Pakistan's chances at the World Cup

I love Pakistan cricket. Still i cant help but think that Pakistan lacks the fire and aggression necessary to win the world cup.

The current corpse of player may b more talented, fitter, and tech-aided; but the fire/leadership/push/motivation of 1992 is just isnt there.

To me if Pakistan is to do well then the only competitive edge that Pakistan could build on is to bring back the 1992 attitude, i.e.ALL OUT ATTACK, i.e. Akhtar and Sami firing all cylinders etc. I think Imran Khan has recently alos pointed towards that same thing saying we need fitter Sami and we need Inzi or Youhana up the order and so on.

AS much as i like and respect Bob Woolmer and all the hard work he is putting into Pakistan cricket, i think he is way too conventional and traditional for Pakistan. What we need to be competitive is more of our natural aggression and some calculated unconventional strategies.

I dont know if i am making any sense here but what do you think? Do u think we r on right path as far as WC go?

thanks

Re: Pakistan’s chances at the World Cup

That my friend, everyone has been saying here, so we all agree with that (for the leadership) :slight_smile:

We would rather has fitter Shoaib Akhtar :), as for Sami he is getting well “earned” rest :wink: and I hope he comes back as strongly as Shoaib Akhtar did.

Our chances of World Cup 2007 have been discussed before … are not as bright :frowning:

Re: Pakistan's chances at the World Cup

pakistan will get furthur in the World Cup than india, i dont know y, its just a gut feeling.

keep dreaming :)

dekhna mere bhai

in current form, Pakistan does not stand much of a chance, having said that we all know the unpredictable nature of Pakis, so expect anything.

^And the unpredictable nature of game of cricket

Great thread! This precise question will be discussed in detailed length very shortly in a separate interview thread by three of our elite members of Cricketnama.

Going back to the essence of the query posed, yes, it is absolutely right on the money. The fire and aggression missing from the state of minds of our National Team is vastly observed by many. Countless instances we have witnessed our no-good captain literally handing the match over to the opponents on a silver platter by gifting them opportunities to score runs and thrash boundaries every minute at every alternate delivery through a fast and lively pace whilst his own's body language is that of a cowardly timid craved crow trying miserably to scare off the wolves from stealing the pieces of carcass through his own sefless tirade mind. The only thing possibly worth looking at is the individual performances that is expected to come into the picture, but as far as "relying" on Inzamam to produce and counter the attack towards the opposition, well, it is safe for one to pray upon to be struck by lightning twice, rather than imploring the time when such a change ever takes place. While we may observe people completely "depending" upon the leadership capabilities of our captain, the majority will be expecting a miracle or two, once again, from the individual performances, because as history has shown repeatedly, only such instances will save Pakistan at the end of the day, and while I honestly value and realize the team unity and bonding in this tense period, I also see the light at the end of the tunnel, and the power that is behind that torch is definitely not Inzamam or his leadership by any means.

Kaun hain woh :snooty::halo:

Their chances are very slim and the recent slump proves that. Batsmen dont seem to be taking any responsibility. They live on past glories. If you question their attitude and ability, the chances are you will be told off about the series wins in last two years. Whats now and in the the future seems to be least of their problems.

for me the chances r very very bright for pakistan, before 2 month when pak had beaten eng & then india in test/odi & test respectively. every one was ratig them very high, ut within 2 month time everyone is showig their concerns & doubts over world cup chances. there is a full year left i world-cup, we lack in nothing, we have got best batsmen inzi,yousuf, younis. then allrouders razzaq , afridi & malik. then bowling akhtar, sami, gul & asif. pak team is very strong infact much better than many others. remmeber the same south african team was white washed by sri-lanka , now see where sri-lanka in & where s.africa is standing within a year. only the problem is that our players have lost some forms, but some r playing couny & other domestic , hopefully they will gain it soon........

On the average the performance of Pakistan cricket team is not bad at all keeping in mind the continous cricket they are playing.

I think we should not expect too much from them and also WC is bit far. This team can certainly win it by all means. Reason the team in 92 played as a unit depsite wiht many youngsters and this team is also united under our all time great Inzimam ul Haq.

Give them time and space, back them up and wait for the worldcup.

i support england followed by argentina!!

^^ this is not football

Inzi gotta go out. So does Yousuf. PCB needs to put out good cricketers and not bigname toothless legends like them. Give captaincy to Younis Khan and see Pakistan fly.

Great post Phatan Bhai and I agree…Pakistan does need an all-out attack to win the world cup. Shoaib, Sami, Asif and Rana can get the job done. I also agree that Yousuf and Inzi need to be at the top order. They are the experienced batsmen and most of our young and talented players are not use to the World Cup fever. I really don’t know how they would respond to it. Inzi must lead from example because that’s the only way he can inspire the team.

I like Woolmer, I think he has done a great job as a coach but he is shuffling a lot. Kamran Akmal opener…:smack:. World Cup is very near and I think its about time we know our openers and batting line-up, same goes for bowling. I know that some of our players have performed badly but he is the coach and he needs to make sure that players along with the team acheives their potential.

I really believe in this team and I know that if this team gives its level best, Inshallah they will win it all. Just look at the talent we’ve got. There is no reason to believe why we shouldn’t.

Pakistan Zindabad :jhanda:

Sorry I never thought we would even start thinking about the cricket world cup which is over a year away! chill out guys!:shireen: and enjoy the fottie

Just an update … It is way **UNDER **now :smiley: … unless you are talking about the one in 2011

heenji!!??!!:confused:

acha ji! :hoonh: