Pakistan's taxing, federation, equality (split from A critical look at the economy)

Re: A critical look at the Pak economy

** All cooked up figures without any source....shame on you..**

So, Pakistan got Rs 483.7 billion to run the country during 1997-2000

For you information the annual income of federal government is 835 billion rupees and not 483.7 billion rupees for three years as you are suggesting...

I totally agree with you...I think free ride on anyone should come to an end...every province should be independent to decide what they want to do...if they want to join federation it should not be out of compulsion...

In Punjab we continue to suffer because our image is also tagged alongwith Pakistan image...while we are almost peaceful in nature...we continue to suffer because of violent incidents which continue to take place in Sindh/Karachi for last 25 years...we lose tourism and business opportunities....our buyers abroad continue to recieve travel advisories...although we have been almost non-violent...we lose business opportunities...

It's high time everyone should be independent....free to choose...their relationship with federation....and not out of compulsion..

Taxation should be an entirely provincial matter....with restriction on free movement of goods like from one country to another....no free ride on each other....Punjab should be allowed to sell wheat to India at Rs 750 per 20kg bag....instead of forced selling at Rs 320 per bag to you....we should control the movement of raw cotton and make it available for industries in our province...and restrict the functioning of Karachi based banks and other businesses (exactly in the manner it happens in USA and Canada) to increase opportunities for our own Punjab based companies...so that our revenue collection should increase...and come in line with our contribution...

Independent provinces are the only solution with the mindset which is prevailing in our country....

Re: Pakistan's taxing, federation, equality (split from A critical look at the econom

'

Why are you taking tax/money distribution as question of federation-member? Why can't we be a federation with provinces being equal? Why is that when a distribution issue is raised against Punjab people take it as question raised against Pakistan?

Re: Pakistan's taxing, federation, equality (split from A critical look at the econom

I think you have to simplify the argument into some basics..here is what I think ( and I choose my words carefully)

1) Yes, Sindh and Karachi do not get a fair share from the NFC. In fact all the provinces do not get a fair share from the NFC..the difference is only on %age of unfairness.

2) I would say Balochistan and FATA get the least from resource distribution.

On the flip side I say

a) No Federal resource distribution system in the world distributes on the basis of either population or revenue. What they usually do is spend over 50% of the total amount in the pool in the provinces (which Pak NFC has never done) and prioritise poverty alleviation as one of the key indocators.

b) Most major cities , New York, Mumbai give more than they receive...difference is taxation is properly defined as local state/provincial and federal. In Pakistan that distinction is missing, which leaves districts and provinces resource starved. According to one estimate in Pakistan provinces only collect 10% of all taxes and provinces less than 2%.

c) One should not discount Federal gov spending, Karachi being the base of Pak navy and airforce also receives significant federal money spend on it. Similarly Punjab while as a province is heavily in debt, it compensates because a large proportion of itss population is employed by the federal govt and benefits.

Agar tum humaray khoon ka akhri katra bhi Pakistan kay nam pe mangoo gay to hasir hay... Hum long buhut nationalist hain...forget about our contribution in GDP...talk about Pakistan...hum sara sacrafice de dai dain gay... Humaray dil buhat baray hain,,, aap trust kar kay to dekhain,,,,hum aap ki bohay reespect kartay hain...aur Pakistan main believe kartay hain....

Aap Pakistan ke baat karain....we ate ready to sacrifice the last drop of our blood... No matter how much we have to sacrifice....

Did you notice that none of non-Punjabi start to talk of importing aata from outside to be independent of Punjab? But you did. No one suggested converting provinces into "countries" but you did.

Good job playing with words. The point is you mentioned that karachi doesn't "own" the port tax it receives on goods [property of Punjab] while your new york example clearly negates that...

Buddy, you don't have to be a haykar punjabi if you are not winning your point! It only leads to break up of the country! :)

Shukr hai at least one punjabi of the anokhi kind admitted it! :smiley:

Yaar, please go and separate from Pakistan!!! :rotfl: PLEASE PLEASE DO!!! Jab gawadar or karachi ka port nahin mille ga free main to phir pochon ga ke saari phanne khani! Why do you think none of two cent lota elite of punjab doesn’t want to separate from Pakistan???

PS Maybe then w/o other ethnicities, Punjab will once again become the “rightful possession” of the Sikhs as many of them still tend to believe! :stuck_out_tongue:

PS Btw, isn’t there restriction of wheat all the time [now and since forever] by Punjab since wheat is a “provincial matter”. Who cares if the rest of Pakistan starves to death???

