Pakistan's top judge is suspended (Merged)

Re: Pakistan's top judge is suspended

Well, Musharraf good governess and hard work is making the country progress and that progress is paying me. During Musharraf rule, I made a lot in Karachi Stock Exchange and other investments.

In the past ganja choor Nawaz Shareef, baigairat choor BaiNazeer and her dallal choor Zardari have looted every institutions of Pakistan, causing me to lose millions.

So, you can say that I am grateful to Musharraf for his good governance, reduced corruption and progress that he brought to Pakistan (that has paid me abundantly).

If you think that appreciating good work of someone for the country (like what Musharraf is doing) means to be on their payroll than it is OK with me. Consider that I am getting paid as I really got paid abundantly by all progress made in Pakistan (the value of my shares in KSE that I had when Musharraf came to power in 1999, is now around 20 times more in 2007)

Nevertheless, for me, I believe that those that appreciate choors like BB, Nawaz and Zardari, they are choors too. Actually, I have first hand information that BB and his party (Peo Pilao Party) pays for people to write good about them in media and ganja Nawaz may be doing the same. Who knows, you might be one of them on the payrolls of those choors.

The shares that I bought in 1993, during BB rule, was worth less than a fifth the price I paid in British pounds by 1999 when Musharraf came to power. Now I recovered all my losses and made a bit profit too. Isn’t that a good payment by Musharraf? :D

But then, money is not everything. Most important is that, what is happening in the country and how country is progressing. That gives a person satisfaction that money cannot buy.

Reminds me of Sajjad Ali Shah affair. In my opinion, Shah in his last days as CJ, was acting more like a political/social (not judicial)activist than a judge. But what govt. mobsters did to the apex court was condemnable to say the least. Similarly, this CJ might have been guilty of misconduct and even corruption (no allegation has been proven yet), but the way he was removed from office leaves many painful questions unanswered.

In any case, it was a sad day.

Re: Pakistan’s top judge is suspended

A Lahore High Court full bench on Friday directed Geo TV chairman Mir Shakil-ur-Rehman to repeatedly telecast an apologise on the TV besides publishing it on front pages of the dailies Jang and The News till the next hearing on March 12. The bench consisting of Justice Sayed Zahid Hussain, Justice Asif Saeed Khan Khosa, Justice MA Shahid Siddiqui, Justice Syed Shabbar Raza Rizvi and Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed issued the directive during the contempt of court proceedings against the channel for telecasting a programme, which according to the court, was an attempt to lower the dignity of courts. Mr Rehman told the court that the information regarding courts shown in the programme was incorrect. The court observed that the information should have been verified before being telecast. The bench told him to be careful in the future. The court ordered the channel to start telecasting the apology from Friday. It observed that apology should be published at a prominent place on front pages of dailies Jang and The News. The court exempted Mr Rehman from personal appearance but refused to exempt his son Mir Ibrahim from the same

http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp...0-3-2007_pg1_7

Geo News, ARY, other broadcast and print media day in day castigate Musharraf, the military, the government and ministers - which was never even heard (at least on tv) under our previous civilian or other rulers. But you never see Musharraf, the military, the government and it’s ministers demand repeated apologies from them for lowering the dignity or whatever.

What are some our superior judges playing at? Can they not withstand any criticism, whether valid or not?

Silly Billy bhai, Mr Rehman accepted 'that the information regarding courts shown in the programme was incorrect'.

How can one fault the judges in this case?

Amorphous bhai, even if the information was incorrect would a simple apology not be sufficient? Why the need to demand a repeated apology to be broadcast for the next few days? Do you believe that people on Geo News, Ary, Nation, Dawn etc do not broadcast or print incorrect stuff about Musharraf, the military, the govt and its ministers every day? Have you seen any examples of them demand that these media outlets broadcast or print apologies for days on end? Remember when the Nation/Nawai-i-Waqt went around printing that PM Shaukat Aziz had a powerful Jewish-American wife? Did the PM demand that they print an apology for days and retract that pack of lies?

Are our superior judges (or at least some of them) more important than the President, Prime Minister, Ministers, Generals, opposition leaders etc for whom lies as well truths are told by the media every day?

Two things:

1. I had read Naeem Bokhari letter only a couple of days ago. Looking at the events of today, he practically sounds like a prophet.

2. The whole contempt of court rules in Pakistan were initiated by British as part of their efforts to stop the low-class desi population from criticizing the upright and oh-so-competent gora judges. I think enough time has passed since our independence that these stale "contempt of court" rules should be thrown out and replaced by a free press monitoring itself. If judges make stupid decisions, it should be the right of every citizen and every journalist to call the judges out and criticize them. For far too long our judges have protected themselves on this high pedestal. About time they come down to earth and earn their respect through their conduct ad not because of outdated rules. In US, for example, Supreme Court justices are regular fodder for late night comedians. They earn their respect through their conduct and decisions.

fair enough. rules should be same for everyone.

had the PM and a few other victims filed libel suits in courts against the slanderers (like Aitzaz Ahsan did against Sheikh Rasheed?), we might have seen greater transparency from the press which monitors everyone except itself. i mean there should be greater transparency from a medium which can reach millions of people everyday. anyhow, i can understand why the govt./opposition or any other institution may at times find it impossible to prove anything against their slanderers in courts.

i cannot really comment on this particular program as i don't know what kind of wrong information was given, how many times this program was broadcast etc etc. moreover this decision may have nothing to do with what happened in islamabad.

nevertheless criticizing a decision made by a court is a differet matter. i personally think that people should be able to comment on or criticize the decisions made by the courts/judges in a civilized manner.

Let's try to get back to the main issue. Whether the CJ was good or bad can be debated when all the facts come to light, but one thing is for sure, that this was an illegal act according to the law by the dictator. The legislative branch was already doing its job as rubber stampers for Musharraf and so was the executive branch with Shaukat Aziz as head lota. This was after Jamali was shown the door in order to convey to the next guy, who really is boss. The only institution left that had some level of independence and even dared go against Musharraf was the judiciary and now the dictator has shown who is boss again. No doubt the next guy in line for CJ will now know his place in the rubber stamping business.

It's a good day for the army lotas and those living of the table scraps from the army. It's a bad day for Pakistan and even the small glimmer of hope we had of independent democratic institutions.

Just to save Spock the trouble of replying, let me add this is obviously all "Altaf and MQMs fault".

:mudhosh:

what you call to musharaff
wasn't he currupt and illegal and misusing his powers of army chief to become president
do you have any justification for that
why you people have double standard

typical, you just don’t know what you are talking about

The Navy chief was picked up as his was Zardari’s man, then after a lot of noise and a cursory payment, let go to enjoy his billions.

You have yet to mention any Army Generals as you mentioned.

It is obvious you are a child who does not know what he is talking about

can any body tell me
is it possible for the counsil to freely judge the case

wouldn't there be pressure on them like this

judge being killed in Quetta or peshawar (sorry i forgot city)
almost killed so far my knowledge is in multan
judges being judged by musharraf and declaring the statement that i feel him guilty
will there not be any pressure on commety or counsil of being kidnapped by army , bombed like the other two judges by pak army and given name to mullahs etc
and giving statement against the will of mushraf , kicked by mushraf

won't this pressure will be upon them
seening all these pressure do you think that they will do justice

:rotfl: Ehsan, as you will have noticed you will have to deal with a lot of little kid’s who just don’t know what they are talking aout

No double standard Mr Shahid. Musharaf came to power because of all the corruption of Nwaz and Benazir. If you're trying to stop corruption, how does this mean you're corrupt? That's why I asked about the houses. and like he said in his speech at the UN, he will only have 1 house by the time he leaves power.

He came to power as a direct result of saving himself. not to save the country as you may like us to believe. Nobody believes your BS anyways.

How the hell do you think anybody will have any idea how many houses he has? How many do Chaudry Shujaat, Nawaz Sharif, etc own?

The goonda tactic’s of the dictator set Pakistan back in time

The lead article in Dawn:

CJ suspended, escorted home: • Justice Iftikhar summoned by SJC on 13th for reference hearing • Ex-judges call it a blow to judiciary’s independence; minister defends decision • Whither judicial activism?

The president’s orders came in the afternoon, and within minutes took the country by storm. Many in the legal fraternity were shocked by the way the country’s top adjudicator had been treated. Among them was the President of the Supreme Court Bar Association, Munir A. Malik, who described it as a ‘blatant attack on the independence of the judiciary’, and former chief justice Saeeduzzaman Siddiqui.

Still, a few thought it was bound to happen as, according to them, the chief justice’s style of judicial activism, and his personal conduct on some issues, was a bit too unsettling for the government. The most vocal defender of the move was the minister of state for information, who said the president had no choice but to take action after serious allegations of misconduct and misuse of authority had been levelled against the chief justice.

But as the debate continued to rage, with private televisions having a field day in covering the story, most legal and constitutional experts were of the view that the move was likely to create a new crisis rather than resolving it.

Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry’s reaction was not known as since his “suspension” or being made “non-functional” he had remained incommunicado. After his meeting with President Musharraf, he remained inside the President camp office for a few hours, and was later prevented from going to the Supreme Court by the security officials. Informed sources told Dawn that when late in the afternoon Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry was returning from the President’s camp office he tried to go to the apex court, but a strong police posse chased his car which was blocked near Serena hotel. In the meantime senior superintendent of police Tariq Yasin rushed to the spot, and escorted the chief justice to his official residence. The security outside his residence had already been increased, and it was not possible to even contact him on telephone.

Although the events during the day had moved at a fast pace, the action against the chief justice was not entirely unexpected. Stories about favours given to his son had already been taking rounds, and his desire to remain in the news through his court decision was becoming a source of annoyance for some in the government. But it was most his judicial activism, which on the one hand had made him popular in the eyes of ordinary people seeking justice but on the other had also irked a few in the establishment. Some of his decisions had started to appear like an open challenge to the government, and in recent weeks cases of missing persons had been a cause of embarrassment for a few in high places.

Full article: http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/10/top1.htm

This is really mindless bull. What Nawaz Sharif did was to melt away the government institutions such as judicary, armed forces, even media was more tightly governmentally controlled. He owned whole groups of industries, and paid $1000 tax for them. How many industries does Musharaf own? He came to power, as a result of the Army overthrowing a corrupt civilian leadership. He cannot have overthrown Nawaz sharif without the help of the other Army Generals.

How the hell do you think anybody will have any idea how many houses he has? How many do Chaudry Shujaat, Nawaz Sharif, etc own?

In the same way we know Benazir Bhutto has Swiss Bank accounts, a mansion in Surrey, Nawaz Sharif owned whole industires. these things do come out, and there's no shortage of reporters willing to find these sorts of things out.

How many houses did Zia have? how many bank accts did Ayub have? If you think reportes in Pakistan are free to enter Army bases and investigate, you just don’t know what yoru talking about.

As many people have pointed put to you, you don’t know what your talking about.

You will continue with your BS claiming Mush is squeaky clean saviour while us in Pakistan see the truth of his goonda behaviour and govt corruption.

Enjoy our fantasy world :rolleyes:

^^That’s a very solid point by point rebuttal. I’m sure you convinced a lot of people by that.

:clown:

The rational and objective condem the dictator’s unprecedented attack

http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/10/top3.htm

An unprecedented occurrence

KARACHI/ISLAMABAD, March 9: Former chief justices of the Supreme Court, senior lawyers and human rights activists have criticised President Gen Musharraf’s decision to suspend Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry on the charge of misuse of authority.

Former chief justice Sajjad Ali Shah, who was unceremoniously removed during the Nawaz Sharif government, termed it ‘an unprecedented occurrence’. “This has created immense insecurity amongst other judges and is another step towards the ruination of an institution. A chief justice has never been sent to the Supreme Judicial Council, but other judges have been tried and action has been taken against them,” he said.

Justice Sajjad Ali Shah observed that the Chief Justice cannot be removed, suspended or made ‘non-functional’ under Article 209 of the Constitution in its present form.He said under the relevant Article, the Chief Justice has to head the Supreme Judicial Council with two next senior most judges of the apex court and two senior most Chief Justices of the High Courts as its members. He said under Article 209 (3), if the inquiry is against a judge of the Supreme Court, the judge of the court next to him in seniority, and if such member is the Chief Justice of a High Court, the Chief Justice of another High Court next in seniority amongst the Chief Justices of the remaining High Courts shall act as a member of the Council in his place.

He said the Constitution was silent on what to do in case the complaint was against Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

He said there was an ambiguity in the law and it was open to interpretation. He said it was the job of the lawmakers to spot a mistake and rectify it.

He said the judge against whom a complaint is being considered by the Supreme Judicial Council, stops discharging his duties till the disposal of the case. He, however, said the orders for suspension or making a judge non-functional cannot be issued by the president. "This is against the principle of trichotomy of powers. He said all the organs of the state must function within their own scope and there should be no overlapping, interference or domination.

Justice (retd) Sajjad Ali Shah accused the government of weakening the judiciary and stressed that the judiciary must assert itself at this point of time. “The constitution and the constitutional institutions cannot function in the absence of the judiciary,” he remarked.

He was of the view that the action against the chief justice had a nexus with the upcoming polls. He said the president wanted to be elected again by the existing assemblies, and there were speculations that elections might be postponed for one year. He said important cases were being heard by the larger bench headed by the chief justice, which also included the one pertaining to enforced disappearances.

He said the government wanted to create an impression that democracy had failed to deliver and only the army can save Pakistan from total disaster. “My fear is that chaos will grip the country and the government will come up with a new constitution.”

In reply to a question, he said the bold decisions in the Steel Mills and the kite-flying cases may have prompted the action against the chief justice.

Sajjad Ali Shah said the action against Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry was different from his (Sajjad’s) removal as chief justice. He said in his case the judges and the government had joined hands in a conspiracy to unconstitutionally remove him from office.

In reply to another question, he said even after suspending Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry, Justice Baghwan Das, who was the senior most judge of the court after him, should have been appointed the acting chief justice. He said `India is not far away. It takes just 25 minutes to reach Lahore from New Delhi," he remarked.

Former chief justice Saiduzzaman Siddiqui, who ceased to hold office after his refusal to take a fresh oath in Jan 2001, said that under Article 209 of the Constitution, the president does not have the powers to remove any superior court judge except on the recommendations of the Supreme Judicial Council.

He said only the president was empowered to make a reference against a chief justice or judge of superior courts if he is incapable of properly performing the duties of his office or was guilty of misconduct. But before taking any action, he must wait for the outcome of the inquiry to be conducted by the SJC. If the SJC rejects the reference, the judge would continue to hold office.

Justice Wajihuddin Ahmed, who also stood retired in 2001 following his refusal to take oath, said the government action was illegal, unconstitutional and unethical. It would lower the country’s prestige. He said there was no vacancy in the office of chief justice and no acting chief justice could have been appointed.

If at all an acting CJ had to be appointed, the senior-most judge, Justice Rana Bhagwandas, should have been given oath. He is on a visit to India and could have been recalled on short notice

Nasir Aslam Zahid, a former chief justice of Sindh who was relegated to the Federal Shariat court during Benazir Bhutto’s second tenure, supported Sajjad Ali Shah’s condemnation. “This is a highly retrogressive step and is more serious than the PCO. It opens up actions against any judge. If someone does not agree with the president, he can just be accused of misconduct or something and removed," he says.

Mr Zahid said that the power of removal can only be exercised after the preparation of a report. “My understanding of Article 209 is that action can only be taken after the necessary proceedings have been completed and the report has been submitted by the SJC to the President.”

He also said there is "no provision for suspension of any judge’.

But the retired judge is cognisant of the fact that the government may be armed with a counter argument. “They can say that a power to pass a final order includes a power to pass an interim order.”

However, former chief justice Saeed-uz-Zaman Siddiqui played it fairly safe with milder comments. “It is not good for the judiciary and its reputation has been greatly affected. But the president has the right to take such an action and whether it is right or wrong, can only be determined when the report is presented by the SJC.”

Mr Zaman also said that the SJC comprises the chief justice, two senior-most judges from the Supreme Court and two senior-most judges from the high courts.

Abid Hassan Minto, a prominent senior lawyer, feels that Iftikhar Chaudhry’s suspension may have come about because some of his decisions were viewed as acts of dissension. “He was involved in some judicial activism and it is said that the government was allergic to him and his actions were being perceived as anti-government. This move has created several questions and is controversial,” says Minto.

I.A Rehman, a leading human rights activist, also criticised President Musharraf’s decision. “In a country where such a thing happens, it is a symptom of something very rotten in the state structure. The state is faced with such utter collapse of everything valuable and the cancer eating into the vitals of a democratic state has reached a very dangerous stage,” says an irate Rehman.

“Sajjad Ali Shah was undone by his own colleagues. The state has been corrupting the judiciary for a very long time,” he continues.

Asma Jehangir, chairperson of the Human Rights Commission of Pakistan (HRCP), seconded Mr Rehman’s opinion. “The removal of the Chief Justice of Pakistan is a bitter blow to the independence of the judiciary. There were rumours that the government wanted to remove him.”

“Such a dismissal can only be acted upon after the Supreme Judicial Council decides on merit against an accused judge. The speed with which the Chief Justice of Pakistan has been removed shows that the executive is nervous of an already tame judiciary.”

An official statement issued by HRCP doubts that Iftikhar Chaudhry’s removal was prompted by any misuse of authority "as such judicial practices are fully tolerated, if not encouraged by the Executive. The process adopted is also illegal and irregular. A reference by itself cannot grant the Executive the powers to dismiss a judge of the superior courts.

“It is significant that the Chief Justice of the Sindh High Court was flown to the capital in haste and in a chartered plane to secure a prompt decision from the Supreme Judicial Council."