I tell my UP community that we mistreated Sindhis for a long time.
We were refugees. Sindhis gave us their land, their houses.
What did we do in return.
We closed every door to young Sindhis.
We kicked them in the rear if they even tried to get to the opportunities.
We blocked off Karachi to every nationality during the hey days of MQM.
So now we have no right to ask Sindhis
That we want to bring even more of our brethren.
Obviously Sindhis won’t like to be furhter pushed into poverty
thanks to the goonda gardi (terrorism) and systematic cleansing of Sindhis, they are now a tiny minority in the Urban areas of Sindh.
Lebanese Shias, Sunnis, and Chrisitians on the other hand need a short term refuge. As soon as the war is over, they will go back.
BDeshi Biharis on the other hand do not intend to go back.
So there is a huge difference between Lebanese refugees and BDeshis.
Tell this bull crap to someone else. Most of the land(if any)/houses that were given to immgrants were those of Hindus who fled to Pakistan during the whole mass exchange in 1947.
What did we do in return.
We closed every door to young Sindhis.
We kicked them in the rear if they even tried to get to the opportunities.
Again same crap, it wasn't "we" who kicked them behind, they were behind in education hence felt left-behind when "mohajirs" started taking up jobs and there came in the rescue in name of "Quota system" which didn't help either Sindhis or Mohajirs, but someone else ;)
Calm down Kaptain sahib. Your emotional reaction is very similar to my younger cousins. They have not read enough, and they have not seen enough. These young chaps believe in "us Mohajirs vs. them Sindhis". In the long run this is not going to help our community.
Mass exchange of 1947 brought only a small percentage of our UP community.
Most of the UP community was "invited" later in 1948 by none other than our Maula Liaqat Ali Khan. In 1948, the riots in Bharat and Pakistan had completely stopped.
However LAK wanted to build up his constituency in Karachi. So he is the first one to introduce a quota system utterly biased towards our community. Can you imagine a quota of 12-15% of all Federal and state jobs going to our community members who were still in UP?
LAK is the first one to create urban-vs.-rural divide in Sindh and forever banished young Sindhis from Karachi and Hyderabad.
I give an example to my younger cousins to explain the Sindhi situation. The example is based on a hypothetical scenario in Punjab. Think about this. If Punjab Urban areas of Lahore, Pindi, and Faisalabad were reserved only for those who ended up in the urban areas by 1950. That would effectively have ghettoized rural Punjab by stopping rural-to-urban flow. That would have also forced rural Punjabis to be un-educated and away from big city jobs. Then Urban Punjabis would have said, look these rural folks are just $tupid. They don't deserve any favor.
Granted Sindhi rural areas were not as upwardly mobile as Punjabi rural areas of 1950. Still Karachi university kept rural Sindhis out until 1986. Punjab university on the other hand always had 80% or more coming form rural areas as there was no urban-vs.-rural divide.
We in UP community ought to be more honest about our role both positive as well as negative. Otherwise we will be hated by locals and possibly kicked out to camps just like what is happening to our cousins in BDesh.
The pro-quota Punjabis who pretend to be Mohajir that I know behave just like you.
I wonder if lakhs of died people is really any number considering the monstrous population of West Pakistan then.
Most of the UP community was "invited" later in 1948 by none other than our Maula Liaqat Ali Khan. In 1948, the riots in Bharat and Pakistan had completely stopped.
yawn
However LAK wanted to build up his constituency in Karachi. So he is the first one to introduce a quota system utterly biased towards our community. Can you imagine a quota of 12-15% of all Federal and state jobs going to our community members who were still in UP?
Can you provide source to prove that LAK was the one who introduced Quota system and that Mohajir were to get 12-15%?
LAK is the first one to create urban-vs.-rural divide in Sindh and forever banished young Sindhis from Karachi and Hyderabad.
That was done in ZAB's time, not LAK's time.
