[thumb=D]col13.JPG[/thumb]
great analysis :k:
translation please!!!
bohut khoob! :k:
i didnt read all of it but I’m sure it would be some interesting BS :k:
cool :k:
bilkul baro ki batien hai.. bacho ki waisay bhee samajh mein nahien atee.
surror baji agar app nahee samjhayeein gee tou phir kon samjhiyey gaa ![]()
Its never late to learn Pakistans national language- reading and speaking and writing.. to appreciate and feel and think and relate in it..
DOn't worry my ABCD friends. There is nothing you missed. This is basically an ass-kissing write up by some idiot in NYC. He is kissing the bride's father's ass to get some future invitations to these "VIP" gatherings.
Its more than that not only is the writer brown nosing big time but at the same time he is showing him to be oh so much better than other Pakistani-Americans who in his view are so bad that they have alcohol and stuff at their events under the excuse of "social necessity" The jackass has a rather lame predisposition towards Pakistani-Americans. stupid guy
fraudz, whats wrong with being successful while keeping ur religion and traditions intact?
i agree that the writer might be exagerating, but that wasnt the point of the article.
fungy.. abcds?..lol.. look who's talking. and maybe he is kissing the bride's father's ass.. lekin again that wasnt the point of the article.
p.s u dont have to be so bitter since u never got invitation.
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
DOn't know what to think of it.
Basically I agree with the last two words in Fraudz's post :-)
interesting replies, why cant we just applaud the guy (Choudhry) for what he did? Why do we have to anlayze everything and make it out to be something its not? How do you know the intentions of the writer? How do you if he wants to go to any other events hosted by choudhry sahib? I
*Originally posted by suroor_ca02: *
fraudz, whats wrong with being successful while keeping ur religion and traditions intact?
i agree that the writer might be exagerating, but that wasnt the point of the article.
fungy.. abcds?..lol.. look who's talking. and maybe he is kissing the bride's father's ass.. lekin again that wasnt the point of the article.
p.s u dont have to be so bitter since u never got invitation.
suroor did you bother to get the point that i was making?
lets address point by point..
1) there is nothing wrong with being successful while keeping your religion and traditions intact...
the point that the lame author made was that everytime he would cheer whoever this dude is for sticking to his religion and traditions, he brings in some lame statement with a very condescending tone that other pakistani-americans dont stick to their traditions and then referring to people serving alcohol or having dancers over due to what he notes as 'social necessity'
The article would have been a nice article had he described the events and how well the event was planned and executed without making snide comments about "other" pakistani-americans and "social necessities" cuz tons could be set about how pakistani ppl in pakistan run their events ;)
2)I am not bitter, but you seem to be taking it personally as if you supplied the ladoos for the event or something
*Originally posted by Kaleem: *
interesting replies, why cant we just applaud the guy (Choudhry) for what he did? Why do we have to anlayze everything and make it out to be something its not? How do you know the intentions of the writer? How do you if he wants to go to any other events hosted by choudhry sahib? I
Interesting times when we have to applaud someone who does what he should do..tomorrow I will have a big awards ceremony for my postal carrier for delivering my mail..
hey good for chaudhry saab, he stuck to what he thinks is right..
no one would have said anything else, had thsi amateurish, johnny-come-lately, Dhaka paas BA from open university had not had been such a byatch towards pakistani-americans and had bothered to fix his condescending tone before he pushed the send button on his PC :)
which mickey mouse newspaper printed this story anyways? quality control naam ki koi cheez reh gayee hai ya naheen?
Well..it seems the only reason he is successful is because of islam. A feat so grand that all those successful people around the world are confused as to whether they might be muslims. ![]()
And of course the mullah brigade is all so happy at this as to validate their middling existence.
A good job all around. :k:
Poor fraudiya has to explain his logic for the 10th time as not to offend any pious soul.
I had read this story when it was published online at Jang (or was it Nawa-e-Waqt, I am not sure) a few days ago. Most Pakistanis active in US political circles are familiar with Rasheed Chaudhry. So, he had a lavish wedding for his daughter and didn't serve alcohol and had no dancing. Good for him.
Other than that, I didn't read anything much into this column. Sure the writer took some digs at "other" Pakistani-Americans, but thats his personal opinion. He may have formed it based on his personal experiences and is most welcome to it. Ofcourse, if someone feels offended at the gross generalizations, they should send a rebuttal to the newspaper for publication.
There is a polarization among desis in NYC. I am sure the columnist has a bone to pick with some other desi dignitary who prolly doesnt get along well with either Rasheed Chowdhury or the author himself.
I agree with Fraudiya that this was a private function and at best deserved a factual commentary of events and should have left the moral of the story for the readers to conclude.
And it pisses me even more if it was published in a Pakistani daily. It wrongfully gives the picture that all Pakistanis ala carte Rasheed Chodhury stage events that allow alcohol and dancing. Not that I give a shiit but still, it is poor taste in journalism.