Pakistani water polo team in India

Just like us, only Pakistani

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/cms.dll/html/uncomp/articleshow?artid=298289

TIMES NEWS NETWORK TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 25, 2003 01:37:23 PM ]

Had they stood amidst the chirping lot of youngsters on Fergusson College road, you would have hardly believed they were foreigners.

Speaking the usual Hinglish, garnished with typical net-lingo, studying computer science and biotechnology, with dollar dreams and sports and girlfriends, it took sometime, even for the press, to accept, that these 20-somethings had just arrived from a country situated geographically closest and emotionally farthest to India.

Farhaan, Ali, Kashif, Mohsin, Osman, Arslan, Hasan and Tanzeel, members of Pakistani water polo team visiting India as an initial step to warming up relationships between the two countries, fell instantly in love with India.

Had Pune not forced them to rethink their opinion, it could have been one of the best efforts at breaking the ice.

As part of the Pakistan-India People’s Forum For Peace And Democracy initiative, the water polo team from the Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS), was scheduled to play the Pune university team on Saturday.

When the Patit Pavan Sanghatana threatened violence, the Deccan Gymkhana officials were forced to cancel the match. Speaking to PT about their tour, the Pakistani team members poured their heart out about issues most politicians from both the countries shy away from.

On Indians: Bollywood has created a very glamorous image of India and Indians in Pakistan," says Arslan, “Even the poverty in India seems to have a halo around it, if you believe Hindi movies!”

Ali interrupts, saying, “We were told by everyone, that it was next to impossible to reach India without a hassle. But the Indian officers surprised us with their open attitude.”

Farhaan, captain of the team, adds, “We even shared jokes on our journey here. I found Indians to be far more sensible that their portrayal on our national channels.”

On cricket: Cricket match ho to hum Pakistani kaam chhodenge, magar match nahin !" exclaims Hasan, reflecting the Indian ethos towards the sport.

“Cricket is in our blood and that’s why even a poor boy from a village can make it to the Pakistani national team on merit,” explains Arslan, “The reason why Indo-Pak matches take on the colour of a war, is the restrictions on cricket. If there are only three matches between us in three years, the game fades away. If the matches happen more often, cricket will win rather than India or Pakistan.”

On politics and democracy: I have never voted and will never vote in any election," says Osman, “It’s not out of anger towards any politician, it’s my dis-interest.”

All of them agree with him (another similarity with Indian youth, perhaps). “In Pakistan, political manipulation is so much easier than in India. The average Pakistani is completely controlled by the chowdhari of the village and votes blindly. For decades, Pakistani politicians have captured pockets and they still win the same amount of votes every time,” Ali adds.

As far as international politics is concerned, all eight polo players are completely disillusioned. “This hyped rift between Christians and Muslims is making our lives hell. Western countries just refuse to accept talented Pakistani youth, suspecting them to be terrorists.”

On religion and fanaticism: Yes we are the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and we will maintain this status," say all these University students in unison.

“Islam is a great religion, provided it’s not misinterpreted. Having a disciplined life and uniform law unifies a country, but fanaticism arises out of deprivation and frustration of the masses, which ruins it all,” says Farhaan.

On girlfriend and parties: The giggles break out and Hasan asks, “What are the chances that our parents read your paper?” Once assured that the chances are almost nil, the truth comes out.

“Yes, we do have girlfriends and there’s nothing wrong in that. In Pakistan, no one is open about it, though,” says Osman, “If parents get to know, the scene is contrary to Hindi films, as the boy has to marry the girl without wasting a single day. We don’t want to lose our freedom just yet!”

Ali impatiently adds, “Hey, our major aim in India is to party as much as possible, as it’s not allowed in Pakistan.”

On Pune: Pune is a great city and we loved our stay here. People here speak Hindi in a funny accent, but they are so friendly," gushed captain Farhaan Irfan. “It’s the first time that we have seen so many girls driving bikes so fearlessly on the streets,” he said.

Yeah they are my uni mates, i know a couple of them. they sure were excited about this. and the tour is somehwat being looked forward since a while.

Regarding their Girlfriend talk, i know the respective gf’s and wonder what thier opinion is gonna be if they read this :rolleyes: :hehe:

Ali impatiently adds, "Hey, our major aim in India is to party as much as possible, as it's not allowed in Pakistan."

Interesting.

^^ Either Ali doesnt go out Or he doesnt know the places, there are lots of places in lahore where regular parties are held.(even where he studies) BUT if he is intersted in other kinda stuff, surely they are scarce here. :hehe:

Saby bhai, Ahem, parhai mein dhayan dein, doosra stuff chor dein. :smiley:

^ Ahem, yeh doosra kya hota hai? Saqlain ka pehla to pata hai...

woh Ehsan bhai parhaai main dhyaan tu dhyaan dena hee parta hai :bummer: main tu Ali ke bhalay ki baat hee ker raha thaa :smiley: