Re: Pakistan's top judge is suspended (Merged)
Guys,
Just listen to Wasi Zafar's language. What type of government puts such a man as law minister? That too after his repeated encounters with the law!
Guys,
Just listen to Wasi Zafar's language. What type of government puts such a man as law minister? That too after his repeated encounters with the law!
Guys,
I heard about that too, where can we listen to it?
edit
nm, didnt see ur post above, thanks viewing now...
Who to listen to? Legal experts or Team Army comprising of roadrunner and Saleem...
I say we outsource to Altaf Bhai!
Lets get rid of supreme court, rather lets get rid of all the corts, as well as parliament. President HAS all the authority, no need for these symbolic institutions.
There should be a high authority in Pakistan...Otherwise looters like this CJ can leave no stone unturned to destroy Pakistan....Musharraf should not leave this issue in limbo & should punish this man as hard as he can...I can't believe it you can put your own son in civil services where he failed the exam by only taking 16% of the marks...
Mr. Fraudia:
ppl get knocled off in every country for dickin around with national security,
Do you have examples? or just claims?
Saad:
Musharraf should not leave this issue in limbo & should punish this man as hard as he can
Before "punishment", there is something called a fair trial.
With people fuming against CJ like our friend here, I don't see enough chance for CJ to get a fair trial.
This is the difference between a third world country and a developed country.
Iconoclast:
Before "punishment", there is something called a fair trial.
With people fuming against CJ like our friend here, I don't see enough chance for CJ to get a fair trial.
This is the difference between a third world country and a developed country.
He would get a fair trial ,don't worry about it...But who is going to tell those who are throwing bricks at Police on the streets of Lahore & Islamabad...who have been hired by this CJ to create anarchy in the country...All this group should be dealt under some terrorist law..
Re: Pakistan’s top judge is suspended (Merged)
Pakistan panel quizzes top judge
**Pakistan’s top judge has appeared before a closed hearing of senior judges investigating allegations that he misused his authority. **
President Pervez Musharraf suspended Supreme Court Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammed Chaudhry on Friday.
Lawyers have boycotted courts across Pakistan in protest against what they say is an unlawful suspension.
The judge is noted for his firm line on government misdeeds and human rights abuses in the country.
The panel of judges, the Supreme Judicial Council, has ordered the media not to try to report or comment on the hearing against Mr Chaudhry, Information Minister Mohammed Ali Durrani told the BBC’s Urdu service on Tuesday.
The day’s proceedings began in confusion when Mr Chaudhry refused to take the official car sent to take him to the hearing at the Supreme Court but started walking there.
He was stopped by police and taken to another official building before being forced into a car and taken to the court buildings.
Some 200 lawyers supporting Mr Chaudhry managed to reach the Supreme Court despite tight security, chanting slogans against the president such as “Go Musharraf, go.”
The chief justice told those outside the court that he planned to fight the charges levelled against him.
“They are absolutely useless allegations,” he told an Associated Press reporter as he entered the building. “I am not going to resign.”
The hearing lasted two hours and was adjourned until Friday.
The lawyers are demanding that the hearings be made open to the public. They were later joined by opposition politicians.
Mr Chaudhry has also issued a four-page document to the press denouncing the moves against him.
It says that neither President Musharraf nor the Supreme Judicial Council had the authority to stop him from working. He also said his phones and TV at home had been disconnected and vehicles confiscated.
**Pakistan’s Media Regulatory Authority (Pemra) on Monday reprimanded TV channels for showing live footage of protests by lawyers’ supporting Mr Chaudhry. **
**Two channels, Aaj and Geo, were forced off air for some time. When their signals were restored, they did not show any of the same footage again. **
Thousands of lawyers took part in Monday’s protests.
Lawyers in Islamabad carried black flags to courthouses, and hundreds more marched in Karachi, Quetta and Lahore, where more than 20 were injured in clashes with police.
**Correspondents say many people believe the chief justice was suspended because he took up cases unpopular with the government. **
**These include investigations into the highly sensitive issue of the disappearance of political activists allegedly detained illegally by the security forces. **
Iftikhar Chaudhry also overturned the recent sale of Pakistan’s state-run steel mills.