The hording you mentioned for steep pricing already has happened since Punjab had supposedly a bumper crop this year but where is all now? :smiley:

Let’s recap our discussion we had and move on from here:

Saleem Saheb suggested the collection of revenue by federal government should be the basis of distribution also…which is a very absurd suggestion as it never happens in any country…for example income tax is collected in USA by federal government and is distributed according to the population…to move to this system as suggested by Saleem Sahib taxes must be collected by provinces and not by the federal government.

As I mentioned in my previous post that no province should be compelled to be a part of a particular system adopted by federation and if our brother’s in Sind feel that collection of taxes shold be the basis for distribution…we should change our laws accoordingly and make collection the basis of distribution…but to practically implement this system in Pakistan we have to restrict free movement of Goods from one province to another…and restrict market access from one province to another…in USA it is not required as the collection can be controlled at retail level as the transaction are formal and reported…in a situation prevailing in our country where it is impossible to control tax collection at retail level due to non reporting only way this suggestion can be practically implemented is to control the physical movement of goods and market access…

To give you an example POL sector contributes about 20% of total revenues of the federal government which are all collected in Sindh…in order to ensure the tax contributed by Punjab consumers is also collected in Punjab the only practical way is to physically control the movement of POL products in the country…

This system of major tax collection by provinces does not mean the provinces become indepedent countries…rather it means provinces are fincially more autonomous…

Punjab has no objection to this system as we are 55% of the population contributing 62% of GDP. GDP per capita urban/rural in Punjab is much higher than Sind…so we have nothing to lose if the suggested reforms are carried out with full honesty…ensuring the tax contributed by a particular region is actually collected also in the same region and are used for the development of the same region…

The sentimental talk about we are not chors and you are chors infact demonstrates lack of understanding of the affairs by some posters…who resort to this kind of statements…just to misguide people…

Now this portion of the post is suggesting a step forward and asking us (Punjab) to go independent in a very abusive manner…and not only suggesting that all the provinces become independent but also live like enemies…against previous suggestion of financially autonomous provinces living under same federation…/

Well if this situation ever arises…please be assured…and make no mistake that we are capable of handling our intrests…if ever Sindh tries to economically hamper us by denying port/transit services…we also have the option of not providing transit/storage facility for Sindh share of the water passing through our lands for free…probably we will get port/transit facility from Indian ports but…however this kind of talk and suggestion is highly absurd and will not benefit anyone…

Well your post demonstrates total lack of understanding of these issues...

When goods pass through Karachi port....KPT charges port handling expenses...you can argue these charges are not sufficient and should be increased...to increase the revenue of Karachi local government....and this can be debated in a separate thread...

However to suggest that the taxes collected by federal government at that stage should be retained by city government is like suggesting a highway robbery....and surely will result in break up of the country...

First, you say that it is ok for karachi to charge port tax and then say it is a federal property?

Of course, attitudes like this will lead up to the break up of the country. No wonder it is said that allah hi mulk ko challa raha hai!

You are fond of discussing matters for which you don't have a clue what they mean...port expenses are charged by KPT (Karachi Port Trust) and not federal government,,,while custom duty, sales tax, excise duty, and income tax are charged by federal govrnment...where did I suggest port charges should be given to federal government...port expenses are charged by KPT and should be the income of city government of Karachi...however any suggestion to give federal levies to city government is unresonable...and can not be claimed by city government...the only thing city government can argue is if the port charges sufficient and reasonable or not...

To bring federal taxes under the preview of provincial governments require major structural changes in the system being follwed in Pakistan presently...and Sindh provincial government can only claim the portion actually contributed by Sindh residents...if ever these structural changes take place in Pakistan,,,

Saleem, can you provide your source info? Where did you get all these numbers from? Thanks.

He will not provide you with any links…I already tried but was not able to get any response from him…I brought it to the attention of mods also as it is a clear violation of rules and regulations of the forum, but it seems they are biased when it comes to Saleem bhai’s postings and tend to ignore the rules… anyway let me try…

www.imaginationsofsaleem.mqm.org

Let me try to expalin the matter from official finance ministry and cbr links…

Total federal tax reciepts of the government are Rs 835 billion rupees…

The contribution of indirect taxes in these total reciepts is 69%, and direct taxes is 31%…

http://www.fbr.gov.pk/FRS/2007/May12-2007.pdf

See page 8 of this report…

Indirect taxes are actually consumption taxes…means pay as you consume…and have no relation to where these taxes are collected…but they are linked with GDP share…Punjab being the largest GDP contributor in the country with a higher GDP per capita than Sindh rural/urban…therefore is a major contributor to the indirect taxes…eg. telecommunication sector…when you make a phone call you pay sales tax/excise duty…when you refuel your car you pay indirect taxes on petrol…thus it is irrelevant to discuss where these indirect taxes are actually deposited in the national exchequer…but they are actually contributed by the consumers…according to the GDP percentage…

Now for direct taxes which contribute 31% of the total…the major source of direct taxes is Income tax…and they way it is implemented in Pakistan it has become mostly an indirect tax as well…meaning when you import/export something you pay a fixed amount of income tax…when you make supplies to any govt./private organisation you pay a fixed amount of income tax…irrespective of your actual profit…anyway putting this argument aside the following link shows 48% of income tax is collected in Karachi and 52% is collected elsewhere…

http://www.cbr.gov.pk/YearBook/2001-02/StatisticalTables.htm

Now to assume this income tax is actually contributed by income’s generated in Karachi are highly misleading because…

a) It includes income tax charged on imports/exports which are routed through Karachi…

http://www.fbr.gov.pk/FRS/2007/May12-2007.pdf

See page 17 of the report where a pie graph is given showing the contribution of exports at 5.3%, imports 16.7%, contracts 32.7%, telephone 8%, electricity 3.3%, cash withdrawl 2.2% and all these are actually indirect taxes collected as income tax…again contributed by consumers…linked to GDP…as they consume..

b) Many large scale tax payers who generate incomes all over the country pay their income tax in Karachi…I’ll give you examples of just two companies in order for you to understand the reality…ICI is in three business sectors…polyester-paints-soda ash…all their manufacturing units are in Punjab and 90% of their sales profile is in Punjab…but they pay their income tax in Karachi…Similarly mobilink has more than 60% sales in Punjab…means 60% of their income is generated in Punjab…but they deposit all their income tax in Karachi…

Same is the case with banking companies, finacial services, logistic companies, pharma companies, POL compaies, insurance companies and so on…all these sectors are large scale tax payers with major chunk of tax reciepts as far as income tax is concerned…they deposit all their income tax on incomes generated everywhere in the country…

Any attempt to link distribution of taxes between the provinces to collection…will require major reforms in federal structure of the country…and market access will be reconsidered at that time…Punjab will try to ensure the tax contributed by Punjab consumers, and taxes resulting from incomes generated in Punjab get deposited in Punjab…

Punjab is the manufacturing/consumption base of Pakistan, a major contributor to the GDP and revenue generation in Pakistan…and we are not intrested in your money…but will never give up what is rightfully ours…

http://www.nation.com.pk/daily/june-2006/14/index1.php

BY OUR STAFF REPORTER
LAHORE - Punjab Annual Development Plan for the financial year 2006-07 would be of Rs 100 billion, Chief Minister of Punjab Ch Pervaiz Elahi said in his pre-budget policy address on Tuesday at his secretariat.
He said that the increase in the ADP was phenomenal in the past six years; when it was only Rs 13 billion in the last year of the previous political dispensation in 1999-2000. He maintained that due to the increase in the budgetary allocations, the per capita resource input for a single citizen has swelled from Rs 169 per annum to Rs 1152, registering an increase of 582 per cent over that of 1999-2000.
Dilating upon the impact of policies pursued in various sectors as well the Gross Domestic Product of the province, he stressed that against growth target of 7.9 percent, 9.2 percent was achieved for the year 2004-05, and that GDP growth for Punjab by the end of 2005-06 was estimated at 7.2pc.
According to him, the Punjab GDP was estimated at Rs 2,855 billion, which was almost 59.1 percent of the national GDP. He said that in terms of Punjab contribution to national GDP estimates, the share stood at 59.3 per cent in the services sector, 60.9pc the wholesale and retail sector, 55.2pc in agriculture and 63.9pc in manufacturing.

I think various governements (Zia probably first) tried to undo this establishing dryports in the up country. And that I think did not work. Major imports and exports are still being recorded in Karachi.

