Pakistan's bowling options

Now that the verdict is out on Asif and Shoaib, what options does Pakistan have in the bowling department. Of course whoever play we would have Razzaq, Afridi, Malik and Hafeez as back up. Out of those Razzaq is the only one who can win matches with the ball on occasions. He use to be good but has been reduced to a support bowler in recent years. The other three are essentially another bowling option for the skipper, not really threatening. Let’s discuss the choice we have in the bowling department.

Shabbir’s ban would be lifted in December, Sami is being recalled and Rao, Rana, Gul, Shahid Nazir, Arafat are all on the cards.

Rana has had a couple of “off” series, but so did Akmal. He performed credibly before getting injured, at least in ODI’s he was exceptionally good and InshAllah would be back to normal in the Windies visit.

Rao is not a strike bowler, he could play the role of back up to a degree but he is not a spearhead and the sooner PCB’s realizes it the better it is for them. He just doesn’t have it in him to be able to stop good oppositions. He has limited capability and I don’t think anything could be changed about that. He bowls gentle medium pace at a half way decent line and length and that’s about it.

Umur Gul should be persisted with; he has shown glimpses of brilliance on and off. He would need someone to carry the load with him, he certainly is able to run through sides as he demonstrated in that one test against India, but at this time he would need support from the other side. Rana, if in form could be the ideal partner.

Sami has been given numerous chances and despite showing a lot of potential he has never materialized as a match winner for Pakistan in either form of the game. He has the talent, everyone already knows that. He is a hard worker, pretty good in the field, can block one end and play a supporting role but it’s his job as the bowler in which he fails. Personally I would take him over Rao though just due to his sheer speed. He would be a better first change bowler then Rao.

Arafat has never really been given a fair run to display his potential. He has always been given one or two games here or there or served up an SOS when someone get’s injured or someone decided to miss a tour or in the last instance called back due to a drug charge. He has displayed his potential in county cricket and emerged as a handy all rounder.

Shabbir Ahmad would be tested on his return. He was a fantastic test bowler before the ban but wasn’t able to stamp his authority in the shorter version of the game. Only time will tell if he can produce the goods with a modified bowling action.

Shahid Nazir is also a gentle medium pacer, not been given enough chances but he has never really shown anything extra ordinary. He is a decent bowler, not spearhead material (just like Rao) but could be a useful bowler if the pitches suit him. He is more like Aaqib Javed, maybe not as consistent as Aaqib with his line and those lovely outswingers but close enough.

Re: Pakistan's bowling options

Shabbir's ban is about to be lifted, at the right time, when two of our bowlers are about to start their ban. Great timing. Shabbir should try to stay unbanned until after Asif's ban is lifted, so we will have a complete outfit. Others should also try to keep it clean until Akhter's ban is lifted. We have better batting options now, as Inzimam's ban is about to end, just one match to go. So I wont be that much concerned if Younis or Akmal is now banned suddenly. So long as we can collect 11players.

Ban is temporary, Class is permanent

I think Shabbir, Gul, Rana and Rao should form the spearhead with Razzaq, Afridi, Hafeez and Malik as backups. I am sorry but I don't agree with your analysis on Rao. I see potential there.

Hopefully Rana will regain his form and Shabbir will perform to his potenital.

^Lol.

What about chacha Arshad - Inzi surely must be hoping / trying to push to find him a place in the squad........

Whatever happened to Samiullah Niazi? There were Riaz Afridi, Junaid Zia as well. They all should be brought to 1 month training camp where our bowling coach (Waqar) would groom them and pick the best of them all. Rao is okay, but he needs to learn a few trade skills to add to his empty weaponry bag.

Re: Pakistan’s bowling options

**Pakistan board looks to Shabbir after bowlers banned

KARACHI: Pakistan will try to resurrect the career of banned pacer Shabbir Ahmed following the doping bans imposed on Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Asif, an official said on Thursday.

Shabbir has been serving a 12-month ban from the International Cricket Council (ICC) since last December for having an illegal bowling action.

New-ball bowlers Akhtar and Asif received two- and one-year bans respectively on Wednesday from a Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) drugs tribunal for testing positive for the banned steroid nandrolone outside competition.

“Obviously when you lose two key bowlers like Shoaib and Asif it does affect the team,” Saleem Altaf, director cricket operations, told Reuters.

“Which is why we will be sending Shabbir to Australia on November 20 for bio mechanic tests on his bowling action,” he added. Shabbir has been reported three times for his action, which can be reviewed again once the ban ends next month, Saleem added.

Shabbir has 51 wickets from 10 Tests, and grabbed 18 wickets in his last three Tests against England and West Indies before being banned.

“We have done a lot of work on Shabbir’s action this year and there is definite improvement. Hopefully he will also clear the biomechanical tests under the supervision of experts in Australia,” Saleem said.

“If he is available with a modified action for the tour of South Africa and the World Cup it would be a big boost for the team,” he added.

Source: http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=30495

Ehsan bhai, Rao has played 20 odd ODI's now along with his lone wicketless test and not once has he come up with anything to write home about. He can play the back up to anyone and he is a decent back up bowler but I just dont think he can play the role of strike bowler. After Shoaib and Asif I think the next chance we have of a strike bowler atleast in the ODI's is Rana, Gul or Shabbir if and when he makes a return.

