pakistani ways of the world...

so many little things in our families mean the world to others dont they, especially among our own people/family. i notice my gorey friends dont stress about silly little things, like what she said he said stuff, we tend to over think.

today, i went to my aunts house, her son( my cousin) and his wife and kids are going on holiday, now in our family its tradtition to give them gifts before anyone goes on holiday,

my hubbys wasnt well at all past 2 days and hes still ill today so i said bye to them in case i dnt see them before they go on holiday, ( cos hubbys ill, may not be able to come) they fly out wednesday.
i didnt take any gifts as i wasnt prepared to say bye today, they called us round for dinner, i wouldve gone today ro 2mrw anyway to say bye.

anyway mum is now giving me a lecture as how it didnt look good that i didnt give anything, and that unho nai to roti kay liya boliya aur tumne khuda hafiz bi kehdiya..gift nahi to paise dedeti

is this such a big deal…

how would i come across now to my cusins…who just because they live in joint family has never given me anything, its always aunty that gives it, they gives as one althought they recieve as two

im now living alone with hubby so it was deemed my duty..

what must they think of me…booo hooo.i wouldnt care, but mum does…:

Re: pakistani ways of the world...

Nadz you have too much drama in your family.

Yes, Pakistanis still live in the Victorian era, with their proper teas, their proper tea parties, their proper gender etiquette, and their proper gandagi.

^They wouldn't have invited you if they didn't like you. People don't make such an effort as a dinner invitation for those they don't care for. Tell your mom that you're not going to discuss this issue with her anymore and that it's not some Islamic rule that you must always bring gifts for travelers. Rather a good Muslim is one who wishes his brothers and sisters well and had kind words to say........and this does not always have to come with a gift. And that you have fulfilled that formality as a Muslim. There. Done.

***************** *Now here is a suggestion that I have. You see, gift giving becomes a CYCLE, so to speak. I'll explain. You give gift to Aunti......she gives gift to you.........you feel the need to give a gift again........she gives one to you..........and so the cycle continues until the crack of doom. Just.......break the cycle. You might be doing many people a favor. When you fail to give a gift so some Aunti who previously gave you a gift......she might think *"Oh well, Nadia didn't get me a gift, so I won't get her one the next time either." ** So, then she won't get you one in the future and you won't be obligated to get her one either. You and Aunti Ji will meet each other with a smile and kind words and no mention of the lack of presents. The other family members will notice this and may think, "Jee.......maybe the world won't end if we didn't bring a gift." And then maybe others might start becoming a bit more "relaxed" about this tradition that your family has come up with.

"With out drama life is khaberNama."

JK 2009

Re: pakistani ways of the world...

Haha nice, i guess enjoy it. Some people have no family around them, so they have boring lives! We live colourful lives :p