We in UP community ought to be more honest about our role both positive as well as negative. Otherwise we will be hated by locals and possibly kicked out to camps just like what is happening to our cousins in BDesh.
That is not going happen, no matter how much you wish.
Arrey Kaptan sahib, I only lived for 2+ years in Karachi. I spent rest of my life in Lahore and elsewhere in Punjab. Menu ki pataa? Plus I spent my time in Bahadurabad/Tariq Road area which is quite posh for anyone to understand the politics and stuff.. I used to visit my friends in Saddar but generally we would abstain from talking politics given many of my close buddies were mohajirs and any small discussion would lead to fighting :( So, we decided not to discuss these things at all. Aap hi batao
I give an example to my younger cousins to explain the Sindhi situation. The example is based on a hypothetical scenario in Punjab. Think about this. If Punjab Urban areas of Lahore, Pindi, and Faisalabad were reserved only for those who ended up in the urban areas by 1950. That would effectively have ghettoized rural Punjab by stopping rural-to-urban flow. That would have also forced rural Punjabis to be un-educated and away from big city jobs. Then Urban Punjabis would have said, look these rural folks are just $tupid. They don't deserve any favor.
Granted Sindhi rural areas were not as upwardly mobile as Punjabi rural areas of 1950. Still Karachi university kept rural Sindhis out until 1986. Punjab university on the other hand always had 80% or more coming form rural areas as there was no urban-vs.-rural divide.
Anti saab, aap Punjabi nahin? I was thinking you are a Punjabi.. cuz you said you come from Lahore.. anyway, my mistake. I used to feel a difference of ethnicities but now I think we should live peacefully and in harmony.
Kaptain sahib, my opinion is that quota system hurts people in the long run. It especially hurts my Urdu People (UP) community as well as Punjabis. Both of these communities are strong and well placed in Pakistan. However we must do some kind of affirmative action in Balochistan, interior Sindh, and rural Sarhad.
Still that affirmative action should be in terms of infrastructure development like 6 lane highways, ports, and universities. Quota in Federal and private jobs is counterproductive.
Just read the papers from 1947. Most of the ethnic cleansing occurred in East and West Punjab. There were few smaller riots in Dilli and Kolkatta.
It was the fault of Punjabi leadership Muslim, Sikhs, and Hindus that resulted in so much bloodshed. There was no need for that carnage. However most of the Urdu People were secure in UP, Bihar, and Hyderabaad Dukkin.
UP suffered deaths but those were in 1946 and not during partition. The biggest pogrom against UP and Bihar Muslim was carried out in the summer of 1946 following the April 1946 failure of Mission Plan talks.
LAK introduced quota system with following percentages.
Muslim still in Bharat (15%)
Sindh Urban (2%)
Sooba Sindh rural, Sooba Baluchistan, Sooba Sarhad, State of Bahawalpur (17%)
Sooba Punjab (24%)
East Pakistan (43%)
In fact Sindh Urban + Hindustan had combined share of 17% which was the same as all of the small soobas (provinces) combined.
Source: Pakistan's Political History Volume 6. by Zahid Choudhry and Hasan Jafar Zaidi.
Sorry for the Interruption by the way, you may please continue :)
The reason Punjabis so much dominate the politics of the nation is because of our numbers and given the faith other communities place on us. Other communities admire us for our neutral view, sincerety and peace-loving nature :)
Sachchi gal kisi ko pasand nahin aati.. We are the most loved, large-hearted people of Pakistan who have helped every community and keep on doing so- I have no qualms in telling that. Our men are strong, gutsy, tuff and our ladies are sohni yet independent.. wanna more? :D
Re: Pakistan's divide in races/ethnicities (split from Pakistan should bring Lebanese WA)
tum apney saath mujhey bhi marwaao ge...I quit right here. Barrey heart ke ho to barra heart deikhao na...let us say that we all are strong, we all are gutsy, we all are tuff and we all are independent ... :)