The BBC’s Barbara Plett in Islamabad says Monday’s clashes in Lahore reflect growing tension in the country since Gen Musharraf removed the chief justice from his post.
The president had received “numerous complaints and serious allegations for misconduct, misuse of authority and actions prejudicial to the dignity of office of the chief justice of Pakistan”, the state-run Associated Press of Pakistan news agency reported.
Lawyers, opposition parties, human rights activists and some judges have condemned the move as unconstitutional and a blow to the independence of the judiciary.
The government has so far not made public details of the allegations.
Our correspondent says the chief justice had an abrasive style and had earlier been publicly criticised by a lawyer for abusing his authority.
Critics say the president is trying to intimidate the judiciary in an election year. Only a few visitors have been allowed in to see Mr Chaudhry since he was suspended.
He would get a fair trial ,don't worry about it...
You expect people make common citizens "disappear" to provide fair trial to him? You expect fair trial from people who kept him in virtual house-arrest illegally?
Aren't you the one who want Musharraf to "punish" CJ "as hard as he can"? So you already have a verdict on him. Bravo.
Are you living on MARS, or something?
Oh, ok ... UAE. Pretty close.
Yes, it does. And this is why they should have an Urdu/Hindi/simplified version for people like you on the internet. Read it again, slowly this time. If you cannot understand the English, get someone who is qualified at English to explain it to you, not some of these shmucks on the internet. It’s unlikely many of the Pakistani lawyers (and I’ve seen some of them action, or inaction as the case was understand it either). The Constitution is very clear that the president (or rather the Constitution itself) can suspend the Chief Justice pending the results of an inquiry. The relevant section is here.
*180. Acting Chief Justice. At any time when- (a) the office of Chief Justice of Pakistan is vacant; or (b) the Chief Justice of Pakistan is absent or is **unable to perform the functions of his office due to any other cause, the President shall appoint **[163]](http://www.pakistani.org/pakistan/constitution/part7.ch2.notes.html#163) [the most senior of the other Judges of the Supreme Court] to **act **as Chief Justice of Pakistan. *
I’ll take it through slowly. Is the Chief Justice accused of corruption, yes or no. If yes, then is a corrupt Chief Justice able to carry out the functions of his office, yes or no? The answer is no, because he cannot be trusted. Who determines whether there is a corruption charge against the Chief Justice. Article 209 states it is the president himself..if his OPINION is that the Chief Justice might be corrupt he can invoke Article 180 of the Constitution that the Chief Justice is incapable of carrying out the functions of his office because he is corrupt, and appoint a new Chief Justice, pending the results of an inquiry. The important bit is.
"the President shall appoint **[163]](http://www.pakistani.org/pakistan/constitution/part7.ch2.notes.html#163)* [the most senior of the other Judges of the Supreme Court] to **act **as Chief Justice of Pakistan. *
This shows the President appoints the temporary Chief Justice in place of the suspended Chief Justice.
it is up to the Chief Justice now to prove his innocence before the tribunal. Since he did not turn up, it’s clear to me he’s guilty. if that were an innocent person he would turn up to clear his name.
You expect people make common citizens "disappear" to provide fair trial to him? You expect fair trial from people who kept him in virtual house-arrest illegally?
Aren't you the one who want Musharraf to "punish" CJ "as hard as he can"? So you already have a verdict on him. Bravo.
Are you living on MARS, or something? Oh, ok ... UAE. Pretty close.
Yes trial & then punishment according to the CJ's misdeeds..
Fraudia, civilized behaviour should start from the top.
Thats a pathetic excuse on behalf of a nation of tax dodgers, power and phone line thiefs, water chor, examination cheaters, and corrupt people. civilized behavior is one's personal responsibility and does not depend on who is in office and how civilized or uncivilized they may be.
Mr. Fraudia:
Do you have examples? or just claims?
would you like to hear about our best pal china or our spiritual guide saudi arabia, or our benefactors UK and USA? maybe you want to hear about our foes like Russia, or countries we have a love hate relationship with like Iran.
google it, plenty of stuff there to read.
