Pakistans first digital movie...

Pakistan is will be showing its first digital movie called “The long Night.” Its written by the bbc Urdu correspondent in Karachi, and examines Karachis underworld…I think this might be a sign that Pakistan film industry is maturing, finally stepping out of the Bolly/Hollywood mold. They will be showing it in Manchester at the Comman wealth film festival… Intial response to the movie seems to be positive

http://news.bbc.co.uk/hi/english/entertainment/film/newsid_2083000/2083932.stm

Delving into the dark underbelly of the city of
          Karachi, The Long Night is Pakistan's first
          digital feature film. 

The story provides glimpses into modern day
          Pakistan and shows what happens when a rich
          office worker takes a wrong turn into the
          hostile world of Karachi at night. 

Shown at this year's Commonwealth Film
          Festival, in Manchester, the film was written
          by BBC World Service journalist, Mohammed
          Hanif. 

In an interview for BBC News Online, he
          explained how he aimed "to go beyond the
          headlines and celebrate the city". 

Digital departure 

Filmed entirely at night, The Long Night (Raat
          Chali Hai Jhoom Ke) has been described by
          critics as "beautifully shot" and "streets ahead
          of the industry's staple fare". 

Lollywood, Lahore's
          answer to Bollywood,
          has a reputation for
          producing 35mm,
          three-hour long films,
          based on Hollywood
          themes. 

However, in a new
          departure this film was
          made digitally and
          lasts just 94 minutes. 

"Hardly any film's come
          out of Pakistan," Hanif
          explained. 

"What we are trying to do is to provide a
          window rarely seen in Pakistani films and not at
          all outside of the country." 

Reality 

Combining well known actors with new faces,
          Hanif and first time film director, Hasan Zaidi,
          created a tale that tells of what happens when
          two diametrically-opposed worlds collide. 

Waleed, a successful businessman is tempted
          to visit a woman in a shady area of town. 

Against his better judgement, late one night he
          travels to suburban Malir where he experiences
          the realities of a Karachi that he barely knew
          existed. 

Describing the
          cosmopolitan central
          character, Hanif
          explained: "This man
          was more likely to
          know about what
          happened in New York
          or London, rather than
          what happened in his
          own city. 

"He may have read
          about violent turf wars
          in the news papers,
          but this shows what
          can happen when you take a wrong turn into
          another world." 

As a journalist, Hanif has lived and worked in
          the southern city of Karachi. Having written
          and produced plays for radio, his current day
          job finds him writing for the BBC's Urdu service
          in London. 

"I write impartial and objective reports for
          eight hours a day," he explained. 

"But with storytelling I don't need to be
          objective. I write about places and characters
          that I know intimately; it's a good release." 

Reaction 

Eagerly anticipating reviews from the film's UK
          screening, Hanif explained how problems of
          censorship have prevented the film from being
          released nationally in Pakistan. 

Reaching a limited audience at local Pakistani
          arts festivals, the writer explained how, with
          some trepidation, he watched the audience's
          reaction. 

He is confident that "despite being localised,"
          the story will now "transcend". 

"I was worried in case people didn't laugh at
          my jokes, but luckily they did," he explained. 

"I was also pleased when it generated a
          discussion about the divided nature of the city
          and how it should be represented." 

The Commonwealth Film Festival is held in
          Manchester from 28 June to 7 July.

*Many thanks to Hanif and Zaidi for bringing First film to commonwealth filmfare festival.thats all we need " young Blood" in all section of life.either its politics,religion,senators or ministers.

God Bless Pakistan*

Im really looking foward to seeing it...Just not sure whee to find it as yet.

Thank you Adnan for informing us. At least it's a positive step towards improvement in our filmy sector. I hope it does well.

Please do let us know your views after watching the film.

finally.

I had a similar idea. Oh well, he got to it first.

i went to watch the film at the commonwealth film festival but unfortunately it was pulled at the last minute for some reason and not shown. i was v. disappointed as it seemed excellent. insha Allah it will be shown elsewhere soon.

btw the same festival showed another excellent pakistani film called ZAR GUL. It is awesome. See my other post.

O yaar kon si other post? link he day deta

COOL

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/kiss.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

TAKE YOUR BEST SHOT AT ME

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif