Pakistanis(not players) in India

Lets write about pakistanis (viewers) in india in this thread.

**Pakistani fans welcomed in Mohali **
By Our Special Representative
MOHALI, March 8: When India toured Pakistan last year for the first time in 15 years, they were overwhelmed by the warm hospitality extended to them. So now it is their turn to do so and they are doing everything to please their guests.

Almost all hotels in Mohali and nearby Chandigarh have displayed large banners welcoming the Pakistani fans and are offering good deals. Special events to mark the occasion have been arranged and a grand dinner by the Punjab Chief Minister for visiting fans is being planned for Wednesday.

It is a party atmosphere in town and the Pakistanis are truly enjoying a taste of Indian hospitality. “I am indeed impressed, we have been greeted with open arms wherever we have gone,” said Abdul Rashid who crossed over from Wagha.

The local administration is also doing whatever it can to make things comfortable for the touring fans and have even advised the rickshaw drivers to be polite to the visitors and not to overcharge.

Outside the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium where the first Test began on Tuesday, Indian fans held aloft banners proclaiming “Dosti Pakki”:k: and shouted slogans of “Pakistani-India dosti zindabad”, while flags of both countries fluttered side by side in the distance, giving more meaning to this “Friendship Series”.

A virtually full-house at the 35,000 capacity stadium enjoyed the day’s play and cheered their teams on - the prominent feature was a huge Pakistan flag in one of the stands.

**MIXING BUSINESS **

**Some of the Pakistani fans who have streamed into India, are also doing business on the sidelines of cricket setting up stalls to sell their wares in Chandigarh, the Hindi edition of The Tribune reported on Tuesday. **

**The paper said that the officials of the local municipality objected to the Pakistanis selling stuff like dry fruit and clothes:D but on the intervention of the market’s traders, the matter was settled and they were allowed to continue. Everything was then quickly sold off. **

Re: Pakistanis(not players) in India

how can I show or quote a comment from another thread, I would like to post it in this thread.

Kaka BTW how u doin??

go to that post in the other thread and quote just like you would reply normally, but instead just copy and paste everything into a reply box on this thread

Thanks a ton nikhil

This should tell you the answer Kaka!!!

^ see Nik, that's why you shouldn't teach old dogs like Aejaz new tricks

Another article on similar lines:

** The oneness of two countries

** Roving Reporter by Osman Samiuddin in Mohali

March 8, 2005 The first three days of my stay in India confirmed what a growing number of people had told me – that there is little real difference between the two countries and especially the two Punjabs.
For three days I happily drifted along with this stereotype. Sure, Delhi has a thriving, seemingly active middle class but there is, as in Karachi and Lahore, a posh housing society set up by the armed forces (Delhi's Defence Colony is in parts remarkably similar in spirit and architecture to Lahore and Karachi's Defence Housing Authorities). The roads are also occasionally potholed and the Delhi taxi driver (mine was called, unsurprisingly I thought, Raju) could give his Karachi counterpart a real run for his rupee.
And as I took the Shatabdi Express out of Delhi to Chandigarh, I might have been in a curiously rickety yet contemporary train (it had plug points for laptop access!) that is unlikely to be seen in Pakistan, but outside, on the outskirts of the city, was the other face of Delhi. An endless stream of the most wretched slums, stuffed with tinned and mud excuses for housing – the kind so ubiquitous in the metropolis of Karachi - provided maybe the most startling reminder that Pakistan and India were both after all, one country once.
Chandigarh itself is surely the long-lost twin of Islamabad, partitioned quite possibly in time-honoured Bollywood fashion – at the Kumbh ka mela. Both are planned cities (from the 1950s) and evoke a similar sense of ominous, dislocated alienation in the evenings – the roads are incredibly smooth and wide and lined by enviable greenery. If Chandigarh benefits from the beauty of the Shivalik Hills, then Islamabad boasts the Margallas. Above all, both cities are mapped – as if in an unknowing ode to the soulless future depicted in Blade Runner - not in districts or suburbs but sectors. But by virtue of being inhabited by the gregarious and ostentatious Punjabi, and not a foreign diplomat as is the case with Islamabad, Chandigarh is the more fashionable and with-it twin. There are bars, pubs, numerous restaurants, apparently some discotheques as well and a bustling marketplace in Sector 17 which will satisfy the most ardent shopaholic from across the border. Last night, in the centre of the marketplace, there was also a Pakistani poetry recital event.
By far the biggest difference, the most startling reminder that you are not in Pakistan comes from inside the PCA stadium in Mohali on my fourth day, the first of the Test match. In size, shape and design it is not a world away from the stadium in Rawalpindi.
The day before the game started, the stadium was home to typically subcontinent chaos inside; journalists scrambling for practice sessions, looking for media accreditation passes, the best seats in the press box, the best seats for the press conferences. All were trying to be handled by simultaneously amicable and intimidating security guards. But once the match got underway this morning, the stadium – and India – was transformed. From early in the morning, the stands were over three-quarters full.
Briefly, until the players appeared in their whites, I thought we were at a one-day match. Having watched the series last year surrounded by empty concrete and barely a whisper from the crowd, 15-18,000 colourful, jovial, loud Indians and Pakistanis for a Test match was as much a shock to the system as any. They banged drums, blew horns, waved flags, flew inane banners and all with unflagging enthusiasm.
** The greater shock is the presence of, according to officials, approximately 3000 Pakistanis in Chandigarh and its surrounding areas to watch this Test. If that is the case, then there are more Pakistanis, and by a considerable margin, than appeared in the Lahore Test between the two sides last year; more, probably, than appeared in any of the tests from that series. Explain please? **
One 25-year old fan from Lahore, using his Pakistani flag as a superhero's cape, explained that he had come here not just for the match. "I also wanted to explore at least some of India. Youngsters in both countries are educated from a young age to dislike India or Pakistan. But I wanted to explore the place myself and find out what it is like. Both countries are barely different." And why didn't he go explore some Indians at the Lahore test last year? "It's much easier watching it on TV." Unsatisfied, I persisted: But why come all the way over here, with all the bureaucratic hassle that is involved? Finally, sheepishly, he gave a clue when he asked about how he could go explore the "nightlife of Chandigarh, you know, disco-shisco." :biggthumb
And despite talk that the dosti-dosti bandwagon might have run out of steam, other fans were unequivocal that they had received a royal reception. And if some of the banners are to be believed – "I hate politics but I love cricket" and "We have only love for each other"- then maybe there is some more mileage, albeit limited in this dosti.

Aejaz bhai i am fine and kicking.:slight_smile:
How are you, i PMed you when you were in hospital but you never replied. Humne to socha ki aap bhul gaye hume:rolleyes:
sab khairiyat?

Aarey nahi bhai, aap ko bhool kar kahan jayege, abhi kuch din aur rehna hai amreeka me, :smiley: waise I am doing fine, :slight_smile:

We all know you are jumping with joy Aejaz bhai. Enjoy it till lasts, cuz it won’t last for long :insha: :snooty:

Louooo, ker lo baat :-|:k:, keun unki Umeedoun per paani phair rahay ho Captain,kiya
app nay Taufee baba ko wapis Pakistan bhaij diya hai kiya ? yahan koi aur Inqalaab a raha hai,:hehe::k:

http://jang.com.pk/thenews/mar2005-daily/10-03-2005/sports/s10.htm

And on a similar note, thirty-five years old Mohammad Sohail who has come here to watch the Test match was also lucky to get emergency treatment and care when there arose a shooting pain in his abdomen.

Unable to bear the pain — which lasted for over four hours — he was finally taken to the General Hospital, where he was given a painkiller.

Though the pain subsided, it resurfaced soon and finally he was rushed to a leading local hospital at around 3.00am in the night where he was given the IV-Flush therapy.

After undergoing proper tests and ultrasound it was diagnosed that he was suffering from a right lower urethric stone and through the efforts of doctors at the hospital they immediately decided to provide him relief through endoscopic laser treatment.

