Pakistan's January polls already rigged: UN rights envoy

With each passing day we know election will neither be free or fair.

http://afp.google.com/article/ALeqM5hK99spMFPTgmMxZFVZ5zeCkVvnPw

Pakistan’s January polls already rigged: UN rights envoy

1 hour ago

WASHINGTON (AFP) — A UN human rights envoy on Thursday told US lawmakers not to send any delegation to monitor the upcoming election in Pakistan, claiming that it was already rigged by President Pervez Musharraf.

“There is no point in monitoring the elections or watching the poll – the rigging has already happened,” said Hina Jilani, a prominent Pakistani attorney who is also the UN special envoy for human rights defenders.

She made the remarks after lawmakers at a Congressional hearing on the political crisis in Pakistan sought her opinion on the prospect of monitoring the January 8 polls to elect a new parliament.

Jilani, co-founder of the Human Rights Commission in Pakistan, charged that Musharraf, who was expected to lift a five-week-old state of emergency on Saturday, had already destroyed institutions such as the judiciary and the press.

Fearing that the Supreme Court would disqualify him from running for re-election, Musharraf sacked and detained independent-minded judges and lawyers leaders who refused to accept his imposition of emergency rule.

“Freedom of assembly is totally curtailed, freedom of expression is curtailed,” Jilani said.

"Under these conditions, the election that is going to take place on January 8 has very little credibility. Under Pakistan’s constitution and the law, the judiciary oversees the elections.

“A judiciary that lacks the confidence of the people and has no credibility, how do you think the elections are going to be credible?” Jilani asked the lawmakers.

Earlier, Democratic lawmakers Sheila Jackson Lee and Jim Moran told Jilani they were considering the possibility of going to Pakistan as part of a Congressional delegation to monitor the election process.

Moran said there were however doubts among lawmakers when to go to Pakistan.

One Congressman felt that “if they were to do it in the first two weeks of January, it will show an implicit support for President Musharraf and, in effect, the process of confirming his election.”

There were also doubts that if the delegation went after the election, the government would be “using us to show American support – bipartisan support – which may not be appropriate,” Moran said.

“What should we be doing?” he asked Jilani.

She replied: “The world outside can help by analyzing and making itself more aware of the situation in Pakistan and getting the facts correct because only correct facts will allow people to understand the solution.”

Jilani said the civil society in Pakistan was becoming a critical watchdog striving to bring about a stable political process.

“All we ask the international community to do is to support us and further our objectives rather than stand in our way,” she said.

Citing Islamist violence and what he said was an interfering judiciary, Musharraf imposed emergency rule on November 3. The constitution was suspended, and thousands of people were arrested across the country.

The head of the Supreme Court was one of many judges given the sack. A new and strict code of conduct effectively barred many media from criticizing Musharraf or the armed forces.

Most of those arrested have since been released but some prominent lawyers – including the president of the Supreme Court’s bar association – are still in detention.

Re: Pakistan's January polls already rigged: UN rights envoy

that women sounds like shes heavily in love with ns.

No surprise there... I also heard the PML q chamchas are useing state funds to air their own commercials and promotions...

how do you know they are state funds, those choudaries are rich they probably paid it from their own pockets,

We dont... Because this is a dictatorship and not a democracy, funding for candidates for most public offices are not open to review... No transparency you see...
In democracy, candidates source of funding is carefuly examined...
Maybe someone should take the Choudries to court to make sure they arent useing state funds...
OH WAIT... The Courts work for Musharaf, so you couldnt possibly get them to do anything that doesnt fit into Musharafs playbook! What we need is an independant court sytem... Kash!

Are you forgetting the Chaudhries are loan defaulters? What else can we expect from the lota league?

oh i know Hina Jilani .... a wanna be Asma Jahangir ..... !

So everyone who thinks this election will be a sham (which is obvious) is now an asma jahangir or a NS lover... Hadd hoti hai... Either you guys are brain dead, or you love Chaudhry Shujaat too much.

no they have every right to think that Elections will be rigged just like other people have every right to think that polls will be free and fair (and we dont lose it by calling them brain dead) and that Mush has brought culture of tolerance in Pakistan :)

yeah right, youre not the smartest bloke amongst the musharraf admirers, but by referring to ppl who think the elections will be rigged as 'NS lovers', how different is that from me calling them brain dead?

So just to test your intelligence, you think that these elections will be free and fair? Just a straight answer of either a yes or no will suffice.

And yes, those that think an election where Pervez Elahi will end up as the PM will be free and fair, may God have mercy on them.

And what tolerance under Mush are you talking about? People being rounded off for protesting, be it teeangers or lawyers? Tolerance my left nut.

Re: Pakistan’s January polls already rigged: UN rights envoy

U think NS is brain dead? :slight_smile:

Yeah I am sure coming elections will be AS FREE AS IT CAN BE IN PAKISTAN

Although I am not for Chaudhry PE as PM ( in fact I am against that) but if he becomes the PM it will not be totally outrageous nor it will be first time. NS took exactly the same route

I am talking about Mush’s tolerance which is clearly more than ANY OTHER POLITICAL LEADER AROUND …simple is that. If I remember correctly one of the UK batsman once said “I may not be the BEST batsman in the world but I am best UK has to offer” …so … Mush is the best and most tolerant Pakistani politics has to offer !

My case is simple, show me SOMEONE who is BETTER than Mush and I’ll switch my loyalty. If the alternates are NS, BB, QAZI, FAZLU, IMMI etc , I’ll keep backing Mush coz he is better than all of them !

:jhanda:

Comprehension problems? Mush admirers said anyone who says election is rigged is an NS lover. I said those that think its fair are brain dead. You said you mush supporters are tolerant and i shouldnt call you brain dead. I said you guys did the same thing by calling us ‘NS lovers’. Hope ab samajh agayi ho aap ko.

I asked for a yes or a no. And you might think pakistan is a crooked country, but I think we can have free and fair elections.

NS, despite the fact that hes a waste of skin was popular when he got elected. The chaudhries arent.

Apart from your lousy analogy, you are forgetting whatever mush did in his last 3 months in power is enough to make your statement of him being tolerant laughable.

Since you love him so much, tell me, was there a Musharraf (potential leader) in 1999 during NS’s era? No, you never know, new leaders might emerge, especially ones that are not power hungry, crooked, sell outs/spineless, intolerant, self imposing and tyrant (all of which are musharrafs characteristics)

i thought so, just making things up for the sake of it.:halo:

again ... u think calling some one NS supporter and calling brain dead are same thing? yes or no?

I asked for a yes or a no. And you might think pakistan is a crooked country, but I think we can have free and fair elections.

I don't think that either but again, it does not matter what you and I think. Ground realities does matter and ground reality is that in this political crowd we always will have a loser who will keep on beating the drum of rigging no matter WHAT. If history tells us something, its exactly what I just told you

NS, despite the fact that hes a waste of skin was popular when he got elected. The chaudhries arent.

NS was popular? hmmmmmm same

hum uff bhee kareen tu ho jatey hain bad-naam
wo qatal bhee kareen tu charcha nahi hota

mentality. Back then establishment made NS "look" popular and they can repeat the trick with PE without any problem but main trick is how simply you accepted NS as popular leader and u are not able to do the same for PE .....

Apart from your lousy analogy, you are forgetting whatever mush did in his last 3 months in power is enough to make your statement of him being tolerant laughable.

I have heard that "if you cant beat them, join them" but never heard that "if you cant answer them, call their logic lousy" ...but for your information,

I dont support ALL of what he did in last 3-4 months but his threshold of "doing that" is way above than any alternate we have in the playing field. NS and BB are still standing at point 0 as far as free judiciary and free media is concerned and I am sure you must have realized that with NS's and BB's decision to take part in election although their main demand was that they will not take part in election unless 2nd Nov Judiciary is re instantiated but again you can only realize that if u have your eyes open!

Since you love him so much, tell me, was there a Musharraf (potential leader) in 1999 during NS's era? No, you never know, new leaders might emerge, especially ones that are not power hungry, crooked, sell outs/spineless, intolerant, self imposing and tyrant (all of which are musharrafs characteristics)

I am also waiting for a leader who will all of a sudden appear on the political canvas and take over from Mush and lead Pakistan to new heights of development but I am not willing to support any of BBs, NSs, QAZIs, IMMIs etc .... can u suggest a better alternative?

Actually, the latter is smarter and more apt.

I don't think that either but again, it does not matter what you and I think. Ground realities does matter and ground reality is that in this political crowd we always will have a loser who will keep on beating the drum of rigging no matter WHAT. If history tells us something, its exactly what I just told you

It does matter what I think. The people get to decide who to choose and they want a free election! And yes, you will get many such drums as THEY WILL BE rigged for sure! How else will an unpopular dictator cling to power?

NS was popular? hmmmmmm same

Yes, who do you think led the second largest party in terms of votebank? Even when they didnt win the elections, they got the most votes. In 1993, PPP won, but his party scored more votes than the PPP.

hum uff bhee kareen tu ho jatey hain bad-naam
wo qatal bhee kareen tu charcha nahi hota

mentality. Back then establishment made NS "look" popular and they can repeat the trick with PE without any problem but main trick is how simply you accepted NS as popular leader and u are not able to do the same for PE .....

Nope, Pervez Elahi and NS arent in the same boat in terms of popularity. Maybe you dont know about the picture too well, but PE is nothing beyond Gujrat.

I have heard that "if you cant beat them, join them" but never heard that "if you cant answer them, call their logic lousy" ...but for your information,
I dont support ALL of what he did in last 3-4 months but his threshold of "doing that" is way above than any alternate we have in the playing field. NS and BB are still standing at point 0 as far as free judiciary and free media is concerned and I am sure you must have realized that with NS's and BB's decision to take part in election although their main demand was that they will not take part in election unless 2nd Nov Judiciary is re instantiated but again you can only realize that if u have your eyes open!

Phir agaye BB or NS ko ley kar. Just because we have two creatures called NS and BB that doesnt mean we let this dictator to whatever he wants. Furthermore, its this crooked dictator whose making deals with those two creatures.

I am also waiting for a leader who will all of a sudden appear on the political canvas and take over from Mush and lead Pakistan to new heights of development but I am not willing to support any of BBs, NSs, QAZIs, IMMIs etc .... can u suggest a better alternative?

Then stop supporting that dictator as well! Based on his actions in the last few months.

The elections will be rigged, the only way Musharraf and his allies can win. Never in a free and fair elections.

Is Hina Jilani now speaking on behalf of the UN. God Bless Her. :hehe:

Elections that West hopes will stabilize Pakistan flawed before they even begin](http://www.iht.com/articles/ap/2007/12/14/asia/AS-GEN-Pakistan-Flawed-Elections.php)

A stacked judiciary, a cowed media and a toothless election commission — Pakistan’s upcoming election looks flawed even before the campaign has gotten into full swing.

While it is shaping up to be more competitive than the last poll five years ago, a state of emergency imposed by President Pervez Musharraf has already tilted the field in favor of his supporters, observers say.

If fraud is unchecked, analysts warn, this South Asian nation could descend into deep turmoil, dashing Western hopes for a government moderate and stable enough to turn back a rising tide of Islamic extremism.

** “There is no level playing field,” said Sarwar Bari, head of the Free and Fair Election Network, a Pakistani group monitoring the run-up to the parliamentary vote.
Conditions clearly favor the pro-Musharraf ruling party, the Pakistan Muslim Leaque-Q, Bari said.**

Musharraf, a key U.S. ally, insists the Jan. 8 ballot will be fair and accuses the opposition of girding for defeat.
“This is a clear indication of their preparation for defeat,” Musharraf told CNN last weekend. “Now when they lose, they’ll have a good rationale, that it is all rigged, it is all fraud. In Pakistan, the loser always cries.”
Musharraf has vowed to give up his emergency powers this weekend. A senior government official said Friday that Musharraf also may grant an opposition demand to suspend local mayors during the election to prevent them from influencing the vote.
The return from exile of the country’s two main opposition leaders, Benazir Bhutto and Nawaz Sharif, makes the contest more competitive than in 2002. That election, held three years after Musharraf took power in a coup, installed a parliament largely subservient to him.
Bhutto and Sharif, both former prime ministers, have dropped their threats to boycott the polls — even though Sharif has been disqualified from running. But the allegations of election rigging remain and could be decisive in a close race.
Bhutto is demanding that district mayors — including those from her own party — be suspended to blunt their ability to use their control of jobs and funds to dictate to local voters whom they should back.
Cheating to get the upper hand in elections — and stirring unrest in the wake of defeat — are both enduring elements of Pakistan’s roughhouse politics.
Bhutto’s party, the largest opposition group, is accusing the Pakistan Muslim League-Q of distributing thousands of ballots marked in its favor to ensure victory in Punjab, Pakistan’s largest province and the key to national power.
** Her party alleges that loyal officials and police will turn a blind eye to so-called “ghost” polling stations, where the phantom ballots will be cast. Also, polling stations in opposition strongholds will be shifted at the last moment so voters don’t know where to vote.**
“These two methods are very traditional,” said Babar Awan, a senator for Bhutto’s Pakistan People’s Party.
Musharraf and PML-Q officials have denied the allegations.
But Musharraf has failed to dispel widespread concern that steps taken in the run-up to the vote have already undermined its credibility.
Under a state of emergency imposed on Nov. 3, Musharraf switched off Pakistan’s private television news networks, claiming they were glorifying militants and “demoralizing the nation.”
** With the crackdown in full swing, state TV broadcast speeches by Pervaiz Elahi, the pro-Musharraf candidate for prime minister, before huge crowds while Bhutto was held under house arrest to prevent her from leading rallies against the emergency.
Several channels have returned to the air only after axing their main political talk shows, while the most popular one, Geo, remains shut.**
Government advertisements lauding high-profile development projects with pictures of Elahi and Musharraf have run in newspapers, even though as president, Musharraf is supposed to be neutral.
“Until very recently, he has been telling people to vote for the PML-Q,” said analyst Talat Masood, a retired general. “He’s been very partisan throughout.”
Western governments, dismayed at Musharraf’s authoritarian turn, are insisting that freedom of speech and assembly be restored to enable a free vote. But the Bush administration seems to be giving the benefit of the doubt to Musharraf, a key ally in the anti-terrorism fight.
U.S. Assistant Secretary of State Richard Boucher said last week that while the vote will not be perfect, it can still produce a result that “really does reflect the choices made by the people of Pakistan.”
Sixty-five American election observers from the International Republican Institute began to arrive in Islamabad this week. The European Union and the Commonwealth of Britain and its former colonies are still deciding whether to send similar missions.

Their presence, along with Pakistani election monitors, the media and polling agents for the candidates, may deter the worst excesses.
But others say the observers are coming too late.

Musharraf has used his emergency powers to purge the courts, raising doubts that judges would consider legal challenges to the results.

Western diplomats in Islamabad concede that some vote rigging is unavoidable but hope it will not be too widespread.
“There’s a margin beyond which you can’t rig without it falling into complete farce,” one diplomat said on condition of anonymity because he is not authorized to speak to the media.
Others say that Bhutto’s prediction of a popular revolt akin to Ukraine’s Orange Revolution in 2004 — sparked by public perception that elections were stacked in the government’s favor — could be put to the test.

u mean God bless UN, right?