I can't think a Pakistani team without Waseem, Waqar, Saeed and Rashid. Allah help us. Please send us another Waseem, Waqar, Saeed and Rashid. Maybe we need to turn the clocks back or make some clones out of them:(
*Originally posted by Paradoxurus: *
I can't think a Pakistani team without Waseem, Waqar, Saeed and Rashid. Allah help us. Please send us another Waseem, Waqar, Saeed and Rashid. Maybe we need to turn the clocks back or make some clones out of them:(
Come on guys..
Dont loose heart.With so much of talent in Pakistan We will see lots of Wasim and Waqars in team very soon.
Hey guys, whatever happend to Muhammad Zahid, I don’t see him in anybody’s list. ![]()
The sort of team you've named should be full of energy and hence much improved fielding and ability to chase totals (due to increased stamina and strength).
Sometimes bad times do bring opportunities to change things for better. And i think post-WC time is perfect moment to start grooming youngsters fot he future challenges. They can chuck all the oldies in test cricket and make a youthful one day unit. Sri Lanka, India, NZ, and even SA was below average couple of years back with all the new youngies they put in. But now we all can see the dividends!
Hasan Raza, Nazir, Faisal Iqbal, Shoaib Malik and Yonis Khan!!! WOW- our fielding will be right up there with the Aussies!
I think Pakistani future is bright. And we all should stay optimistic.
- Imran Nazir
- Imran Farhat
- Faisal Iqbal
- Inzimam Ul Haq
- Yousuf Youhana
- Abdul Razzaq
- Azhar Mehmood
- Humayun Farhat/Moin Khan
- Shoaib Akhter
- Mohammed Sami
- Saqlain Mushtaq
The future is bright!
Just to point out three things.
- Inzi will retire.
- Moin will retire.
- Moh. Zahid is out due to a back injury. He was in England for surgery, but it doesnt seem that he is fit to bowl at all. He is out as a pace bowler. He has no cricketing future. Its a shame.
No one is mentioning Mushtaq Ahmed and Danish Kaneria to boost our spin department.
I would pick Mushtaq ahead of Keneria any time. I would have picked him ahead of Saqy as well before the WC but it's a moot point now.
Anyway, great though some of these players have been, there comes a time when you have to recognise that they are past their best and you have to move on. Young players might not have the same class, but they can make up for it in enthusiasm and optimism.
Imran Farhat and Imran Nazir have loads of talent, but they need to work on things like shot selection and tightening up their techniques in foreign conditions. For some reason our domestic cricket produces tullay baaz batsmen whereas Indians who play on the same type of pitches have better techniques.
Ahmed will not play. I believe he is hitting close to 30 and has a nice job on Sky as a commentator. I have not heard of him retiring. But it was a given that he wouldnt play anymore after he was dropped. He has been out for a good couple of years hasnt he?
Kaneria will come in once Saqi leaves. Which i only hope happens when saqi is like 40 plus. 2 off spinners, 2 medium pace and 2 fasties. Nice group but too many players.
Mushy has been bowling very well in domestic cricket and on TV he said he was desperate to play in this WC but he wasn't selected. Kaneria is ok, but he doesn't take enough wickets when given the opportunity. Mushy is a real fighter - something we have lacked a bit at this WC. I agree though there's not much point in bringing him back now.
Mushie for years was the night watch man for our team. A crucial role in test matches. He is and was an asset. After him we havent seen any good leg spinners in our side. I agree it was a shame that he left, but i guess there was no real need for him...then or now.
Xtreme there is a great deal of politics in selection of players for the team. That is why Afridi and Ahktar are still there. That is why Azhar is out and Faisal Iqbal hasnt been given a chance. If you look at the present team, only Elahi has no foot work to speak off. Youhana and Younis have damn fine footwork and so does Omar and Nazir. Inzi is good once he gets going, his feet arent always where they are supposed to be.
Out of the Indian side the only two men i would credit with excellent footwork and that get in line with the ball are Tendulkar and Dravid. That is it. Ganguly shuffles and is weak on the backfoot. The newer ones i dont know well enough. But sehwag doesnt look like a solid batsman with good footwork.
*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
.....For some reason our domestic cricket produces tullay baaz batsmen whereas Indians who play on the same type of pitches have better techniques.
May be we ignore the "technical" batsmen like Javed Miandad to learn from.
aww dun worry guys.. we had players like waseem bari.. javed miandad and imran khan.. they are gone and now we have new ones..
inshallah our next worldcup will be way different.. cuz we wont have any old and experianced players that time butt lets hope for best..
Saleem Ilahi (for test matches he is the best..)
Shahid khan Afrid (forget abotu his batting.. but he can be a good spinner…)
Shoib akter.. pata nahi.. buttt the more fast he bowl.. the more runs we get ![]()
saqlain mustaq.. not doin well these days.. but still he is a great spinner
Abdul Razzaq for test and ODI matches
Mohammad Samii…
Youshuf Yohanna ![]()
taufeeq umer
Azhar Mahmood
yeah future is bright.. but we need to change the coach… atleast Coach wo ho jo players ko samajh sakay aur easily samjha sakay..
we need a pakistani coach for sure… cuz abhi hamain newbies par bohat mehnat karni hia ![]()
wat do u guys think..?
*Originally posted by proudpakistani007: *
Shahid khan Afrid (forget abotu his batting.. but he can be a good spinner...)
Please send him to Pak A or Pak B team, not national team until his brain starts working.
Shoib akter.. pata nahi.. buttt the more fast he bowl.. the more runs we get :(....
Do you mean "faster he bowls, more runs others get" ???
Please send him to Himalayas, so we can get his brain cooled for it to function properly.
Why does the coach have to be Pakistani? The only criteria should be that the coach is respected and good at his job and any player worth his salt should be prepared to learn in order to improve his game.
Yeah, we need pakistani coach who can teach them with hi-tech support. We should use computers and videos as aussies do.
One thing is the most important that India and Pakistan or atleast Pakistan for itself should make sporty wickets like Austrailia and SA. Whatever it takes, import the damn clay from these countries or use the same potohari one but make fast and bouncy wickets so our domestic players can learn how to play the real game, instead of taking them abroad and throwing them in the big games.
*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Why does the coach have to be Pakistani? The only criteria should be that the coach is respected and good at his job and any player worth his salt should be prepared to learn in order to improve his game.
is liay Xtreme bhia kay alot of our pakistani players have trouble speaking/understanding/ english... cuz not all our players played the County matches... so they need someone who can guide em easily... who can listem em.. who can encourage em...
aur pakistani old players were the best..... hamain koi bahar kay coach ki zaroorat nahi cuz hamaray apnay mulk kay players hi itnay zabardast hian..
Changes like..
i agree with u.. liakin that wont help.. he will be kicked outta Pak A or B team as welll... he is a hard hitter and we need it.. look at tundolker.. he didnt take a min to set on the crease... butt our saeed bhia and all the other batsman need a lil bit time to understand the bowler... u know pehlay set hotay hian phir khailtay hian..
but afridi ko is cheez ki zaroorat nahi.. wo kisi bhi wicket par ksii bhi baray bowlerrr ka score kharaab karsecta hia.. sirf aur sirf wo agar catch out na ho...
smooth guy... agree with u..
remem Ausies nay machine kay zaryee practice ki thi takay shoib akter ko face karnay main problem na ho..
*Originally posted by proudpakistani007: *
Changes like..
i agree with u.. liakin that wont help.. he will be kicked outta Pak A or B team as welll... he is a hard hitter and we need it.. look at tundolker.. he didnt take a min to set on the crease... butt our saeed bhia and all the other batsman need a lil bit time to understand the bowler... u know pehlay set hotay hian phir khailtay hian..
Are you suggesting that we keep one slot of team just to get 6-15 runs from 3-9 balls? NOOO. We need to have a batsman who understands a ball before hitting. On a given day Inzimam or Youhanna can blast any bowler too without needing time to settle.
After all these senior players retire, who will be the new captain? Saqi, Razzler or Yoyo? I am sure Shoaib will try his damndest to be one, just that the dude will break down so often that it practically becomes pointless.
I thought Inzi will stay on and become captain, after all, thats why he has been the vice-captain for so long. If he and Waqar are leaving at the same time, it kinda defeats the purpose. I always thought Inzi looks sleepy and uninterested on the ground, but I was reading a couple of news articles here, which suggested he has a keen cricketing mind and advises the captain all the time. Dunno how true is that.
Re: Razzler.. he is right now, out of form, but I am sure he will turn around. He is an immensely talented player. If he or Yoyo become Captain, I seriously suggest they should speak to all the news interviewers in Urdu. Let the interviewer arrange for translation. Urdu is our national language and we don't have theka to speak English just to please the goras who invented the sport. I am saying this just because there are lots of people who say Razzler shouldn't be captain because he can't speak English.
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
....I am saying this just because there are lots of people who say Razzler shouldn't be captain because he can't speak English.
Making a captain should not be based on one's other qualifications than sports. If one has capability to perform in game and perform as a captain then thats all is needed. I'll support Yousuf or Razzaq. Shoaib, no wayyy.