Since in my opinion he is only good enough back up option, in which case I would prefer Sami over him as a back up seamer. Sami might have gotten plenty of chances but IMO he still will make a better back up bowler then Rao, plus Sami usually played as a strike bowler not as a back up bowler. Only a couple of times he played as a backup seamer to Rana and Shoaib but mostly he played as the "other" strike bowler besides Shoaib.

Junaid was a half way decent bowler who probably got a chance sooner then he deserved due to Tauqeer Zia. I am not saying he was a total "parchi", he was a hard working, fit player who bowled lively medium pace. Still there were better option available ot Pakistan at that time.

I am wondering where is Anwar Ali Khan (from last year's U-19 team) and his opening bowling partner (forgot his name) The other guy bowled really well in the world cup, plus he is a left hander to would add more variety to the attack as well.

2 words for you all :smiley: Mohd Sami :stuck_out_tongue: all worries will be laid to rest :halo:

I don't know u guys r all talking about Anwar Ali, he has not even played a first class match yet, Jamshad Ahmed has played a few and is doing pretty well for an amateur. Both of them are at least 20-25 first class matches from even being considered, so drop all this U19 right there. There are several good bowlers in Pakistan, it is just that you need connections to make it to the top.

Whether anyone likes it or not. Sami has to get the job done right now, I hope this series against Windes is a good one for him otherwise we have to wait for his 'form'.

He has the talent and potential to bring big players on to their knees, which is when he is playing to his up most potential. He has the athletisim, fitness level (most of his career he has been dropped rather out of injuries), pace and aggresive attitude. It is all about right line and lenght and so far he is unable to find it on consistent basis.

Well, it is just a hope along with the overturn of Shoaib and Asif's ban. Let us see what happens first.

Other than that, no other bowler that have been mentioned in the thread has the ability and potential to be a consistent threat as a bowler. However, I like Anwar Ali Khan, I hope they find a way to give a game or so against Windes. Even a side match would help.

I think only Younis Khan can get the best out of him since in one of the England tests, he was bowling very very good and that was when Inzi went on a little break and Younis Khan was captaining the ship, than afterwards he was back to his usual form.

Anyway we need to give chances to Najaf Shah and Mohammad Khalil. They will at least provide variety to our horrible attack. Or maybe Akhtar Ayub..the forgotten under 19 bowler who bowls at a good pace.

If Rao plays any tests in the upcoming series, Pakistan cricket is doomed.

He performed well against India in India Test series. It is all about support, Wasim, Waqar and Shoaib always had someone by their side as a bowler to help them mature. Sami, seldom got it, thus the inconsistency. He is not that bad, you give him consistency in the team, he will perform. We had too many bowlers come and go in our team, due to injuries, politics and side issues but still we have/ sort of the talent to get the job done. Amazing.

^ Asif, Shabbir, Umar Gul, Rana didn't have a "mature" bowler on the other side to guide them as well, but as history tells they still performed better than the ladla.

I think we are fogetting some great prospects, but unfortunately unlike batsmen we never gave extended run to our fast bowlers like Irshad, Yasir Ali, Riaz Afridi, Sami Niazi, Jamshed, Anwar Ali. We shouldn't rely on players like Rao and other medium pacers, this will make us a team like India and New Zealand, where they only rely on batsmen mistakes and can't forced a break through.

Pakistan was doing good because Pak could forced a break through because of bowlers like Wasim, Waqar, Imran, Shoaib, same is true for Australia (Glen and Brett Lee), England (Harmison and Frintoff), SA (Ntini), WI (Taylor), while on other hand, INdia and Sri Landa are good teams but they have to wait for batsmen mistake to get wicket or wait for ball to get old so that Murali or Harbajan could get a wicket.

Therefore, I think sub continent teams should look for raw pace not medium pacers like Rao. Razzaq is ok because of his batting.

No doubt Sami is irratic, but we all knew because of his pace, he forced some wickets that helped PAK win matches e.g. wicket of Gungully and Dravid during last trip to India.

mashallah Jamshed Ahemed (the bowling starr ffrom WC-U19) took 5 wickets in his very first match .... lets not get excited now ... ya ALlah please humein koi classic kisam kaa bowler ataa kur dein !!

Yes, Jamshed bowled consistently well. He seems like Pakistan Stewart Broad. I think PCB should groom him. Same is true for Sami Ullah Niazi and Khalil. These two give left arm option, while Gul is doing pretty good. Sami Ullah Niazi got Yousaf and Inzi wickets, which mean he got the class.

In side match Pak should have gone with 4-prong attack of M. Sami, Sami, Khalil and Jamshed.

:dhimpak:

Hoishyaar bash … khabardar

Atta Ur Rehman will be able to play from May 2007… Ponting, Hussay, Smith, Flemings, Lara, Gayle, Jaiwardane, Sehwag…you guys are dead ! :smiley:

His bowling partner will be Mohammed Sami to cause destruction…:smiley: