Pakistan's future?

*Originally posted by Changez_like: *

Are you suggesting that we keep one slot of team just to get 6-15 runs from 3-9 balls? NOOO. We need to have a batsman who understands a ball before hitting. On a given day Inzimam or Youhanna can blast any bowler too without needing time to settle.

laikin hamain aik resonable bowler bhi chayay na... saqlain mustaq ki ball ab itni spin nahi horahi hia... nor he is in form..

cuzz aap record check karo.. afridi itnay ziada runs nahi daita.. aur moqua milnay par out bhi karta hia :)

PS: afridi is perfect for Double wicket tournment only :)

Faisal bhai.. i guess Moin khan(only if he stays) can be a good captain.. specially wo ghalat ball karnay par danta bhi hai to koi mind nahi kartaa... and ppls always listen to him..

he is not just a good wicket keeper but also a good batsman..

the problem is not as much the ability, but the mentality.......this has been discussied over and over again here.....but I sincerely belief the pakistani team should hire a sports-psychologist. I think he can do better things for the team than all cricket coaches in the world together...

hey...who said Waqar and Inzamam are retiring after the World Cup.

THey have have never said that they are retiring. Waqar should be around for another year or two. And Inzamam....come on he could play till the next World Cup.

The only people leaving are, Saeed, Rashid Latif, and Wasim Akram.

And someone mention Saqlains leaving.....oh pleaase, the guys still in his 20s...

The general said that we had 7 players retiring after the WC. I dont think Salim Malik will be retiring....

I hope the General also retires.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
I hope the General also retires.

Come now, if the General retires there will be nobody to back Ahktars position in the side. We cant let that happen...

Where did you guys hear that Saeed Anwar is retiring. We could use him for a couple of years to build up the younger players. Especially to groom the opening batsmen.

I really like Imran Nazir. I think he could be a stud. Same with Elahi. I hope Afridi get's his head together and starts to bring his avg up.

How is Navid Latif? or Behzad Khan?

*Originally posted by CM: *
....I dont think Salim Malik will be retiring....

How does he come into any equation?

Our bowling prospects looks very bleak.

Muhammed Sami is no where near what Wasim and Waqar used to be in their younger years. They made enormous contribution to the team right away with their pace and fury. Sami is good but not great.
Infact he is gonna lose his pace at the expense of experience. He might join the likes of Heath streak Vaas, Srinath. These bowlers are good but they can never compared with the clas of Mgrath ,Wasim or Waqar.

Shaoib akhtar will dissappear after the Wc. MOst of the time he will be "unfit" or partying with Sanjay dutt. So we can cross him out unless he is asked to lead the side (hope not). I thnk he is our only hope if he gets his act straight. I still consider him a match winner!

Saqlain will be effective only when he plays for Surrey(money) I dun see him getting any better. He just lost it.

Razzaq should serioulsy do soemthing about his bowling and batting otherwise he will be gone and forgotten. He needs to bring some varities in his deliveries.Its so flat and slow.

Muhammed zahid looked terrible in his comeback. No way he can improve

I know we have alot of quality pacers in Pakistan. LEts hope they find some fresh new exciting talent.

Sherry, :k:

Agree with most of your assessments. Sami is a prospect but he needs to develop more aggression but I think he’s coming along. No point in comparing him to Waqar and Wasim though, you are talking about two legends.

Shoaib is a waster, so I don’t think he’ll play much after this. Shame because our pace attack will be pretty weak as a result - for all the criticism he’s got, he is still a matchwinner (when he can get his head straight).

We have to re-build, bring in some new blood after the WC. The team was starting to look stale in any case.

I dont know if ppl have noticed this or not but whenever Pakistani cricket team wears light green gear they always perform well in the WC.

In 1992, they wore light green----went on to win the WC :hug:
In 1996, the wore dark green—lost in the Quaterfinal :frowning:
In 1999, wore light green—made it to finals :jhanda:
In 2003, wore unlucky dark----lost in first round :crying:

Since this thread deals with the future of Pakistani cricket, it must be made sure that from now on they always have a light green gear for the coming WC’s

Lunatic, you said it all my friend!!! The light green kits rock!!!

:slight_smile:

We have to find the replacement of these legends otherwise we will be like “another” team. It is refreshing to see we have Wasim and waqar to groom young bowlers. Waqar already offered to be a bowling coach if needed.

My suggestion is to request Wasim akram to reconsider his retirement and ask him to lead the side. He still has couple of years. In the meantime he can bring Paksitan back to winning ways. Once Pakistan is a formidibale team then we can take another step of changing the captain similar to Aussies approach, but without embarassing our captain, letting Wasim to retire peacefully :).

Guys in one of the Sahara series. There was this left arm seamer who opened with Wasim akram. He was one heck of a swinger. He looked so deadly but was messing up his line and length. AFter that series he totally dissappeared. I don't really remmebr his name. Maybe its kabir khan? not sure. I thought he had a good potential to be a strike bowler. Boy he was quick and seaming the ball so effectively it was crazy.
Can anyone fill me in here?

A very good article by Mr. Iqbal

Pakistan let down by its bowling against India

From Asif Iqbal

Former Pakistan and Kent cricket captain

LONDON: Purely on the basis of recent form, one had not expected Pakistan to win its World Cup encounter against India, but one did not quite expect that the defeat would come in this manner, with the batting succeeding in posting a decent score and then India’s batting big guns simply blowing Pakistan’s much vaunted bowling artillery clean out of the water.

Pakistan’s performance on the international stage during the last six months or so has been less than encouraging, but it has been the batting that has failed, while the bowling has won the few honours that have come our way. In fact, the batting has failed with such consistent predictability that it has made the ‘unpredictable’ tag, so often put on Pakistan, appear to be less than fair.

On Saturday at Centurion however, it was a different story altogether. The innings, for once, got off to a decent start and Saeed Anwar fought a great mental and physical battle to lead Pakistan to a very good score. 273 was not enough to say that the opposition had been batted out of the game, but it was very competitive and Wasim Akram’s body language as he came off the field seemed to suggest that he thought it should be good enough.

Yet, although it was as good a score as one could expect from Pakistan given its current batting form, it was never an innings in which anyone established his authority over the Indian bowlers. Saeed received support from Youhana, Younis Khan and Rashid Latif played a beautiful little cameo in the end, but they all fell just as Pakistan seemed on the brink of taking control.

Certainly, Inzamam’s unfortunate run out played an important part in the manner in which the innings was constructed, for he was looking good on Saturday. He was timing the ball excellently, not falling over on to one side as he is sometimes wont to do during the earlier part of his innings and his movements, for the first time in a long while, suggested confidence. Had he managed to play himself in Pakistan may well have crossed the 300 mark.

But the manner in which the Indians set about their task of getting the target set by Pakistan seemed to suggest that they would have got there even if Pakistan had made 330. There was a quiet, unshakeable determination about the way Tendulkar batted; there was total confidence and he completely mastered the bowling; in fact, he did more – he pulverised it.

Pakistan got back with Waqar’s two wickets in two balls but that did not seem to affect Tendulkar one tiny bit. True, it might have been a different picture altogether if Razzaq had hung on to a lofted Tendulkar drive soon after Waqar’s double strike for if Tendulkar would have been dismissed then, Pakistan might well have won. That catch should have been taken but it did not happen and Tendulkar proceeded to play one of the most outstanding innings ever seen in one day cricket.

By the twelfth over, he had taken the game completely from Pakistan and by the time he was out the Indians were left with only 4.3 to get per over. But it was not just Tendulkar. Kaif played just the sort of innings around Tendulkar that he was required to do and Yuvraj too showed great maturity in making sure that India did not lose the initiative, which they might have done if Pakistan had got another wicket immediately after getting rid of Tendulkar.

It was not a particularly distinguished performance from Pakistan’s much vaunted bowling attack. Shoaib seemed to be concentrating on blasting the Indians out and with Waqar, was guilty of bowling half volley after half volley, which even though they were being sent down at 95 mph, were unlikely to trouble a batsman of Tendukar’s calibre and disappeared at twice the pace they came.

The discipline of line and length, which the Pakistanis, it seems, have never thought much of, were nowhere to be found except in Wasim Akram and yet again there was a healthy dose of extras. There seemed to be little thought in Waqar’s captaincy for even when Shoaib and Wasim were brought on for a final do or die fling, they were not given any slips or close catchers which was inexplicable given that there was no way Pakistan was going to contain the Indians if they played the full fifty overs. An edge from Yuvraj went past where first slip should have been and with only four inside the circle, it was no problem at all for the Indians to knock the ball around and get four an over which was all they needed.

Ever since this board took office in 1999, it has been saying that it was preparing for the next World Cup. Yet, Pakistan has appeared to be the least well prepared of all the teams in this tournament. In five matches we have used four opening combinations, three people have played in the crucial number three position and some avenues, like playing Taufiq Umar as the wicketkeeper to allow the selection of an extra bowler, were not even examined.

The host of bowling coaches, advisors and analysts have not been able to instil in our bowlers the elementary virtues of line and length with the result that out of three Test playing sides against whom we have played thus far in the World Cup, one of them hit our bowlers for 310, and India would have taken them for much more if they had to.

It is not all over yet, but we are hanging by a bare thread and our fate depends not entirely on what we can do ourselves, but also on how some other teams fare in some of the remaining matches. But the one big lesson to have been garnered from the experience of this World Cup must be that good bowling is not necessarily what looks good on television and that the adage that attack is the best form of defence is not a policy to be applied universally irrespective of the situation.

For example on Saturday at Centurion, defending a score of 273, it was not necessary to attack. The infinitely more intelligent way of going about it would have been to try and contain the Indians and hope that good line and length would have induced mistakes from the batsmen.

That is how club cricketers from Holland restricted this same Indian batting side to a mere two hundred. There must be a lesson in that for Pakistan’s army of cricketing specialists and there must be something seriously wrong somewhere if a lesson so clear is not being heeded.

http://www.jang.com.pk/thenews/