Brother, I know that you are not asking for link, but you are asking for source. Anyhow, I did not put any link for what I posted because what I wrote was not ‘Article published anywhere on net’ that I was quoting (as some ignorants might be thinking as they do not understand simple English or even figures) but what I wrote was my own. Now, you tell me that how anyone other than ignorant would ask for a link from someone for someone’s own writing? :slight_smile:

I stopped arguing here on this thread because I realised the intellectual level of argument. Just imagine that there is a person that does not understand simple English, figures, tax year, percentage, GDP, Per capita income, direct and indirect taxes, contribution, collection, or anything worthwhile, still like to argue.

A person that does not even know that when quoting ‘tax collection figures’ one have to quote year of collection, because figures change from year to year, than what one can argue intelligently with such person? It is irony of Pakistan that there are people who like to teach others what they themselves do not understand, and that is the reason that many in Pakistan are misguided :).

Anyhow, you asked for source of information. So source is:
1: Combined Finance and Revenue department Accounts, Government of Pakistan.
2: Planning and Development department, Government of Sindh.

Nevertheless, the figures that I quoted was for 3 financial years, (97-98, 98-99, 99-00) and it was mentioned at ‘National Conference on NFC awards’ held in July 2006, that is fortunately available on NET (as many things are not available on NET). You will find the figures presented by Birohi … on page 3 and 4.

http://sindh.ws/index2.php?option=com_content&do_pdf=1&id=14

Re: Pakistan’s taxing, federation, equality (split from A critical look at the econom

I did not wanted to go into role of Federal government helping Punjab (and to extend NWFP) exploiting Sindh and Balochistan (especially Sindh as Sindh contributes most of Federal government revenue). Still, when some ignorants keep ranting BS all over the forum, I have to post how Federal government is doing that. At least we should know, acknowledge, understand and should fight against this exploitation as not doing that only create grievances amongst people living in province that get exploited.

Here is abstract of lectures in the conference related to NFC award in Pakistan and how Federal government is exploiting Sindh for Punjab. Please read it carefully as it will tell you different types of tax collections in Pakistan, contributions of Sindh to National revenue, as well as distribution mechanism. These figures are for Years from 1997-2000. Today, figures must be different, though exploitation continues.

http://sindh.ws/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=14&Itemid=31
or
http://sindh.ws/index2.php?option=com_content&do_pdf=1&id=14
(same above lecture)

National Conference on NFC Award
Written by Mushtaque Rajpar
Monday, 18 July 2005

Organized by the Participatory Development Initiative and Actionaid Pakistan
Noted Economist and writer Dr. Qaiser Bengali, Former Director Social Policy Development Centre, in his presidential address said just distribution of resources in the federal structure is essential for sustaining a federal structure in Pakistan.

There are two kinds of taxes, one is production based tax and other is consumption based tax. Central Excise duty and General Sales Tax is charged at production level where the goods and products are produced, but such goods and products are not necessarily consumed at the same place of production. For example in the early years of Pakistan, one third production capacity of Pakistan was located in Karachi but products were also sold and consumed in other parts of the country. But tax was collected in Sindh. Thus it required redistribution of revenue collection among the federating units. NFC was aimed at to create such a balance in distribution between and among the federal government and provinces.

Resources distribution under successive National Finance Commission (NFC) Awards, after the separation of East Pakistan, has been done on the sole criteria of Population, which is not seen just formula by other provinces like Balochistan and Sindh.

Smaller provinces keep on demanding the distribution of the resources on multiple criteria that takes into account the ratio of poverty, demography, area, backwardness and revenue collection efforts of provinces.

Giving background the NFC, Dr. Bengali said that 1991 NFC Award had three taxes in the federal divisible pool
• Income Tax (including corporate tax)
• General Sales Tax (GST)
• Central Excise Duty (CED)

Custom Tax remained exclusively with the federal government; it was not component of divisible pool, where three major taxes of the pool were distributed between and among federal government and provinces on this formula

Federal Government 20%
Provincial Governments 80%

[Award was distributed on the sole criteria of population under the very simplistic assumption the larger population consumes more goods.

In 1997 NFC Award federal government included custom duties as another component of divisible pool but changed the formula of distribution between federation and provinces.

Federal Government 63%
Provinces 37%

Under this formula two third of the total resources went to federal government while a meager share left for the provinces. Dr. Bengali said that Federal Government was very claver while including the customs duty in the divisible pool and then increasing its share knowing that with the passage of time custom duties (import duties) would come down (earlier import duties were above 150% and now have come down to 25% finished goods and 5% on parts to be assembled here) resulting its lesser income and Sales Tax is the growing tax, it put greatly in disadvantage position to provinces. Losses from the custom duties were substituted with GST.

On Horizontal distribution of resources (that is among the provinces) Dr. Bengali rejected the distribution of resources solely on the basis of population factor, he said nowhere in a Federal Structure of the government resources are distributed solely on the basis of population, in the neighboring India NFC is distributed on 11 grounds. Whereas our practice does not meet any criteria of equity because consumptions pattern are different, larger population does not necessarily qualify for higher consumption. Therefore a multiple criterion for NFC is urgently needed. He said that after his study of provincial GNP he has come to conclude that there are significant income transfers from Sindh and Balochistan to other provinces specially Punjab. He said Sindh is energy power house of Pakistan, which accounts for more than 40% of revenue share, produces more gas than Balochistan. **Hundreds of thousands of economic immigrants work in Karachi and send their incomes to their respective home provinces; they use social services (Education and health) of Sindh province but transfer their income to their province of origin. **

He disagreed with an earlier presentation claiming Sindh revenue share stands at 65%, Dr. Bengali said that GST and CED are charged at the port of arrival but not all goods are consumed in the province of arrival, goods are transported to other provinces there fore Sindh does have right to collect GST and CED over the goods consumed in other provinces.

Apart of NFC, the non-tax money of the federal government has been distributed disproportionately among the provinces, foreign loans and development allocations were also not made on the bases of equality and fair play.

He urged on the need for further research on these aspects and said that eventually the solution of these issues is the awakening of the people of Sindh, politicization of the people and bringing hundreds of thousands of the people on the roads the way people of Sindh did on issue of Water and against Kalabagh Dam. He said that Iron-Walls of General Head Quarters of Army (GHQ) in Rawalpindi will not listen the voice of researchers and scholars.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Abdul Hayee Baloch, former Senator and President of National Party, Balochistan, high lighted the socio-economic backwardness of his provinces and cried that Balochs still live in the 2oth century, they have not seen even last century. All the talk about the development of mega projects is driven by colonial interests, Gwadar is being developed not for the Baloch people but for the interest of federal government who plans to settle outsiders in order to convert the local Balochs into minority.

Baloch people need hospitals and schools but as they British colonizers laid down the railway tracks for their own needs, not for the interests of local people, similar practices have continued after the independence. He said the national highway being constructed in Balochistan is to facilitate the foreigners to be settled on the Baloch land. Development work has been so weak and ill planed that many roads and bridges have been washed away with the current floods and rains.

Of development funds, Balochistan is starved province; our province does not get even its own share of what we contribute to national exchequer.

Gas was discovered in Balochistan as early as in 1952, but even Quetta, the capital of the province, got the gas in 1980s, more than half of the major cities of the Balochistan are still without facility of gas, while for over 40 years we have supplied gas to Punjab and Sindh.

He demanded that Balochistan’s share in NFC should be increased so that higher allocation can be made for development of the backward areas. He said his party does not accept the NFC Award’s distribution on the basis of population and ratio between provinces and federation government. Other grounds should also be considered while announcing the award such as the poverty, area, revenue collection efforts, and backwardness.

He called for an urgent need of developing small dams in Balochistan as people suffer from drought season. ‘Has there been small dams in the province, we could have stored the current flood water in the small dams for future use’ he added. Hub dam was constructed but more than 70% of its water is supplied to Karachi, Balochistan benefits very little from them. He pointed that there are thousands of acres of virgin land, fit for agricultural cultivation but without water the land lays useless. Development activities in Balochistan have been very slow, such as even construction of the Hub dam took more than 15 years before it was completed. Bolan Medical College took 30 years to be completed. It is lack of interest on the part of the governments in the development sector in our province.

Mr. Baloch further said that lack of water in Balochistan often creates drought like situation, though country’s 40% livestock is reared in Balochistan but low agricultural growth, absence of fresh water is badly affecting the live stock in the province.

Scarcity of water is dragging water table further down, years back villagers could get water through hand pumps down to 50 to 60 feet but water table has gone down so much so that now one finds water below 500 to 600 feet.Senior Journalist Mr. Sabihuddin Gousi, President of Karachi Press Club, in his vocal speech** spoke in historical context of NFC and financial injustice with Sindh. His major points were:**

• British gave the idea of collective welfare in the Indian sub-continent, communication system and eventually in 1937 a constitution of union/federation.
• No Muslim rulers ever came up with such an idea on this part of land.
• During the British rule Sales Tax was a provincial tax but with the creation of Pakistan, under the emergency situation central government, first took away Karachi from Sindh province and then federalized 50% of the sales tax, but promising it for temporarily to overcome the financial deficit.
• Instead of relinquishing powers to provinces, central government imposed one unit and merged all four provinces into one administrative unit to counter weigh the bigger province Bengladesh (then East Pakistan)
• Separate identity of Sindh and other provinces was abolished and four provinces jointly were called West Pakistan.
• Sindh has to face the invasion of refuges from India, lands of Sindh were already given to non-Sindhis during last days of British rule, specially in Sanghar district where British rule was facing resistance movement from the Hurs of Pir Pagara, Punjabis and Bugtis from Balochistan were settled in that area to counter the insurgency of Sindhis.
• When Sukkur Barrage became functional, hundreds of acres of land was given to non-Sindhi settlers who were loyal to British rule over Sindh. Later on when another barrage at Guddu (Jecobabad district) was constructed more lands were given on civil and military bureaucracy.
• When Sindh Assembly refused to vote for ‘One-Unit’ provincial governments were removed, blackmailed and finally M. Ayub Khuhro was brought in to vote in favour of One-Unit.
• For first 25 years, Sindh did not receive just and fair treatment under the federal structure of Pakistan. When East Pakistan broke away and became independent Bangladesh, West Pakistan was named just Pakistan, a new bicameral legislature was established and first National Finance Commission was formed.
• To Sindh’s misfortune, first elected Government of Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto in 1970s instead of giving back 50% GST to provinces, it took away 100% GST and permanently federalized it.
• Nowhere in the world GST is considered as a central tax, everywhere its local/provincial tax.
• After the first award, Military took over under Gen. Zia but during his 11-years long military no serious effort was made for second NFC Award and infact no award was announced.
• Gen. Zia established two NFC Commissions 1979 and 1984, respectively; first commission never met and while second commission failed to reach at any conclusion, the finance minister of Sindh Javed Sultan Japanwala refused to sign an unfavorable award.
• Sindh has been betrayed by the so called nationalists like Mumtaz Bhutto, the ex-chief Minister and care taker chief minister in 1997, when he signed on most unjust NFC Award.
• The last NFC award was announced by an unelected caretaker government which was under no constitutional obligation to do that.

Mr. Sikandar Birohi, Program coordinator and Researcher, in his scholarly presentation with help of charts, told to the participants that the failure to announce over-due NFC Award is breach of constitution, under Constitution Federal Government is bound to announce new NFC every fifth year.

With his deep insight from Sindh’s perspective, Mr. Birohi showed that Sindh contributes highest revenue to Federal treasury but gets back lowest percentage in comparison to other provinces.

Contribution of the Provinces in the Divisible Pool
(Rs in billion)
1997-98 % 1998-99 % 1999-2000 %
Sindh 169 b 67.5 171 b 64.2 189.461 63.7
Punjab 57.63 23% 65.32 24.5 77.912 26.21
NWFP 16.746 6.7% 21.602 8.1 22.046 7.42
Baloch 7.134 2.8% 8.323 3.1 7.800 2.62
(Source: Combined Finance and Revenue Accounts, Government of Pakistan)

Sindh’s share in taxes
Direct Taxes 67.75%
Income Tax 86.40
Wealth Tax 63.21
Capital gain Tax 32.60
Workers Welfare Fund 45.53

Indirect Taxes 68.32%
Customs 83.75%
Sales Tax 62.10
Federal Excise duty 39.40
(Source: Planning and Development Department GOS)

Sindh’s share in natural Resources % of total in Pakistan
Gas 48%
Electricity 39%
Petrol 62%
Coal 31%

Social Indicators in Sindh
• out of every 10 children born dies before his/her first birthday
• 1 out of every 9 children dies before reaching five years.
• Every 20 minutes 1 women dies due to pregnancy and childbirth complications.
• 4 out of 7 children are mal- nourished.
• 3 out of every 5 children are aged 5 to 9 are not in school.
• 4 children drop out of school every 6 minutes.
• 1 in 5 persons does not have access to safe drinking water.
• 1 out 3 persons does not have access to proper sanitation.

Formula of Sharing Revenue between Federation and Provinces
NFC 1990 NFC 1997
Federal share 20:00 62.50
Provincial Share 80.00 37.50
Total 100:00 100:00

Share given to provinces from the Federal Divisible Pool
(NFC based on 1981 population and on 1998 population)
Province 1981 1998
Punjab 57.88 57.38
Sindh 23.28 23.72
NWFP 13.54 13.82
Balochistan 5.30 5.07

Province-wise Contribution in Divisible Pool and Redistribution
1997-98, 1998-99, 1999-2000 Three years combined (Rs in billion)

Province Contribution Received %
Sindh Rs 530 billion Rs 77.38 14.5
[Above figures shows that Sindh contributed Rs 530 billion between 1997-2000 and received only Rs 77.38 billion during 1997-2000 … that comes to 14.5 percent of what Sindh contributed. Thus, Federal government kept Rs 452.62 billion (530 - 77.38) from contribution of Sindh to National revenue for Federal expenses].
Punjab Rs.201 billion Rs 187 92.9
NWFP Rs.60.5 Rs.49.5 81
Balochistan Rs.23.2 Rs.17.1 73

Cash Development Loan (CDL)
Sindh Govt borrowed Rs 52.8 billion (1972-73 to June 2003), as CDL from the federal government out of which
• Principal paid Rs.9.3 billion
• Interest paid Rs 72.8 billion
• Total paid Rs 82 billion
• Outstanding remaining Rs 43.5 billion
[Above figures shows that Sindh borrowed Rs 52.8 billion from federal government and after paying 82 billion, 43.5 billion of that borrowed money is still outstanding, as Federal government charged 72.8 billion of that 82 billion as interest]

Mr. Sikandar Birohi made following recommendations
• Revenue sharing among the provinces under NFC Award should be on the multiple criteria of revenue collection, fiscal efforts, backwardness and special needs.
• Loans against provincial governments should be written off or be converted into grants for development purposes.
• Proper sharing of foreign loans/grants among the provinces/areas on the basis of genuine needs.
• Transparency and equality in Public Sector Development Program (PSDP) projects/allocations.
• Sharing of transfers between the federation and provinces should be 40:60 basis
• Rationalization in the Federal expenditures through genuine decentralization process.
• Federal government should vacant tax bases falling under the purview of provincial governments.
• Proper royalty on the natural resources to the provinces.

Director of Collective for Social Research, Dr. Asad Saeed, Economist, said that **one should not forget that federating units have created federal structure and government; weakened federal units will not be in the interest of federation. All the financial resources basically origin in the provinces, therefore resources essentially belong to the provinces. **Constitution provides mechanism for distribution of resources a constitutional guarantee to negotiate the formula for the distribution after every five years.

He pointed out that provinces are repaying high interest cash development loans to federal government, which is leaving little fiscal space for the provinces to spend on social sector. Around 80% provincial budget goes to social services but huge administrative expenditure eats away the meager resources.

Haji M. Adeel, Vice President of Awami National Party (Former finance minister of NWFP) told to conference that as long as he was finance minister NFC meeting was never called, that shows that central government is least interested in the just distribution of resources, our provinces lacks infrastructure to make use of one MAF water share from the Indus, we have no irrigation system, canals to utilize that water, given to our province under 1991 Water Accords, resultantly Punjab is exploiting our water share without paying us any compensation. NWFP is starved of development funds, over 49% population lives below the poverty line despite the fact that NWFP for decades produced close to 70% power needs of the country but in return got nothing from the federal governments.

He said it is somehow 1991 NFC Award which gave sizeable net profit share of power generation to NWFP, though it was still less as we know WAPDA earns more than Rs. 20 billion annually but pays just Rs 6 billion to NWFP.

In central’s government’s allocations in development sector Frontier is ignored, private and public sector investment in NWFP has decline, hardly 3.3% of total public and private loans reaches in NWFP, the inflow of money has not increased in our province.

He **fully supported the Sindh and Balochistan’s stand on NFC issue and pledging to struggle in alliance with these provinces from Centre’s highhandedness. **

He informed opposition leader in Sindh Assembly that while you keep opposing Kalabagh Dam (KBD), Central government is working on to establish another dam, Akhori dam, its feasibility reports have been completed and any time Gen. Musharraf would announce its construction. He said that the Akhori dam has the same capacity like KBD it’s a carry over dam and its cost is estimated to be much lower than KBD, and will produce 600 MW electricity.

Mr. Siddiqul Farooq, Central Information Secretary PML-N, said that Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz Sharif group does not support distribution of resources only on population, other factors including backwardness and poverty should be included. He also supported change of ratio in the vertical distribution that is between federal government and provinces. Provinces share should be increased from current 37% to 60% and Federal share should be reduced from existing 80% to 40%.
[FONT=‘Verdana’,‘sans-serif’]He rejected the impression that it is big province Punjab that exploits small provinces; he told the audience that army does not come from whole of Punjab; it comes from hardly four districts of Attock, Rawal Pindi, Chakwal and Gujrat. Common men suffers in the every corner of the country, the plight of Okara peasants is not hidden to any one who have been struggling against army’s hold over colonial lands irrigated by these peasants for decades.

On recent announcement of Chief Ministers of the provinces that they have given their powers to President Gen. Pervez Musharraf to announce an equitable NFC distribution, he said General Musharraf does not have powers to do that neither chief ministers have any legal power to empower him.
[FONT=‘Verdana’,‘sans-serif’]He said that no major party in the country now wants central government to keep more ministries with it other than 4, that is the Defence, Communication, Foreign Ministry and Currency, rest of the ministries and departments should be given to provinces so that maximum provincial autonomy is given to them. He insisted that in order to establish a functional federal structure of the government provinces should have sense of participation.

He demanded that
• debts and loans of the provinces should immediately be written off
• 6 of the resources from the divisible should go to provinces
• And at least government can save Rs 750 billion annually from tax evasion, corruption in various government departments, inefficiency etc, that amount should equally distributed among provinces.

The last speaker of the seminar, Mr. Nisar Ahmad Khuhro of the PPP (Parliamentarians) the leader of opposition in Sindh Assembly, said that Assemblies have no more power, rulers do not pay heed to resolutions of the assemblies, our Sindh Assembly’s one resolution, before partition, created Pakistan, but its current resolutions are not taken into account by the military government in Pakistan. We unanimously rejected Kalabagh Dam, Greater Thal Canal but Government does not listen, Sindh Assembly passed resolution calling for change of the formula of NFC but no one at power corridors bothers to listen it.

Mr. Khuhro said that all talk about provincial autonomy is meaningless without giving financial powers to provinces. Expressing his disappointment, he said present regime of General Musharraf does not listen to voices of opposition, talking to these rulers is like talking to dead ears. But it is democratic right to keep talking and struggling for the just cause.

Mr. Khuhro was even critical of 1991 Water Accord which according to him was too hasty decision, it was not debated properly, different point views and interests of provinces were not dually taken into account before announcing the accord.

He said delay in the announcement of the award is depriving Sindh every year more than of Rs 32 billion consequently for last two years there are no funds for Sindh’s Annual Development Program (ADP).

(Mr. Nisar A. Birohi, Chairman Participatory Development Initiative presented the welcome speech. MPA, journalists, diplomats and civil society activists attend the seminar)

Thanks for posting the link of the propoganda site “Sindh.ws” created by some Sindhi sepratist where you take your figures…

Let me expose the lies you have been spreading…

Your propoganda site claims:

Sindh share of Income tax 86.40% of the total during the years 1997-2000…page 3 of pdf file you have posted

Official cbr site reveals

http://www.cbr.gov.pk/YearBook/2001-02/StatisticalTables.htm

Open item 9 from the link to open year wise total income tax collection region wise…

Total share of Sindh in total income tax collection for the years you have mentioned are as follows:

1. 1997/98 Rs. 59.814 billion out of total Rs. 97.135 billion 61%

2. 1998/99 Rs. 60.905 billion out of total Rs.103.189 billion 59%

3. 1999/00 Rs. 54.208 billion out of total Rs.105.337 billion 51%

4. 2000/01 Rs 65.081 billion out of total Rs. 117.469 billion 55%

5. 2001/02 Rs 67.025 billion out of total Rs 136.542 billion 49%

These figures are from official cbr site and not from any bogus propoganda site…nothing near to 86.40% on your bogus link…

What your propoganda site fails to mention is in these figures all kind of withholding taxes are included..example on export/import…I think I do not need to repeat again as I have explained in detail in my previous post…

Similarly I can assure you all the other figures on your propoganda site are also bogus and fictitious…pack of lies…and don’t try to fool the forum readers that this site is some kind of official Sind government site…

Let the readers decide who is spreading lies and who is an intellectual…and let them decide also how much you understand the subject under discussion instead of self gloryfying yourself…I do not need your endorsement…and I do not want to mention what I think of you…like you have done !!!

Better luck next time…

Example of your expertise in English…:smack: