Pakistan's Crisis

People need to start making changes to the education system in Pakistan. Otherwise, madrassas will continue to be the only hope for the average poor Pakistani, and goondas looking for manpower for their selfish wars they’ve conveniently labelled Jihad will continue to find that manpower.

The recent string of bombings in Pakistan is a testimony that things NEED to change.

Re: Pakistan's Crisis

No, I disagree. We need to make another nuclear bomb to defend our country, buy a few third class ships from France and maybe US will give us the F-16 we paid for (something like worth the construction money for a million schools)

Re: Pakistan’s Crisis

http://www.heritage.org/Research/AsiaandthePacific/hl1029.cfm

This is a good article on Countering Extremism through Education Reform.
Below are some excerpts from the article

• The overall adult literacy rate for the population above the age of 15 is about 43.5 percent, while the rates for Sri Lanka and India are 92 percent and 61 percent, respectively.

** - The World Bank and a number of donor agencies spent billions of dollars on a “Social Action Program” for Pakistan during the late 1980s through the 1990s. After a decade, the program failed to achieve basic objectives such as increasing school enrollment rates at the primary level and bringing education to remote parts of the country. The program failed because it did not address problems such as corruption and inefficiency within the Pakistani education bureaucracy**

• The Fiscal Year 2008 State Department Congressional Budget Request includes $52 million for general education programs and an additional $50 million for earthquake reconstruction of schools and health facilities. The 2007 Emergency Supplemental Budget Request calls for another $110 million to develop Pakistan’s Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA), including the education sector.

- One of the major problems with Pakistan’s public education sector has been the endemic corruption within the system, which has led to the phenomenon of “ghost schools,” i.e. teachers not showing up to teach classes but only to collect their paychecks

• To conclude, U.S. efforts to encourage education reform and development in Pakistan should be consistent, sustained, and multi-pronged. Ensuring transparency and efficiency in the education bureaucracy is equally important to encouraging local community involvement and accountability in the day-to-day functioning of individual schools, especially in poor, rural areas. The development of a strong and effective education system in Pakistan is central to promoting moderation, tolerance, and economic development. Convincing the Pakistani government to take firm action against the handful of madrassas supporting violent extremism also is necessary, not only for the future stability of Pakistan, but also to prevent future international terrorism.

How about, stop killing their brothers, and desecrating their beliefs, and they just might stop retaliating?

Then after thats done, you can educate them, so next time the only means of retribution they have isn't an Ak-47 but passive talks with the respective authority.

nyah, dont like that idea.

next idea please.

I agree to your disagree!

The education systems only launch 'service' oriented people, soon after "graduation" they are looking for "jobs". Do you know how many parhay-likhay dacoits are there in Karachi alone?

What we need as nation is to "teach" our children what humanity is, what a human being means to each of us, in light of Quran or use other means necessary. The education institutions will provide us with "parhay-likhay" people, but would they be "insaan"? Looking at our lawyers, bearaucrats, army, doctors it looks like "No". The lust for money (irrespective of legal/illegal means), lust for power without accountability etc is what almost everyone is looking for.

pakistan hai har dour mai har tarah ka crisis raha hai …thts y ub to aadaat see hoo gie hai ham kooo aisai jeenai mai ..:slight_smile:

pak gov ka aik drama khatam nahi hota too koi orr niyah drama suru hoo jatah hai …:chai:

I’d love to study in a Madrassah…

http://www.darululoomkhi.edu.pk/darululoom/snaps_photo.html