Re: Pakistan’s Success Story: Rising from ruins of the 10/8 2005 Earthquake
That’s what happens when people’s judgement are clouded by hate rather than facts.
May god Bless Pakistan, and may everyone work together for its betterment. Ameen.
That’s what happens when people’s judgement are clouded by hate rather than facts.
May god Bless Pakistan, and may everyone work together for its betterment. Ameen.
Re: Pakistan's Success Story: Rising from ruins of the 10/8 2005 Earthquake
On that grey October day I was working in London, one of my colleagues who was an Indian remarked that Pakistan had been devastated and would never be able to recover its economy.
Pakistanis responded to the earthquake with display of extraordinary philanthropy. Lot of money flew in from all across the world from Pakistanis and lot came from brotherly nations.
According to BBC reports 3% of the schools destroyed during the earthquake have been rebuilt in 2 years. Going by this rate it will take another 40 plus years to rebuilt the schools destroyed during the earthquake.
“When you fly over Kashmir you can hardly believe there was an earthquake two years ago,” Jean-Christophe Adrian, of UN-Habitat, the United Nations housing agency, said. “It’s really impressive — better than anything we have seen before.”
The Government of Pakistan's housing assistance program is an emerging success story. Around 90 percent of rural homes have been rebuilt, or are under construction or reconstruction through government grants. The coming winter should be the last that the remaining people left homeless by the earthquake will spend in temporary shelter,"
Asian Development Bank (ADB).
Go say that to the homeless people… jootey parain gey
Go say that to the homeless people... jootey parain gey
There is homeless people everywhere in the world..even in the richest countries...and Pakistan is still a third world country. Do you even get the point of the article or do you have to bash the government on every lil thing without even reading anything?
The article said the recovery has been good so far...but lots of work still needs to be done...so obviously that means there is still some peolpe who are homeless...work is still going on...the earthquake was huge...even in the richest country it will take them a few years to get back to normal and help everyone out.
You simply cannot deny these international news agencies who have carried out these reports. They obviously arent lieing. So get over it. Say something intelligent for once...and please...stop telling us about your personal sources back home...they have zero credibility...if anything...quote reliable news agencies. I'm sure a lot of people can come up with 'personal' sources on this forum to back up their stuff...so refrain from it for the sake of a healthy arguement.
Watch out yaasir, he will call you altaf soon.
Firstly kehkashan, I know youre used to sucking up to altaf bhai, but you dont have to resort to your usual MQM asskissing everytime someone puts a rebuttal to me...
Yasir, my challenge is upto you as well, if youre in Pakistan, I can personally guide you to a place where you will meet more than a hundred people who werent 'homeless' before this quake liek you mentioned, and since you bestow so much question to mushararf the drunkard and his so called relief efforts, if you really find them to be homeless, you should donate out of your own pocket. I have seen people like you making big claims just shy out when they are asked themselves to donate money. So either stop bragging like Sheedah Talli or do something about it, alright?
Once again, you dont get my point or the article's point. Why do you see the homeless people and not the people who have been helped. I guess you can either call the glass half emtpy or half full..the choice is yours. I never said there isnt homeless people and neither did the article. there is a lot of homeless people who weren't helpned, and there always will be. You can go to any country where there is a disaster and you'll find people who will say they got nothing from the governement...so why bash the government over every little thing? There have been numerous other times when there have been disasters in Pakistan, not of this scale but I don't remember ever reading from an International news agency praising the relief operations in Pakistan. This is definetly the first.
Talking about donating...you are no one to judge if I have donated or not donated. Infact, why do you keep telling people to donate out of their own pocket? You don't know how they are surviving themselves. I'm a university student in Canada, living of a student loan and also working part time to pay bills. I always help in whatever amount I can whenever I can get the chance...Inshallah by the grace of god, once I'm done school and find a job in my field I will donate much more. Abhi jitni Auqaat hai, utna deta hoon.
^Ok I can understand you not in a position to donate, but then please dont say our Government had done well, because they havent... Did you know what one of our great caliphs said? He said that even if a dog went hungry by the banks of the Euphrates the Lord of the Hosts would hold him accountable on the Day of Judgment? Now I know this doesnt really apply to our Government since they are in no way Islamic nor do they have any such values in them, but atleast we, the Muslims can just stop praising them for a job well done, when clearly alot of people remain homeless. Unless we keep them on our leash, they wont do anything, thats how dheet our politicians are. International appraisals will mean something when the international community full honors their commitments to aid, which I heard they werent really doing so, again this does not ofcourse apply to all of them.
http://www.reliefweb.int/rw/RWB.NSF/db900SID/LRON-77UD5E?OpenDocument
Pakistan: Earthquake recovery declared a success
ISLAMABAD, Oct 9 (APP): The aid workers have declared earthquake reconstruction efforts a success, thanks to a massive humanitarian response and a policy of giving aid directly to the people affected.** According to Voice of America, Jean Christophe Adrian of United Nations Habitat in Pakistan, which is providing reconstruction training to quake victims, says the government’s policy of giving direct financial assistance to those in need has worked.**
“When this approach is taken, the pace of reconstruction is much much higher, the quality of reconstruction is much better, you avoid corruption because you don’t have to pass through contractors, and the actual satisfaction of the people with the end result is much higher because they rebuild a house which responds much better to their needs and their liking,” said Adrian. International donors pledged billions of dollars in aid, including half a billion dollars from the United States. This has helped re-build homes, schools, and hospitals in the devastated areas and get peoples’ lives back to normal. On the morning of October 8, 2005, a magnitude 7.6 earthquake hit remote and mountainous areas of Kashmir and Pakistan’s North West Frontier Province.