The stone was removed after a procedure lasting some 40 minutes and living upto their pre-Test match announcement the doctors who did the operation refused to charge him a single penny leaving Sohail completely floored.

“This is our bit to promote Pakistan and India friendship,” said Dr Rajesh Gulia at the Fortis Hospital.

^ :salute: :clap::clap: :salute:

Warm welcome for Pak fans signifies change in Indians’ attitude
http://jang.com.pk/thenews/mar2005-daily/11-03-2005/sports/s5.htm
From our correspondent

MOHALI: For a Pakistani journalist who is visiting India for the fifth time in the last ten years, the visible change in the attitude and thinking of the Pakistani and Indian people towards each other has been noticeable here in Chandigarh.

Since reaching Chandigarh it has been amazing to watch the red carpet treatment that has been given to the few thousand Pakistani visitors from across the border to watch the first test in Mohali.

It is another thing that majority of the Pakistani visitors have enjoyed themselves more doing some sightseeing and shopping rather than coming to the stadium to watch the match.

And even on the third day they were only a few hundred Pakistanis around to cheer their stadium as their vocal efforts were overshadowed by the sea of Indian supporters.

But the few Pakistanis who were in the stadium were treated with respect and one could see a great deal of camaraderie they enjoyed with the Indians.

Most of them having their faces painted with the Pakistan and Indian flags said it all.

But then the mood in Chandigarh and Mohali this week
has generally been one of solidarity and amity with all the restaurants and hotels hoisting big banners welcoming the Pakistani visitors.

The newspapers have been full of stories and photographs of the Pakistani visitors meeting relatives, getting free medical treatment, shopping, at the stadium, etc and who were on Wednesday night treated to a big dinner by the Punjab Chief Minister, Captain Amarinder Singh.

On the occasion the chief minister, who is heading a 33-member delegation of Indian industry officials to Pakistan next week, expressed confidence that direct trade between the two countries would be resumed soon.

“It is a significant stage for building trade ties between the two countries,” he said. He also spoke on the need for transit trade facilities between the two countries.

The Pakistani visitors were later treated to a grand dinner and cultural show while in other parts of the city also there were special shopping festivals for the visitors with special discounts.

“We never imagined we could get such a welcome in India. The only thing we regret is that the Indian government didn’t give us a longer duration visa and the right to visit other cities where the matches are being held,” Begum Faiza, accompanied by her husband, said.

However, so far some 500 Pakistan visitors have got their visas extended at special counters for Patiala, Ambala and some nearby cities.

The visa extension counters have been set up by the Punjab police at the Mohali Stadium and at a stadium in Chandigarh.

Pakistan cricket Board official Abbas Zaidi said he had worked in the Pakistan High Commission in Delhi for a number of years when he was a serving government official but this is the first time he had seen so much closeness and trust between the people. “It is so pleasing to know that cricket is playing a big role in bringing the people of both countries closer together,” he said.

Watching some of the Pakistani and Indian youngsters marching to the stadium this afternoon armed with the tricolour Indian flag and the Pakistan flag, one could only wonder how easily the walls of mistrust and hate can be brought down if the governments were sincere in their intents.

The scenes one has witnessed here have been so different from what one saw in Bangalore in the 1996 World Cup quarter final when the partisan Indian crowds abused the Pakistani players and there was a feeling of tension all round the stadium and even outside it.

But on this visit all that hate seems a distinct dream and there appears to be a sincere commitment to improve relations by both sides. The one jarring note was a mild lathi charge carried out at a Woodlands showroom in Chandigarh when some Pakistan players visited the showroom and were mobbed by fans.

^^ :clap::clap::jhanda::clap::clap: :smiley:

A Pakistani cricket fan exults in Chandigarh
[thumb=H]high127929119760_8883849.JPG[/thumb]

ye bawla ho gaya hai chandigarh ki hawa kha ke.

^^ Look at the one behind him in the blue shirt and beard. Woh ziada mast lagta hie.

I think this should have been expected in Punjab, I dont know about the rest of India. Though this series is certainly being played in a much more freindly manner than pervious ones.