Re: Pakistan’s No. 4 test ranking under threat
Totally agreed.
Saturday ka Intezaar karo. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Re: Pakistan's No. 4 test ranking under threat
Pretty sure it would be Shoaib Malik and Salman Butt.
I hope it wont be malik but Woolmer bhai wants him to open and has already indicated that they will give him a proper chance to cement his position as an opener or atleast will experiment him for the full series. Nothing against malik but its just that I cant see him as an opener in a test match. Why the hell they cant try hasan raza or faisal iqbal for that position. Even if hasan gets a spot (and he deserves one) in Multan test, still his positon won’t be certain since asim kamal is the only player in the side who has a true test match temperament and will definitely try to get back his spot.
The bottom line is that hasan raza and kamal will be competing for # 6 spot. Why can’t they try one of them or faisal iqbal for opener along with butt. Or if they want both of them (hasan and kamal) in the squad as middle order batsmen than they can even try younis as an opener. After all younis has shown that he can come early in the innings due to the opening failure and can bat well in the early overs.
We have experimented enough for the opening pair and the last thing we need is shoaib malik scoring runs as an opener on batting friendly home pitches and than failing overseas on seamy or bouncy surfaces due to his flawed technique. They must come up with something which would be fruitful in the long run both at home and overseas.
^ Both Hassan Raza and Faisal Iqbal are not openers either. The same argument applies, what if they score on friendly pitches at home and than fail abroad. At least with Malik we have a bowling option plus I would prefer Raza in the middle order. The last thing we want is to destroy his confidence by sending him as an opener.
i hope paksitan will play more test matches (as PCB will never accept 2 test match series, minimum 3 test matches) and will improve ranking, INSHALLAH.
Hasan raza and faisal iqbal are specialist batsmen and malik is not. So their chances of failing definitely are lower than chances of malik failing in a test match.
I agree 100% that it will be tough for a middle order to adjust as an opener. But if hasan is playing as # 6 what should we do to asim kamal? Just throw him back into domestic circuit for good and destroy one more talent? This is for sure that only one of the two can play as a # 6 batsman. Is it wise not to use the other one who is a specialist test batsman for a spot where we are struggling (opener).
Test cricket has become highly competitive and even if you are talented its not neccessary that you will make it into the squad because there could be someone more talented than you for one particular spot. What do you do? Just wait for the bad patch of that other player. Or be flexible to accept another opening or another challenge. Woolmer is exactly doing the same thing but using the wrong guy.
As far as shoaib malik’s bowling option goes, I would divide it by 0, malik as a bowler would be useless in a test match. If they really want an extra bowling option, Afridi and razzak are better bowling options.
The bottom line is that we still have plenty of specialist batsmen who will not make it into the middle order and will probably wait for next couple of years to get a middle order spot. Why can’t we experiment them as an opener and why should we experiment someone with flaws in his technique ???
Malik has played as a specialist batsman before and thats what the approach is this time as well. Malik has been with the team regularly and I think dropping him would dent his confident as well. He wanted to try himself out as an opener I say let him. No one believed in him when he was tried out as as specialist 1 down batsman in ODI;s either but he proved everyone wrong. Maybe he will do the same this time around as well.
fkhan I have great regard for your comments but I gotta question what technique ? I have really started to believe the old book of techniques should be thrown out. Sehwag is so technically incorrect according to the proper technique since he rarley moves his feet but look at his test record. Of all the greats India has produced in batting this technically flawed one is the only who has scored a tripple hundred. So I guess if a player can perform I really dont think his techniaue should be questioned unless he is not performing. Malik hasnt gotten a proper chance at test level yet, so I say give him a chance and if he fails to deliver then work on his technique. This very technique has served him well in the ODI's for the past year or so, for now let's stick to it. Why fix something thats not broken.
I agree 100% that techniques of players like sehwag has definitely defied the old books of techniques, he is one exceptional player with a tremendous eye and reflexes. I am not doubting Malik’s ability but the point is that for how long we are going to keep experimenting for the opening slots?.
Tell me honestly if malik will perform impressively (inshallah), is it going to be a guarantee that he will able to play the same way on overseas bouncy or seamy pitches. And I am not asking for a guarantee that he would be successful. I am saying that what are the chances that he will be able to cope up with the seamy or bouncy tracks. What will happen than? Are they going to start experimenting again.
Now on the other hand is it wise that players like hasan raza, asim kamal and faisal iqbal will fight for # 6 spot for the next 2-3 years when 2 of them has the potential to compete for the opening slot. Is it wise to continue experimenting for the opening slots and at the same time make 2 more talented and technically sound players sit and watch the match infront of Tv just because only one player out of 3 can play at # 6 position.
I agree malik has not got a chance to play as an opener in a test. But alot of other better players haven’t got the chance as well. Does that mean they all should get a chance one by one?
I agree why to fix something when its not broken, but why use a fragile material which will break sooner or later.
Yes but we have specialist openers in Taufeeq Umar, Imran Farhat, Yaisr Hameed even Imran Nazir waiting for try their hands on the opening position again. Although I do believe Hasan Raza deserves a chance now but Faisal Iqbal, Asim Kamal I believe still need to wait and be broken into the middle order sometime later.
Okay…then what could be Afridi’s position…
PS: I think Afridi will come at #2…hmmmmmmmmmmm…he is my trump…hmmmmmmmmm2
PS: Shahid Afridi & Pakistan Zindabad!
Asim kamal has a test average of almost 40 and has been scoring consistently and I can’t figure out why do they need to drop him now. Isn’t it going to be unfair to drop him and at the same time continue to experiment for an opener with a player who is an ODI allrounder.
It is much better to play with younis and butt as openers, and than inzi, yousuf, kamal and hasan coming after them.
OR if Woolmer bhai really wants to try malik as an opener, than I would prefer butt to be dropped instead of kamal or hasan. Younis and malik can open and than inzi, yousuf, hasan and kamal can come.
Younis has been in great form in the middle order why take his position away and risk having an inform batsman fail as an opener ? Let Younis play in them iddle order where he is finally starting to score runs. I would personally give Malik a go in this series and see how he performs.
fkhan sahab, ur keep forgetting that we have tried 22 pairs on the top since 2000. There were many good stroke players and then there were some shufflers as wells. At the end, it all turned out to be confidence and basics. Malik might lack some shots under his belt, but he has hell of a confidence. This one guy along with Rana are proved to have delivered 200%, no matter which position they are batting/bowling/fielding are. They give their heart out for the game and the team. Malik is quiet a flexible young player, who has become a reliable new ball facing batsman, since courtesy of our fragile openers, he gets to face new ball in the first five overs most of the time. He has proved himself on all the positions and recently have become quiet good at shot selections and patience. His very high confidence is what Pakistan requires at the top to face the new ball. He has been impressive facing new ball in the net by Akhtar, Sami, Shabbir and Rana (prep for harmison and freddie). That has sealed his selection in the test side (which otherwise makes no sense as his bowling is not good for tests). If a talent is spotted we need to groom it and give it fair chance. Think of the chances that Farhat has got despite of his technical problems.
Salman Butt also needs chances as the guy has talent and can be useful opener for next 10 years if keep working on his on-side weaknesses.
Well I guess this is an endless discussion and no body will be able to convince the other person. So lets hope for the best. For the sake of our team's betterment i would like to have a sound opening pair which we once had in the form of saeed anwar and sohail. I really don't have anything against malik and I would be most happy if he will become a permanent opener for us. Have no doubt about his confidence, dedication or committment. Just don't think that he has what it takes to be a sound test opener. And I repeat again that I will be most happy If I am wrong.
However will be painful to see if they don't decide to play asim kamal in the playing 11. I personally think that he is one player who should be part of our test 11. Hasan raza is another player who also deserves a spot. Obviously all talented players cannot have spot in the final 11 and someone has to sit. Just worried and have doubts that if they are trying the correct opening combination this time or will it be the 23rd unsuccessful experiment. As far as salman butt goes, I really would like him to stay as an opener. When I said that they can drop him, I meant If woolmer and inzi really wants malik to play as an opener than I guess the only person they could drop is salman butt and not asim kamal or hasan raza. Not because of his performance but because of the healthy competition going on.
Anyway, it will be interesting to see the team announcement for Multan test and than will be more interesting once razzaq will be back by 2nd test.
^ Good, now lets leave this thread to discuss our team's "ranking" issues :)