Pakistani Villagers Pay a Price for Defying Rebels Along Afghan Border

At least somebody is standing up to these terrorists & criminals.

Pakistani Villagers Pay a Price for Defying Rebels Along Afghan Border

BAZITKHEL, Pakistan – This tiny village in northwestern Pakistan has paid a high price for its defiance.
The health clinic lies in ruins, blasted to rubble by a car bomb that exploded outside three weeks ago. The mayor’s compound next door is full of jagged holes. Five residents are dead, including a shopkeeper’s small son and daughter. More than 20 were injured, including a young man whose right hand was severed.
But while most inhabitants of this violence-plagued region near the Afghan border have been cowed by the growing tide of Islamist and criminal violence, those in a handful of communities like Bazitkhel – where tribal bonds are especially strong – are determined to arm themselves and fight back.
Any vehicle that approaches Bazitkhel on the winding road from Peshawar, the provincial capital about 20 miles away, is quickly surrounded by men of all ages, each carrying a rifle and many loaded with grenade vests, ammo belts or military weapons. None wears a uniform or a badge.
“I am an educated and peaceful man. I would rather be carrying a book than a gun,” said Hizar Amin Shah, 22, leaning on a rocket launcher. Shah said he spent the past decade studying and working in the capital, Islamabad, but has answered the call to return and defend his home. “These terrorists want to destroy the peace of Pakistan. It is up to us to finish them,” he said.
The government of Pakistan, facing pressure from the West and increasing concern among its own citizens, has been struggling for months to contain an epidemic of religiously cloaked mayhem that is spreading from tribal havens along the Afghan border into the surrounding belt of “settled” areas that are theoretically protected by the state.
Authorities have tried various methods, first using the army to attempt to quash the rebels, and more recently negotiating truces with individual militia groups. Thousands of conflict-zone inhabitants, terrified by government bombing and insurgent brutality, have fled their homes. Few local officials dare visit their constituencies without military escorts.
A few tribal leaders, however, have refused to budge and are urging others to do the same. One of the first was Anwar Kamal Marwat, a former member of Parliament, who decided to organize a self-defense force in 2007 after Taliban militias began kidnapping and threatening people in his native Lakki Marwat district, demanding their support for a holy war.
“We are Muslims, and we know what holy war is. What they were doing was committing crimes,” Marwat, 60, said last week in Peshawar. “They kept threatening us, but our tribe is very united and every village went on alert. We wanted to stop them before the cancer spread. It took many months, but now all their camps are gone, and they have not been back.”
Marwat’s success has been both an inspiration to other vulnerable communities and an embarrassment to the government, whose police are supposed to keep order and whose army is supposed to fight extremists.
One problem, according to experts and tribal leaders, is the divided loyalties and limited capacity of the security forces. Police are easily corrupted, tribal constabularies are ill-equipped and soldiers are often reluctant to shoot fellow Muslims. It is also widely believed here, though the government denies it, that Pakistani intelligence agencies covertly aid the insurgents in order to create trouble for next-door Afghanistan.
A second problem is that malefactors of all types benefit from a peculiar administrative arrangement, instituted by British colonial rulers, in which Pakistan’s seven tribal zones are overseen by a federal agency and are off-limits to provincial or state security forces. As a result, they have become sanctuaries for both Islamist militias and criminal mafias, a distinction that local leaders said is becoming increasingly irrelevant.
“Some of the tribal agencies are totally controlled by the militants, and we are surrounded on three sides,” said Afrasiab Khattak, a senior official in the party that rules North-West Frontier Province. Khattak has been a key promoter of the recent peace agreement with Taliban commanders in the Swat Valley, a tourist region in the province just outside the tribal belt.
The agreement has been criticized as creating a launching pad for a fundamentalist sweep through Pakistan. Last week, Islamic law courts began operating in Swat under the agreement, but Taliban commanders have not yet laid down their weapons. Still, Khattak said he believes the deal will hold.
“We have morally disarmed the militants in Swat. Now we have to create the conditions for physically disarming them,” he said. “Swat is in a transition stage, and there is some confusion. The Taliban have no knowledge of law, and a few of them are addicted to violence, but 90 percent are behaving well.”
But even in Peshawar, a city of several million, the chilling effects of Talibanization are everywhere. Half the movie theaters have shut down for lack of attendance at Bollywood action films deemed un-Islamic. Wedding parties have stopped hiring musicians, and only one craftsman who carves traditional instruments has remained in Dabgari Garden, a famous alley that once hummed with nightlife.
Gulzar Alam, an ethnic Pashto singer, has not performed at a single event since two gunmen ambushed him in a cemetery several months ago. As a further precaution, he has grown a beard and carries prayer beads.
“There is no more music in this city, not even in the public buses,” Alam said, adding that most of his fellow entertainers have moved away or joined religious minstrel groups. The new provincial government hoped to spark a cultural revival, he added, “but now they’ve forgotten about it. The militancy problem has taken over everything.”
In rural districts closer to the tribal zones, people are even more vulnerable to the predations of outlaw militias that roam freely just a few miles away. Bazitkhel, for example, is very near the Khyber Agency, a relatively prosperous tribal area that bustles with cross-border commerce but is also the stronghold of Mangal Bagh, a former bus driver who heads an Islamist militia-turned-criminal gang.
Leaders in Bazitkhel said most of their troubles originated with Bagh’s followers, whom they allege enjoy the tacit acceptance of federal tribal officers. They said they had given authorities specific evidence about numerous attacks and their perpetrators, including cellphone records linking them to gang leaders in Khyber, but that nothing had come of it.
The village council head, Fahim ur Rahman, is now guarded around the clock by a small army of tribal members. He recounted half a dozen recent attacks and tribal retaliations, including a decisive battle last month in which hundreds of villagers encircled a group of militiamen in a three-hour gunfight, killing nine. Two weeks later came a message of gruesome revenge.
A pickup pulled into the village square in mid-afternoon and the driver walked into a shop, asking for cigarettes. The shopkeeper’s children were outside munching on candy when the truck exploded, spraying deadly shrapnel in all directions. Two children died on the spot, and a third was rushed to a hospital in Peshawar with her stomach in shreds.
“These people call themselves Taliban, but they are nothing but criminals,” Rahman said over rice and meat in his shrapnel-pocked compound. “We ask the security forces to crush them, but the police are afraid to take action, and other authorities protect them. If our tribe were not so united, we would have no hope of defending ourselves. We do not have permission to do this, but we have no choice.”

Re: Pakistani Villagers Pay a Price for Defying Rebels Along Afghan Border

The villages of badaber bazidkhel and adezai to the south and mathra to the north have been facing relentless attacks recently. Unfortunately local gangs of dacoits have linked up with the TTP and with access to weapons and men from FATA the local villages are facing a difficult fight..

They have tried to get help from the police but the frontier police are no match for groups that even the FC and the army struggle against.

Since Pakistan has abandoned them, these tribes should directly ask for assistance from NATO and the US.

not an encouraging read

Under Pressure: Can Peshawar Resist Taliban?
12:43am UK, Monday March 23, 2009

Alex Crawford, in Peshawar

The bunkers are freshly dug. The trenches are long and winding.

Peshawar police station has a heavy armed guard
Pakistan: Sky News’ Alex Crawford Goes Inside Peshawar As City Tackles The Taliban | World News | Sky News

The Russian armoured vehicle at the entrance has four men clasping AK47s sitting astride it. This is no ordinary police station.

The Peshawar police are under pressure and the Mathani police station on the outskirts of the city underlines their mountainous challenges.

We arrive the morning after they have had their latest encounter with militants.

They tell me a large crowd surrounded the police station firing mortars and rockets. The fighting had gone on for two hours.

Defence tunnels at the station

Sub Inspector Mohammad Yaseen who is in charge at Mathani, has the air of a man who feels he’s been given a task he simply cannot successfully complete.

Looking out over the bunkers and sandbagged police posts, he tells me ruefully: “This is a very dangerous place. They attack us regularly, about once a week and they always have heavy weapons.”

The North West Frontier Province has a police force of 48,000. It is situated on the border with Afghanistan and has semi-autonomous tribal areas on three sides. The Taliban militants are knocking on the gates of the capital, Peshawar, indeed many would say they have already battered it down and are operating inside.

The Inspector General of NWFP Malik Naveed Khan who is based in Peshawar tells me: "I am fighting the most dangerous militancy in the world yet I have no helicopter capability.

“I have no bullet proof vehicle and only 10% of my force has bullet proof jackets so I don’t wear one either. These are hard facts and the Western community has to wake up to this fact and help. They have to help us.”

Vigilantes against the Taliban

He goes on to say when he first arrived to take up his post just over a year ago, only 20% of his men had AK47s. Up until then they were coping with single shot rifles - not much use against the heavily armed militants.

Just a short distance away from Mathani police station, there are more armed men. Only these men are neither police, nor Taliban militants but ordinary Peshawar residents who have turned vigilante.

Fahim says he has about 6,000 volunteers who have all taken up arms to keep the Taliban militants out of their neighbourhood.

He says he personally bought three hundred weapons to defend themselves.

