*Originally posted by irem: *
any guy and girl if they interact a lot and are not repulsed by each other are gonna fall in 'love'....
Keeping this theory in mind, 100% of american work-force would fall in love very very soon.
*Originally posted by irem: *
any guy and girl if they interact a lot and are not repulsed by each other are gonna fall in 'love'....
Keeping this theory in mind, 100% of american work-force would fall in love very very soon.
*Originally posted by Majestic: *
OK what I meant, is I can't believe you guys would not marry people from other parts of Pakistan, like one Pakistani once told me, he could not marry a Punjab b/c he was not a Punjab..
in some cases is prejudice but you do realize that there are different groups with their own culture and language? and i dont mean a dialect difference like between egyptians and saudis, we are talking entirely different languages, and a vastly different culture.
some can deal with it and some cant.
pakistani weddings(I need to clear a few things up)
Salaam all.......(posting this agian... cuz cant find the second post think i put it under a different topic.)...........
just want to clear up something......I said "his Umi hates me"..........welll thats not true.......(Astagfirgullah)..........I made that statement out of pure emotion......I really dont know if she hates me but...based on the fact we have not met yet i should not make that assumption.....but i do know that i am not at all what she planned for her son.......I am not Pakistani and im sure all the years of planning and expectations of her daughter -inlaw went right out the door when he told her about me....im sure the way she feels is dissappiontment and not hate...........but race does pay a part in her dissappiontment based on what my fiancee has told me.......but Insha Allah she will accept me...........i will show her nothing but respect from my heart....insha Allah she will do the same.......
Masha Allah......you all have been so helpfull to me............i honestly got a better understanding of the flip side of pakistani culture.............All cultures, races, countries ect....have there downsides.......knowing that helps me not to take it so personal.................but im looking forward to beaing emraced by my new family insha Allah.........jazakallah khair.........for those who kept it real..................
wa- salaam
Funguy, didn't know you actually had a brain :D Good points though. It is true that Pakistani mothers go for girls with fair complexion. All Pakistanis think this way...educated and noneducated alike.
Fraudz...making another good point...that some people think this way while others don't. Everyone has different mentality on this.
In addition, vast differences arise in culture, religion, etc. when a Pakistani marries one of another race or religion. Ultimately, it's the couple that has to be together on a daily basis. My point is, let THEM work it all, if worse comes to worse.
Its too bad Pakistani culture is like this. I think, personally, its VERY shi*** on our parts. Not to say that other cultures don’t do that. I REALLY don’t understand this obsession with fair skin either ![]()
I know it happens, but i can’t say I can understand it or see where it is coming from.
I personally would like to marry a desi, guy ONLY b/c of cultural similarities. But if I found someone who wasn’t , I wouldn’t be against it. My top priority in a partner is muslim. As for mother in law/daughter in law psssh… I know of VERY few of those relationships going smoothly. I am not trying to be stereotypical. What I have seen from my aunties, khalas, phuppos, my own mother-is a LOT of tension-mothers in general have issues with letting go of there sons or something.
I am sure i pissed some people off. Sorry if I did. I am just voicing my opinion on the matter
Salam ![]()
^^^ beti you’ll marry whoever your mummy and daddy say you will ![]()
I couldn’t agree with you more. Well said! :k:
No need to write novels here. Doubt she'll read all of it.
*Originally posted by Majestic: *
^ man how sad is that!
I used to always think that Arabs were racist when it comes to the kind of people to marry but Pakistanis TOP IT ALL!
Majestic dearie, it's not a particular race, nationality, or geography. It's always about human awareness, knowledge, perception, and education. Be that a black country or white, Arabic or Pakistani.