Tens of thousands of Pakistanis were buried alive. Three and a half million people were left homeless when their mud-brick and stone houses, and poorly built schools, collapsed or were swept away by landslides. Country is commemorating the second anniversary of a devastating earthquake that took the lives of more than 73,000 people and left millions homeless. Two years on, the relief effort has been declared a success. Less than 7,000 people now live in tents.
Firstly kehkashan, I know youre used to sucking up to altaf bhai, but you dont have to resort to your usual MQM asskissing everytime someone puts a rebuttal to me...
Yasir, my challenge is upto you as well, if youre in Pakistan, I can personally guide you to a place where you will meet more than a hundred people who werent 'homeless' before this quake liek you mentioned, and since you bestow so much question to mushararf the drunkard and his so called relief efforts, if you really find them to be homeless, you should donate out of your own pocket. I have seen people like you making big claims just shy out when they are asked themselves to donate money. So either stop bragging like Sheedah Talli or do something about it, alright?
The problem is spock, you think you're saying something contrary to what the articles that praise Pakistan's rebuilding efforts are saying, but if you go through the articles they actually say THOUSANDS (not hundreds) of people are still in need of aid. So yeah, if you happen to know 3 or 4 out of those THOUSANDS then thats not an amazing bit of news, its not even an interesting bit of news. its actually expected that a disaster of this scale will have a varying response towards different people.
On the other hand HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of homes have been rebuilt. According to UN and ADB. Compare those numbers to the anecdotal numbers you're talking about, and tell me if you dont see how silly the point you're repeatedly making is.
People will continue to moan about Pakistan and its govt. without understanding the whole situation and gigantic scale of the disaster that had hit Pakistan. Their hate for President Musharaf is clouding their judgement.
May god bless all the people that have helped in the relief effort, and continue to do so, whether through donations or voluntary work.
Earthquake in Kashmir has been regarded worse than the tsunami in December 2004, according to the UN.
"This is a huge, huge disaster … perhaps the biggest ever that we have seen’', as said by Mr Annan.
The problem is spock, you think you're saying something contrary to what the articles that praise Pakistan's rebuilding efforts are saying, but if you go through the articles they actually say THOUSANDS (not hundreds) of people are still in need of aid. So yeah, if you happen to know 3 or 4 out of those THOUSANDS then thats not an amazing bit of news, its not even an interesting bit of news. its actually expected that a disaster of this scale will have a varying response towards different people.
On the other hand HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of homes have been rebuilt. According to UN and ADB. Compare those numbers to the anecdotal numbers you're talking about, and tell me if you dont see how silly the point you're repeatedly making is.
To you it might matter, but to me, something what I saw pertains to what Hazar Umer says, its just pathetic to see blind praise/chamchageeri by sillybilly/aalsi etc of this corrupt government on a sensitive topic...
Im not sure what Hazrat Umer says, however I dont see a contradiction between being happy at good progress in rebuilding efforts and opposing a corrupt government on other issues.
If its opposition baraye opposition you're after then you're no better than aalsi/sillybilly.
For a third world country, and without all the pledges of aid coming to fruition, Pakistan has done much better than many world experts had expected.
It will take time, but Inshallah efforts will continue to improve the lives of many that are still affected.
This has been a huge, huge disaster for Pakistan. And according to Kofi Annan, ''perhaps the biggest ever that we have seen''.
May god bless all the people that have helped in the relief effort, and continue to do so, whether through donations or voluntary work.
Ravage, if you read my post, here is what I said about Caliph Umer the great:
He said that even if a dog went hungry by the banks of the Euphrates the Lord of the Hosts would hold him accountable on the Day of Judgment?
So my point is, we should hold our government accountable like that too, not praising them and blessing them all day long.
^ okay, let me ask you something. Do you believe a dog went hungry by the banks of euphrates, or any other bank, during the rule of Caliph Umer? Realistically speaking there must be atleast a few dogs during that time that did go hungry. Infact there may have been a few people who went hungry, unfortuantely. If so do you figure you should be deriding the Caliph's rule?
Not that Im comparing Caliph Umer with Musharraf. But that seems an unrealistic standard to hold ANYONE, including Caliph Umer. I believe the hadis is meant to show how heavy he understood the burden of responsibility to be, not the gold standard of competance for rulers.
^ okay, let me ask you something. Do you believe a dog went hungry by the banks of euphrates, or any other bank, during the rule of Caliph Umer? Realistically speaking there must be atleast a few dogs during that time that did go hungry. Infact there may have been a few people who went hungry, unfortuantely. If so do you figure you should be deriding the Caliph's rule?
Not that Im comparing Caliph Umer with Musharraf. But that seems an unrealistic standard to hold ANYONE, including Caliph Umer. I believe the hadis is meant to show how heavy he understood the burden of responsibility to be, not the gold standard of competance for rulers.
Oh bhai, maybe you dont believe so strongly in the caliphs views, I do... I guess thats a different issue, I know you are from Fiqah-e-Jaffria, but lets leave that aside, also its not a hadith, its just a characteristic of a great leader, leaving religion aside.
And lastly, we SHOULD hold the govt accountable for everything. Just like how they not only plundered so much but are bestowing pardons upon past plunderers, staying quiet would only mean we dig our own graves in poverty for the rest of our lives.