Pakistani's - Finding a partner

thnaks hmcq!

Hmcq, thank you! I will look into the above and only bother you thru pm if necessary. Appreciate the knowlege sharing. If you know of any more, keep me posted. Thanks.

*Originally posted by sixfeet: *

Both parents and I will have the final word. Are "ideals" are quite aligned. Just having trouble meeting the right person. And yes I am ready. Thanks :)

dont mind me... i must have been having a bad day when i wrote that hmmmm :)

muslimgatherings going to have an event on Sept 27 in DC and I have friends going there.

The Michigan Friends is holding an event in Detroit on Oct 18th and know people who will be there as well.

And if you are in NY or Toronto heres another link
http://www.imaponline.org/
Dont know anyone whos been there so you are on your own here. But they did recently have an event

As for desi events, in Boston you have the following events coming up
Not really to meet a potential spouse but perhaps to make new friends who may help you out.

2003 Boston Cricket Tournament
September 20 from 8:30am
Hopkington State Park

Sir Syed Day 2003 Mushaira**
September 26 at 7:00pm
Marlborough Middle School Auditorium, Marlborough

OPEN Networking Event: Professional Women in Leadership
October 4, 12-5pm
Tricknor Lounge, Harvard University

Pak Millennium Conference: Strengthening Civil Society
October 11 9am-5pm
Higgins Hall, Boston College

HDFNA Fundraiser
Music Program with Javed Raza
Hilton Hotel, Logon Airport
October 18

Akbar Ahmed Book Signing
October 18

In the NY/NJ area
there are a couple of organizations:

PACS -Pakistani American Cultural Society

And there is Pakistani Network Organization as well but I forget the name.

guyz...stop worrying about turning 30 and not being married!
i just went through this crisis and came out of it with ONE MOTTO!
Enjoy Your Freedom!
InshAllah we'll all be married someday and then we'll be missing this freedom that we are taking for granted now!
just my 2 cents!
i'm really hoping to stick to this motto...i'm jus not sure how long i'll b able to do it!

That really depends on your view of marriage and who you expect to marry.

Would you rather spend more time with the perfect person (if thats the person you got married to) or less. Would you rather spend more time with your children or less if you had any :)

^ nicely said there hmcq

zideeeeeeeee :wave:

Thanks Hmcq

Thnaks again hmcq! The amount of helpful information you have given me is very valuable. I appreciate it!

zidee, your motto is certainly idealistic. But when reality hits you, it hits you hard :) Keep the faith bro!

sixfeet - u r just mean! y r u talking about reality when i'm trying soooo hard to stay in "my own little world". yes this reality really bites...but when u have no choice...then u have to think of other ways to spend your days then worry about...when am i going to get married? who am i going to marry? etc etc etc.

hmcq - u did have a point about time...i had never thought of it like that!

sadzzz - help!!! i think i'm in trouble....these guys just won't drop the subject. i really really CAN NOT afford to start thinking about this topic again. i just dealt with this crisis!

sigh

*Originally posted by zidee: *
hmcq - u did have a point about time...i had never thought of it like that!

Anything to help :)... Everyone looks up at the clouds and sees different things up there :)

*Originally posted by hmcq: *
Anything to help :)... Everyone looks up at the clouds and sees different things up there :)

you did have a point with what u said up there, but my point is, we are just wasting time, worrying about, when am i going to get married? who am i going to marry? where am i going to meet this wonderful/special person?

why not enjoy this time u have.
i'm sure Allah has a master plan for all of us!
i really believe that....if I exist then my significant other/better half must also exist out there...and when the time is right for us, we will find each other!

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Late thirties, you say? Dude, some may say you are already late in the game. Late twenties is when "mariagable age" starts, amongst most Pakistanis. Don't worry though. I am sure there is someone just right for you, somewhere. :)

Lagta hai faisal bhai bhi late 30s me kunwarey bhetain hain ;)

*Originally posted by zidee: *

you did have a point with what u said up there, but my point is, we are just wasting time, worrying about, when am i going to get married? who am i going to marry? where am i going to meet this wonderful/special person?

why not enjoy this time u have.
i'm sure Allah has a master plan for all of us!
i really believe that....if I exist then my significant other/better half must also exist out there...and when the time is right for us, we will find each other!

Zidee I disagree. Sometimes we take this concept of destiny too far. Its like saying when my time hasnt come to die and I stand in front of a moving trailer, nothing will happen. I think there is a balance between looking and putting in some effort and going over board.

The question I would ask is if you look around you, do you really believe all your friends met the people they are married to because it just so happened? I know plenty of people who met that way but there are aslo plenty of people who have to work and find the person they wanna marry.

And finally if there is someone out there for everyone, then why all the debate about arranged or non-arranged marriage? I mean anyone we marry was the person who we were meant to be with :), so we shouldnt need to ask any questions and worry about anything. Just go ahead and get married :).

Zidee I disagree. Sometimes we take this concept of destiny too far. Its like saying when my time hasnt come to die and I stand in front of a moving trailer, nothing will happen. I think there is a balance between looking and putting in some effort and going over board.

The question I would ask is if you look around you, do you really believe all your friends met the people they are married to because it just so happened? I know plenty of people who met that way but there are aslo plenty of people who have to work and find the person they wanna marry.

And finally if there is someone out there for everyone, then why all the debate about arranged or non-arranged marriage? I mean anyone we marry was the person who we were meant to be with :), so we shouldnt need to ask any questions and worry about anything. Just go ahead and get married :).

hmcq - i guess you can say i still have these romantic ideas in my head and i truly do believe that my perfect match/better half is out there and he is looking for me and will find me someday...and i don't have to sit here and worry about finding him.
plz don't get me wrong, the problem is my bday is coming up and its just hit me now that OMG i'm no where close to getting married, even though i am so settled in my career...but even still, i don't think panicing or going around worrying about who am i going to marry and when? or where i'm going to find such a person is going to help in any way...except adding more stress to my life and giving me even more grey hair than i already have!
i need to let things happen!
my friends or ppl around me - well, a healthy blend of arranged and love marriages! all happy MashAllah!
hey maybe the arranged marriage is the way for me...my parents apparently are looking...maybe they'll find me my perfect match or maybe i'll run into him somewhere sometimes! i don't know! but I know he's out there! maybe its some1 i already know as a friend or maybe its some1 i have not met yet...don't know...guess only time will tell!

if the cinderala/snow white story worked... then we would need the parents looking around or if they did meet someone they would not need to ask the person about themselves, what they do or about their khandaan....Sorry but I guess I tend to be a bit more realistic...

I did not mean people need to panic, just saying that people need to balance the two things - the looking and the lack of looking for their perfect person. If a career/job doesnt come by itself and we have to work hard for it then why assume that the perfect person will come by on its own :).

I tend to agree to draw a balance between looking and having some faith. Like anything in life, some moderation is required. Dont look desparately, but do take charge of the situation.... and leave the rest for the forces around us....

Ever read Paulo Coehlo's the Al-Chemist... I must paraphrase him ( I dare not quote, because I dont want to mis quote him)... but in the book the central theme is that when you identify a goal in life and set out to achieve it, the entire universe conspires to help you succeed.

And dont ever lose faith in Allah.

Also, interesting to note how such a practical thread took on a more philosophical twist with the passage of time...

:hehe: i was thinking the same thing

Ok sixfeet
time for you to make it practical again :). The philosphical twists are needed to make us human. if we did not dream we would not achieve and if we did not achieve we would not be human :).

if the cinderala/snow white story worked... then we would need the parents looking around or if they did meet someone they would not need to ask the person about themselves, what they do or about their khandaan....Sorry but I guess I tend to be a bit more realistic...

I did not mean people need to panic, just saying that people need to balance the two things - the looking and the lack of looking for their perfect person. If a career/job doesnt come by itself and we have to work hard for it then why assume that the perfect person will come by on its own :).

hmcq - i'm not sure if i completely agree with you on this...cuz no matter how hard i worked to get to where i am...i still just needed faith and luck to get me through...my hard work alone was not enough!
therefore, since then, i've stopped praying for and looking for things that i want in life...if they are meant to be, then they will happen.
whether i work to achieve them or not!

sixfeet - i really liked...

when you identify a goal in life and set out to achieve it, the entire universe conspires to help you succeed.

but overall, i am just refusing to go out there and look for some1! he will have to find me...and i think faith, destiny, and all other such forces will HAVE to come together to bring us together!