“The police took away the two guns I had,” he says, ‘They are no help whatsoever. Instead they are making problems for us. We have our own vehicles, our own guns and our own bullets and we are defending ourselves.’

His men patrol the lanes and alleyways of Bazidkhel near Mothani on the outskirts of Peshawar - an area where the police fear going. He claims success saying the kidnappers and the robbers have been driven out by them. His men stand behind him holding rocket propelled grenades. They all have AK47s, some have grenades strapped to their chests. These men are better armed than the police.

The city where once the England cricketers toured has become a no-go area for foreigners and it appears, in places, for the police too. And now they have vigilantes in the mix.

Only direct aid from the US straight to pakhtunkhwa will help. Islamabad needs to be cut out from the provinces decisions.

**Khehkeshan, **thank you for using Pakhtunkha insted of NWFP.I am totaly agree with you the aid either militery or none milatry should go directly to the CM and Governer of Pakhunkhwa.

You are saying Federation is useless and provinces should be independent of what they do?

After drama of CJ Ifiti laang maarch, the Islamabad government has been incapacitated and is useless. They have no physical authority over these villages anyways.

That drama doesn't mean Federation should split, it just shows the people in charge were in disagreement with people on streets and underestimated them, thats all. If the long march had gone violent and govt had failed in controlling then that'd be an issue.

Federation has already split as it no longer exerts any control over large parts of the country. Now with an even degraded power center, there is absolutely no reason to believe the federation is capable of doing anything for the provinces.

Badaber is not an Afghan border village, its between Darra and Peshawar. Im not sure what the definition of a border village is exactly but I would not classify Badaber as one.

What about the PAF base at Badaber? Whatever happened to that? Dont militants target that?

This area has been notoriously lawless and kidnaps/lootings have always gone on here. When a system is rotting for 60 years eventually it gives way.

It really does not matter who receives the USA funding to fight the militants, they are corrupt at all levels. The people in the provincial government are no better than the people in the central government. Whoever receives the money, it will disappear into someones bank account.

There come MQMers whining about split of Federation... of Pakistan.. oh bhai, if you don't like Pakistan and its law, then live it to the people of Pakistan and go abroad get a foreign passport like ur leader did.. stay & collect ur bhata their..

About the situation of Pak-Afghan Border, the solution is to barb-wire the border and Pak-Army do an intensive operation knock these terrorist down...

But i guess the govt in center and in province is not interested in this kind of solutions..

Now it is need less to say that the Govt is of PPP+MQM in the Center and PPP + ANP in the NWFP ( which is still not officially called Pakhtoonkha (as per my knowledge), which i believe is lazyness on the part of the govt of NWFP as they have to persuade their case). So who is going to solve the problem???

I think MQM is asking for US interference as then they can ask samething for Karachi???

Kehkashan! well im ashamed to see ur signature that ur against jihad. yes the jihad like taliban is not Islam but u straight away wrote against jihad, then ur not a muslim that u deny Allah's orders.

shame on us for having such muslims among ourselves who r against Allah's teachings and the right path.

and shame on us that we instead of solving the problem ourselves rely on foreign countriz nonmuslim countriz who r already our enemiz.

:(

well! sbse pehlay humein apne girebaan me jhaankna chahiye baad me dusron ko baatein krni chahiyen.

ab is se apni talibanophobia na le kr aa jana k ji mein unki himayat krta hn ar ye k her dhamaka taaliban hi kervatay hn!

^^ Bro Captian FT, pehlay yeh log Sindhi, Punjabi aur Pathan kay issues per fasaad khara kiya kertay thay, ab inhooN nay taliban ko vehicle bana liya hay...

MQM key syasat sirf nafratooN per chaltee hay, kabhi Punjab, kabhi, Sindhi, kabhi Balochi tu kabhi Pathan.. aaj kal Taliban haiN let see kay kal kon hota hay...

Most interesting part of MQM's hypocrisy is, Altaf is against Feudelism and he their ally by all means.. Altaf is against Military/establishmnet and but been their ally for last 5/6 years... thats what we hypocirsy at its peak...

Good to see CIA is now acting without pakistani approval by launching strikes from their drones based in pakistan. More jihadi terrorists will die this way. I think the CIA should directly engage with the tribes and villagers who are fighting the talibs and give them targeting gear for the drones. I’m sure they’re already doing this.

Predator strikes on al-Qaeda causing militants to turn on themselves | smh.com.au

But officials said the surge in strikes had less to do with expanded capabilities than with the decision to skip Pakistani approval. “We had the data all along,” said a former official who oversaw Predator operations in Pakistan. “Finally we took off the gloves.”

The people in this village have already taken the matter into their own hands as the state of pakistan has failed them once again.