Pakistan's top judge is suspended (Merged)

Re: Pakistan’s top judge is suspended

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=240318&highlight=disappeared+relatives+police+beating

Re: Pakistan's top judge is suspended

Looks like some fat kid with his pants down to me. probably was causing a disturbance. Probably was TheRealDeal with his agenda.

LMAO! now i was not expecting this :omg:

LOL ok that was funny! hahaha :D :D :D

This thread should be a reminder on how low the army apologists can go in order to protect their paycheck.

How anyone can find something to laugh about the picture of police assault on that boy is beyond me. What makes it worse is that this boy was protesting the fascist policies of the government that has led to hundreds of disappearances, torture incidents and deaths of those involved. If they were terrorists, they could have easily been bought up in front of the anti-terrorism courts.

This is how far we have come. :bummer:

This the most serious charge against this Chief Justice. Who is he to summon a leading newspaper editor to his offices to effectively warn him to stop printing stories about his son? Worse is that he cajoles the Supreme Court into coming to the defence of his son.

I don't really think any so-called corruption or nepotism is as serious as the the intimidatory behaviour of this man. It's all a pity, as he was such a promising justice, but power seems to have gone to his head.

Actually, now I think Pakistan has never been safer. They’re finally cracking down on these nuts walking the streets in Pakistan. It’s a country in transition. I don’t feel in the slightest bit threatened when I go there, but I do feel safer knowing the Army are cracking down on the nutjobs.

This should at least be investigated

As I said it's all a pity, because I liked the man. He took the government to task on quite a few issues, which he deserves credit for, but it seems that like so many Pakistani's leaders power seems to have gone to his head. I pray that the allegations are proven to be false, and that his name is cleared. But it is a bit unsettling that he had no answers to the allegations that he was intimidating/threatening newspaper editors and his fellow judges.

Should we assume the other Chaudries in Musharraf's cabinet will also soon meet the same fate?

Is Chaudhury Iftikhar related to them?

And what about the countless threads that show how MQM/King Kong/Altaf Bhai's pithooz would just about malign the molvis and mollahs even if a cow in some 'khet' farts. And that picture has nothing to do with the CJs suspension. Btw, werent you and TRD and some other whiners crying about how this CJ used his power illegally (thanks to Musharraf) to appoint his son at a high position? Ab kya ho gya hai, lota flip kar gya hai kya?

I know Corruption has penetrated in all forms and in all parts of our society. Still, for a Chief Justice of the supreme court to do the petty things he is accused of doing, he does not deserve to be in that post. He should have protected and maintained the integrity of that office.

Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry was appointed in 2005 and was due to retire at the end of 2013. In the past chief justice could have done anything and if government would have found any wrong by the chief justice, worse they would have done was to keep quite or blackmail that CJ to do what government would like. No CJ in Pakistan was ever sent for enquiries on their wrong doings.

Well, this CJ was keeping the government side happy as the letter from Naeem Bukhari wrote. One can see his behaviour when dealing with Sharifuddin Pirzada (Government attorney and spokesman).

From Naeem Bukhari letter:

My Lord, the dignity of lawyers is consistently being violated by you. We are treated harshly, rudely, brusquely and nastily. We are not heard. We are not allowed to present our case. There is little scope for advocacy. The words used in the Bar Room for Court No. 1 are “the slaughter house”. We are cowed down by aggression from the Bench, led by you. All we receive from you is arrogance, aggression and belligerence. You also throw away the file, while contemptuously announcing: “This is dismissed”. Yet this aggression is not for everyone. When Mr. Sharifuddin Pirzada appears, your Lordship’s demeanour and appearance is not just sugar and honey. You are obsequious to the point of meekness. So apart from violating our dignity, which the Constitution commands to be inviolable, we suffer discrimination in your Court.
Musharraf step shows that when Musharraf found CJ wrong doings, Musharraf did not stayed quite nor showed any interest in blackmailing CJ to do anything he likes, rather Musharraf did what was constitutionally right. What Musharraf did was that when complain on CJ wrongdoings came, he asked CJ to defend himself and when CJ could not, he suspended CJ and send his information for investigations (a very cool, decent, and appropriate step to take).

I am sure that Chief Justice could never have thought that his wrongdoings would be questioned by anyone, as in Pakistan (well, most third world countries), people in power consider themselves Kings of the country and Laws does not apply to them. Normally Chief Justice thinks that he is Emperor and that such fate can never fall on him that he would be asked about his wrongdoings by anyone or could get suspended and his name going for investigation.

That the reasons most news reporters and people in Pakistan when thinking about CJ wrongdoings could not see that what he was doing regarding his behaviour, misuse of power and regarding his son were deeply wrong thing to do (especially in position where he should have been example and these wrongs are vary serious). So, these ignorant Pakistanis are linking CJ suspension and enquiry with ridiculous things, like any decision CJ may have made in distance past against government.

Nevertheless, what happened is also a big signal to people in government; that includes people in power, that if they would do any corruption or wrongdoings, they could find themselves in similar fate as what met by Chief Justice. I am sure that what happened with CJ on his wrongdoings must have started making government officials (bureaucrats) and ministers sweat, as they might have realised that plate under them could get too hot to handle if they abuse power, do nepotism, involve in corruption or do any thing wrong. [Actually, to an extend, politician and GS of PML(Q) Imtiaz Shaikh met similar fate because of corruption]

This event must have sent chill amongst judges and others in judiciary that regularly abuse power, do nepotism, and get involved in corruption. Even people in law enforcement agencies (police, customs, etc) must be feeling worried.

Note: What Chief Justice was accused of doing and what he did, that at all level is done by many people in Pakistan power echelon without thinking that anyone would question them. That is the reason some believe that what CJ did was nothing that big however wrong and disgusting.

Nevertheless, what Chief Justice was doing in that position was wrong and if Musharraf is sincere to take Pakistan to great heights, to act against CJ was absolute necessary. Certainly Musharraf could have used the report of CJ misuse of power for getting CJ do whatever he likes, but he did not.

It seems that Musharraf is not interested in abusing judiciary and is truly sincere and slowly changing things in Pakistan towards making Pakistan a better place, free of corruption, nepotism, and power misuse. Well, it was Musharraf government that appointed this CJ and could have sacked him without going through enquiry, but the step he took was most appropriate (not like NS, BB, ZIa, Bhutto, Yahya, Ayub that if they did not liked a face, they would have loved to sack that person without enquiry or reason).

I always thought that atleast judiciary is free in Pakistan,but this act might deny that too..

your thought was :Dwrong buddy

Pak Army Zinda Abad

are you on Pak Army`s payroll?

Damm

Yarr Just remember one thing

nothing is what it seems
so dont just close your eyes yet-----wait and see buddy:blush:

Interesting point. Or there could have been intimidation from other quarters using Jang group as the medium?

http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\03\10\story_10-3-2007_pg1_7

On the point of corruption perhaps.

Spock, I never have said before or now whether the ex-CJ was corrupt or not. I don't know. I'm talking about making light of the plight of Pakistani citizens at the hands of our government. That too me is sickening and shows how far up the army's ass some people are sitting.