead to more responsible reporting.
PS- I'm not supporting anything which constitutes 'intimidation' by the judges.
Geo News has been ordered to apologize each day for the next few days for running a report showing a High court official taking bribes. Ministers and MNA's, are accused, sometimes rightly, sometimes wrongly of taking bribes by the free media of Pakistan. Believe me if each of them started registering libel cases they would be accused of trying to muzzle the media. This CJ summoned the owner/editor of Geo to his chamber after which he was forced to apologize - that I think is unprecedented.
Amorphous bhai, as you can see in this discussion thread people are posting news articles quite strongly questioning the suspension of the CJ and coming up with various theories critical of the govt. Other articles will support the action. Some of what is posted is lies, and some of it is truth, but it is a demonstration of a free press in Pakistan. Kudos to Musharraf for giving us that. Now why is it that the CJSC and some superior judges could not tolerate stories about their families or corruption in the judiciary?
The superior judges are pretty oblivious to complaints registered against them.
23 complaints pending with SJC for years
Ahead of Presidential reference against the Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, there are in the queue 23 complaints pending for a hearing with the Supreme Judicial Council against several other judges but no action has so far been taken, The Nation has learnt.** These complaints include serious charges against several senior judges of the High Courts, the sources revealed to The Nation. One sixth of these complaints are against one individual judge. Some of these complaints, which range from corruption to misconduct, are pending adjudication for the last several years. **
Habib Wahab-ul-Khairi, a senior lawyer and one of the complainants, said the fate of complaints filed before the presidential reference, must be adjudicated ahead of the charges against Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry. “If there is any justice, we must get it ahead of Pervez Musharraf or any other complainant because we have been waiting for a hearing for the last many years,” Khairi, who was the mover of famous Al-Jihad Case, demanded. The Al-Jihad case had set the principle that the senior most judge would be the Chief Justice if the office falls vacant. “If a Supreme Judicial Council meeting can be summoned within days after receiving complaint against one judge, why the others are getting the advantage of inordinate delay, Khairi said.“The Acting Chief Justice should also ensure that no such judge should be included in the Supreme Judicial Council, who himself stands accused of any wrongdoing,” Khairi demanded. Another senior apex court lawyer, Hafiz Abdul Rehman Ansari is also among the list of complainants in the Supreme Judicial Council with his grievance against a judge. Munir A Malik, President Supreme Court Bar Association, (SCBA) also confirmed that there are a number of complaints against some judges pending with the Supreme Judicial Council for the last many years. Under the rules of procedure, the fate of these grievances must be decided prior to that which is targeting Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhamad Chaudhry, he added.
Spock bhai,
Do you really believe that CJ Iftikhar's elimination has nothing to do with his judgments against PSM sale and the pending cases that could embarass Musharraf?
JB, I dont know but what I do know is that its really funny how the same people who were badmouthing Musharraf for not taking action against the CJ because he used his influence to get his son to this position, are now the ones creating this outcry, I just find it hypocritical and funny.
silly billy
but who is responsible for reviewing the 23 cases against the judges and taking action?
you know what! I say musharraf should assume the title of CJ himself! i never liked these CJs anyways! ok i see a kehkashan/trd lecture coming my way!
Under the rules of procedure, the fate of these grievances must be decided prior to that which is targeting Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhamad Chaudhry, he added
The above is taken from the report posted by Billy. Interesting that Musharraf deems it necessary to urgently take action on complaint number 24 when 23 others are left alone.
Another factor is that Justice Javed Iqbal will be hearing the complaint and he has a vested interest to rule Justice Iftikhar guilty because if not Justice Iqbal loses his position and has to retire!
Any chance of a fair hearing when the judge's career depends on finding you guilty?
Reading some of the posts here you have to be amazed that some people think Musharraf is more important than Pakistan. Hence he should be given free rein to do whatever he want to. Yes he has done a lot of good for Pakistan especially in the economic field, that how ever does not give him the right to destroy institutions and act like a moron at times. The saying that power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely applies to him.
This case reminds me of the famous attack on SC by Nawaz. his supporters came out with exactly the same sort of arguments to support a totally wrong act. Have we gone so blind in our personality worship that we are prepared to accept wrongdoings by people we support. I still think Musharraf is one of the best rulers we have had, however he is wrong in what he did here and he should be held accountable for this. Shame on him.
Well said Ehsan bhai :k:
everybody is a constitutional expert all of a sudden. people....sheep....whatever! listen!
pakis have a DICTATOR
dictator means ONE WHO DICTATES
he can do WHATEVER he pleases
what justice law and other bullyshyty you people are talking about?
I still think Musharraf is one of the best rulers we have had, however he is wrong in what he did here and he should be held accountable for this. Shame on him.
I agree 100%
Reading some of the posts here you have to be amazed that some people think Musharraf is more important than Pakistan. Hence he should be given free rein to do whatever he want to. Yes he has done a lot of good for Pakistan especially in the economic field, that how ever does not give him the right to destroy institutions and act like a moron at times. The saying that power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely applies to him.
This case reminds me of the famous attack on SC by Nawaz. his supporters came out with exactly the same sort of arguments to support a totally wrong act. Have we gone so blind in our personality worship that we are prepared to accept wrongdoings by people we support. I still think Musharraf is one of the best rulers we have had, however he is wrong in what he did here and he should be held accountable for this. Shame on him.
But according to the constitution it is the president (ak Musharraf) who is boss of the Chief Justice, and it is he who has the power to suspend him. How is he wrong exactly?