I say we outsource to Altaf Bhai!
only think that can be outsourced to that moron is terrorism
Look at Aitizaz Ahsan …PPP’s Ghunda Lawyer hugging his Belittled yaar…
http://news.yahoo.com/photo/070313/481/isl10103131015
http://news.yahoo.com/photo/070313/photos_wl_afp/5417c3a3114570679fd46558febdb63f
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=6496
Law minister couldn’t help abusing on VoA
ISLAMABAD: Federal Law Minister Wasi Zafar repeatedly hurled naked abuse in a live Voice of America (VoA) radio discussion on chief justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry’s deposition, which was heard worldwide on Monday night.
There were three participants in the telephonic discussion — Wasi Zafar, constitutional expert Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan and Ansar Abbasi, Editor Investigations, The News, Islamabad.
Ansar joined the talk a bit late and said he fears to say anything because of Wasi Zafar’s peculiar temperament and track record. As he uttered these remarks, the law minister came in and said whoever gives him a “big arm”, he would do the same to his family.:halo:
As Wasi Zafar heard Ansar joining the programme, he lost his cool and started hurling abuse. He was angered because of a story headlined “Law minister facing long arm of the law” that Ansar had filed and was published in The News on August 13, 2005. It said the prime minister and Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain would decide the fate of the law minister for his son’s thrashing of a PIA passenger in his presence at the Karachi airport.
Earlier in the programme, Aitzaz Ahsan had also threatened to break off due to the foul language of the law minister. But he was persuaded by the host to continue. Ansar regretted the repetition of the abuse by Wasi Zafar and said the world was listening to the kind of language the minister was using.
A caller from Pishin, Naeem Taseer, also wondered what question should be asked from this kind of a minister. Later, Wasi Zafar vehemently denied on Geo that he hurled any abuse on the VoA programme. However, the audio played by the TV network gave a lie to his assertion.![]()
The minister again poured his anger on Ansar, saying he was corrupt and a blackmailer, who gets money for his stories. In the same programme, Ansar said there was a serious problem in the minister’s personality. He said the high-ups should take notice of such buffoons who are bringing a bad name to Pakistan.
The other day, the Jaranwala Bar Association cancelled Wasi Zafar’s basic membership and recommended to the Pakistan Bar Council that his licence should be revoked. Wasi Zafar earned notoriety when he threatened a chairman of the Capital Development Authority, who had refused to give a concession to him regarding an industrial plot. He and his sons had also thrashed a person at the Karachi airport in 2005, who objected to the minister’s sons jumping the queue. Later, he slapped a waiter of a five-star hotel in Islamabad over a trivial matter.
BTW, this is the report that got Wasi sahib angry. Man still keeps grudges.
Hats off to those Musharraf supporters who despite his biggest blunder in 7 years are still supporting him blindly, I am pleased that liberal pakistani media (DAWN and Dailytimes) are criticizing Musharraf and the so called stalwars of PMLQ (lotas) are keeping a distance from musharraf including Shujaat, Mushahid, Shaikh rasheed and Ijaz ul haq which is giving rise to some interesting speculations
this so called badmash is one of the most educated member of parliament and the most sought after lawyer in the country, i wish we can have more badmash like him
this so called ghunda is one of the most educated paliamentarian and one of the most sought after lawyer in the country, I wish we can have more ghundas like him in the assembly
how would you rate wasi zafar??
Hats off to those Musharraf supporters who despite his biggest blunder in 7 years are still supporting him blindly, I am pleased that liberal pakistani media (DAWN and Dailytimes) are criticizing Musharraf and the so called stalwars of PMLQ (lotas) are keeping a distance from musharraf including Shujaat, Mushahid, Shaikh rasheed and Ijaz ul haq which is giving rise to some interesting speculations
It's not a question of blind support. If I see proof Musharraf is corrupt or anyone that he hires, I will call this a blunder. So far I have not seen any evidence for a blunder. Musharraf is CONSTITUTIONALLY OBLIGED to suspend the Chief Just. and call the SJC for an inquiry into his alleged corruption. If he did not do this, he would not be upholding the Pakistani Constitution.
Show me real evidence of a blunder, not imaginary ones. PS The evidence from the Consitution is on the previous page before you ask.