Pakistanis Boxers hopeful of winning gold in Manchester

Pakistani boxers Syed Asghar Ali and Shaukat Ali Chatta are hoping to win gold medals in the commonwealth games starting in Manchester from July 25.

Syed Asghar Ali was a silver medalist in the 1998 games in Kuala Lumpur in the lightweight category. This year he will be competing in the light welterweight category.
He won gold in the Olympic qualifiers in South Korea in 2000 before losing in the quarterfinals of the Sydney Olympics the same year. Ali was declared the best boxer in the 25 team Chowdhry International at Baku, Azerbaijanin March this year and went on to clinch silver in the kings cup in Thailand in April this year.

There is a glimmer of hope of gold for Pakistan in the heavyweight division from Shaukat Ali chatta, a strapping boxer from Faislabad. Chatta, 29, has won back to back gold medals at the kings cup for the last two years and grabbed gold in the Asian boxing championship in Kuala Lumpur last month. He also won a silver medal in the Asian games in Thialand in 1998.

Professor Anwar Chaudhary, the head of Pakistan boxing Association, lamented the lack of government support for boxing in Pakistan and said that these boxers can become world hampion provided they get financial security and better treatment and facilities.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited July 18, 2002).]

Wish them good luck

Owner of Mehkama-e-Sharafat
ô¿ô
.~.
Rude Boyz Rulez

We need more of them we need more sport men and this is a good beginning

Go Pak Go!

“meRe SoOnE kE joOtE naHi." – ShiNoO© …
“yoUr comManD iS mY wiSH.” – ShiNoO© …
“mE tO hooN hI BurRA.” – Ali_R 'n SHuJ©

Go Pak Boxers!

May Allah Be With You. Ameen

Advice for our boxers… When you get punched alot, and see three opponents infront of you, hit the one in the middle

Hope this helps, (it helped Rocky)…

Good luck boys…

In the men's featherweight division preliminary round Ali Haider of Pakistan beat Medor Michael of mauritius by 12 points to 10

good man de lal-taan…***
khuda inko Kamyabi atta karay…ameen…

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…

Pak boxers have won medals in the Olympics b4, yet we never hear about them after. For example in Seoul olympics, some 'Shah' won gold, why don't they turn professional?

Ali Haider of Pakistan beat Ashton 25 points to 14 to advance to the quarter finals of the featherweight (upto 57kgs) division.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

Best Wishes..

—=::´´¨¨º¤ Raja Pakistani ¤°¨¨``::=—

Ali Haider has won his quarter final and semi final fights and will be fighting for the gold medal on 3 August.

** Good Luck**

Originally posted by ehsan:
**Ali Haider has won his quarter final and semi final fights and will be fighting for the gold medal on 3 August.

** Good Luck****

Good Luck to Ali hope he wins the final

Indo-Pak showdown for featherweight crown!

Som Bahadur Pun Vs Haider Ali
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow.asp?art_ID=17793673

TusaaN kooN maaN WatanaaN da, AsaaN haaN yaar Pardesi.

[This message has been edited by DonJuan DeMarco (edited August 01, 2002).]

Well, I was going to back Haidar until I read this one..Now it will be the Indian I will be rooting for.

But may the best guy win.

AK

Life is like a piano, What u get out of it depends on how u play it.

Talk about a once in a lifetime opportunity - the chance to clean some Indian’s clock and it’s all legal.

I predict a clean KO by Ali and lights out for the Injun

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pagal.gif

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/1028211041.jpg

Pakistan’s Haider Ali (L) fights Canada’s Benoit Gaudet during their semi-final 57kg bout at the 2002 Commonwealth Games August 1, 2002. Haider won a place in the final. REUTERS/Ian Hodgson