Pakistan's Foreign Policy?

why is every international leader blaming us for terrorism and asking us to do more? why no one trusts us? i mean it is easy for us to yell at them and call them names but it wont change the reality that we have no credibility left. is it failure of our foreign policy or is that a fact that we are still tied to god terrorists and bad terrorists policy?

Pakistan can and must do more to dismantle terrorist networks: Obama - The Express Tribune

Pathankot attack: India justified in asking Pakistan to act against perpetrators, Francois Hollande says - Times of India

and saudi arabia has completely dismissed Pakistan’s efforts of meditation and issued extremely tough message to iran…Saudi Foreign Minister Adel al Jubeir has even denied that Pakistan mediated between Saudi Arabia and Iran…if that is the case, then mian sahib and raheel sharif amb lain gayaee see saudi arab?

Saudi FM denies Pakistani mediation in row with Iran: report - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

Re: Pakistan's Foreign Policy?

Do Pakistanis have any self respect? Do they even trust themselves? Whatever Amreeka says becomes a Biblical prophecy. Your whole idea of self confidence and self esteem relies on what the other says, the extension of typical desi mentality "log kya kahe ge".

The mastermind of APS and Charsadda attack is in Afghanistan. Pakistan should be asking America to do more. No? But do insecure, timid, apologetic Pakistanis even have the spine to ask such question? They need an excuse to indulge in anti intellectual self flagellation.

As with good Taliban and bad Taliban rhetoric, isn't in America, China, Gulf states and Europe that's supporting Afghan Peace Talks? So why is only Pakistan getting the blam? Afghan government wants to end violence and they are willing to talk to the Afghan Taliban, if Afghanistan can stop sheltering TTP elements, present them to Pakistan, I'm sure even Pakistan will also find a way to sort them out.

India has elected a powerful PM that the whole notices (regardless of the fact he's a Hindu fundamentalist). It's one of world's largest consumer market and manufacturing economies who is also fishing for the UNSC seat, and therefore they are lobbying hard to seek approval of international power at the expense of degrading Pakistan. They are humiliating their neighbour in every single country that Modi visits to build a strong image of themselves as a real regional player. Modi has openly bad mouthed Pakistan or made references to her in every single international tour. From USA, UK, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, UAE, France etc. There's a clear pattern of spiteful lobbying against Pakistan and painting it as a terrorist state. And what's Pakistan doing about that? I know the kind of reception Modi received in the UK and the snubs Sharif brothers get. Why should British media and government give a crap about Pakistani PM who is in UK every other month for personal business?

We have an army of hochey and chichorey Pakistanis who bounce off the roof the moment you call India out - it becomes a political blasphemy. I remember how some jokers were doing bhangra that Modi stopped to visit his friend Nawaz Sharif at his personal residence without really considering the fact that this same man has blasted the state of Pakistan in most cruel manner on an official visit only few hours ago. When you yourself don't feel any kind of shame, embarrassment, concern over such humiliation, then expect the world to not give a damn about you.

For a tiny undeveloped, corruption ridden, backward and dysfunctional country. Your debt is set to grow whopping $90 billion. It would be nothing less than a miracle if you have a country called Pakistan existing on the map once IMF and world powers start chasing your ass for debt repayments.

@Jolie And many people neglected that businessmen have played crucial role in enhancing relation between countries. Many neglected that Mr. Nawaz Sharif devoted few hours of one of the most important day of his life for a quasi-diplomatic talk which hasn't produced any declaration yet.

Re: Pakistan’s Foreign Policy?

What relations?

Pakistan as a state doesn’t have capacity to fight TTP and Afghan Taliban all at once. If Afghan Taliban have stopped waging a war against Pakistan, Pakistan has every right to say to Afghanistan, look these groups belongs to you, they are willing to talk you, so here deal with them as your daddy US also approves of this whole peace process.

I really want to know the rationale behind pseudo Arm chair intellectuals asking Pakistan to pick a fight with Afghan Taliban when even US and Afghanistan think they need to be talked too? Typical aa bail mujhe maar stupidity. America has the whole peace process in control. They are the ones that need to stop playing double games and do something about TTP hiding in Afghanistan.

If you really want to throw a tantrum, then throw tantrum on why Rangers are being blocked from entering Punjab by PMLN to do anti terrorism operation? The pigs in FATA are either dead or hiding in Afghanistan, but what about Punjab? Why your Law Minister defends his links with banned outfits?

Oh I forgot, Rangers can’t do anti terrorism operation in Punjab because it is a threat to Pakistan’s glorious jamhooriyat and some people will start trending #ThankoooooRaheelSharif](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=ThankoooooRaheelSharif) on twitter. So that’s totally unacceptable.

Everyone knows the people who are calling for action against terrorism will be the first to whine and cry the day Rangers will do operation in Punjab with same powers they have in Karachi.

Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant. (Robert Louis Stevenson)

on same token, does anybody trust US foreign policy? any credibility? I believe Pakistan's lack of trust in US is what drives Pak's policy in the direction considered as untrusted-zone.

Jolie makes good points. I am very pessimistic about Pakistan's future. It has some pretty good strategic assets (not
Terrorists) that could be developed and they won't do it.

There is an upper class in Pakistan that is sadly very short sighted and they think that by repressing the common man they will be able to control all the resources in the country.

And it's just shooting them in the face. World will not have respect for you if you don't respect yourself. India respects its citizens and does a lot to develop its natural human resource. We don't. Result is in front of you.

We are badly screwed :(

no one trusts uncle sam for sure but the title is about pakistan foreign policy. my point is that it is no more musharaff or kayani era where we never took any concerted military action against taliban, so one can understand do more do more but now raheel sharif has turned the corner and we are conducting a serious zarb e azab operation......so why are we not getting full credit intentionally? is this because we dont even have a full time foreign affairs minister who can focus full time on every foreign affair issue ..this post is being handled jointly by Mian shaib and raheel sharif. Our ambassadors should also play a very active role.

Why noone trusts us? Becuz we hv been acting like a ghareeb ki joru for a looong time. Why cant we mind our own business and say NO to all others who wish us to jump in universal issues and be either a part of war or a part of mediation? Why cant we once and for all decide that we'll fix our own home first and be friendly with all nations/countries around? Or atleast if we have to, like post 9/11 scenario there gotto be a better negotiation and an earliest exit rather than settling on how many years the super power will let us rule the country.

sid, i know you opposed mediation between iran and saudi and i supported it based on the rationale that by going to iran and saudi for mediation, we will increase our stake globally and will gain credibility as a responsible player and may also be able to contain their proxy wars on our soil

but i was shocked to read the link below…saudi arabia is acting like what mediation? their minister tone is so harsh and in complete contrast to nawaz/raheel upbeat tone when they said that Pakistan’s initiative was warmly welcomed in both capitals and expected it to progress. i hope we dont become baiganiee shaddiee may abdullah dewana…but i would say, it is too early and lets hope for the best

Saudi FM denies Pakistani mediation in row with Iran: report - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

Dude smart nations learn from the experiences and observations, and then they do wuts the best for their country, not other countries! If you remember I gave an example of how hamas and hizbullah shook hands in Mecca and broke accord within 3 weeks. Anywaz, it can be a wishlist to have a beautiful world with both countries sitting side by side but right now you have to come out of this fantasy land and be practical. And the practicality is showing us that Pakistan is far from safe, a weak economy with enormous problems to the people, terrorism being one of them. So focus on these issues. Once tightened, then go ahead and do wutever the heck you want.

The Saudi Foreign Minister, Adel al Jubair, has denied the existence of any Pakistani mediation effort between Saudi Arabia and Iran. he elaborated his statement by saying that many countries came forward to offer mediation between Saudi Arabia and Iran but all of them were dismissed by the government in Riyadh.

No Pakistan mediation between KSA and Iran | Arab News

yeah, the same news have been reported everywhere…pretty embarrassing for Pakistan. so what was nawaz sharif/raheel sharif doing in saudi arabia if they were not on a mediation mission :hoonh: hamay to bataya tha kay it was a very successful tour and after 2 days, saudis have put us in place. veru rude and undiplomatic statement by saudis.

Face saving statement. Saudis are being bitter. Their egos are badly bruised. Iran has just signed a whopping £600 billion deal with China. Iranian President is on European tour and plenty of trade deals will be signed, and Saudis won’t tolerate Iran playing with fire in the Middle East yet be on the path of becoming a regional economic powerhouse.

The fact that Saudis did not deny the news when a massive hype for the famous trip was building up , they did not deny mediation while both Sharif’s were in Saudi Arabia. They did not deny the mediation while both Sharifs were in Iran.

The fact the that Saudis had to deny the whole mediation thing after 10 days of the visit shows that had just went wrong now.

If Pakistan was not mediating then chances are Pakistan was just there to tell Saudis that they aren’t getting involved in their mess. If the latter is true then it is much better and more honest approach than the former.

The bottom line is - Pakistan has found a way to resist Saudi demands by hook or crook. That’s what matters at the end.

Both Iran and Saudi can carry on with their ancient hostilities, and refuse to reconcile, but Pakistan has effectively neutralised a crunch situation by pulling this mediating trick. They had avoided picking sides, even if it's just for time being.

If only such tactics were employed after 9/11. Pakistan would have avoided getting involved in this nasty American war which has brought nothing but devastation and innocent bloodshed to Pakistan.

We can talk about how things could have been done differently, but you can't just dismiss a thundering superpower marching next door with the approval of the world. Even china might not have sided with you. I read about Musharraf and he said that america didn't ask to seal the border, but if I was in his place, then I would have been proactive and sealed the border with army + FC myself. We would probably loose some soldiers due to taliban wanting to get in but thousands more won't be dead or wounded along with collateral damage and economical damage to Pakistan.

My point is if US policy is not trusted, why do we give two hoots about what US says about our policy? Even if Pakistan will carpet-bomb "terrorist" areas the demand will still be "do-more", believe me the demand is not going to go away. US policies drive the terrorism around the globe and it will keep asking other countries to "do more" to stop terrorism. What the fluck, if US stops fing around the globe only then it has any moral ground to ask to "do more".