Pakistani U.N Peacekeepers-In the Congo, Pak Ind forces (merged)

March 2, 2005
Filed at 3:10 p.m. ET

KINSHASA, Congo (AP) – U.N. troops killed as many as 60 militiamen in a stepped-up campaign to clear northeastern Congo of rogue gunmen who have preyed on residents and are suspected in the recent slaying of nine peacekeepers, U.N. officials said Wednesday.

The peacekeepers, backed by an attack helicopter and responding to fire, killed more people than in any other operation during their six-year mission in Congo.

Tuesday’s gunbattle between 242 Pakistani peacekeepers and militia fighters broke out at a heavily fortified militia camp near the village of Loga, 20 miles north of Bunia, the capital of the lawless Ituri province, said Col. Dominique Demange, spokesman for the U.N. forces in Congo.

``While on operation we were fired upon, so we immediately responded,‘’ he said.

Peacekeepers returned fire and called in an attack helicopter, Demange said. He added that between 50 and 60 militia members had been confirmed dead.

Two peacekeepers were wounded and evacuated to South Africa, U.N. spokeswoman Eliane Nabaa said.

The operation marked an aggressive shift in the way the world body is tackling its mission to shepherd Congo toward peace and stability after years of accusations that U.N. peacekeepers have been ineffective.

The militia, which belongs to the ethnic Lendu political party Nationalist and Integrationist Front, has been terrorizing villages of the rival Hema tribe for months. Tribal fighters have killed dozens of people, looted and burned homes and forced more than 70,000 people to flee to the hills since December.

The United Nations suspects the same militia is responsible for killing the nine Bangladeshi peacekeepers in a well-executed ambush on Feb. 25.

This group continues to loot, kill and rape these people, making life miserable,'' said Nabaa. It’s time to put an end to this militia.‘’

The violence is taking place against a stunning backdrop of sweeping, grassy hills and a patchwork of farms and thatched huts.

``Our forces will keep putting pressure on the ground until these militia are dismantled entirely,‘’ said Gen. Jean-Francois Collot d’Escuries, chief of staff for U.N. troops in Congo.

In January, hundreds of peacekeepers were dispatched to several areas of the isolated, territory to provide security and allow humanitarian groups to distribute food and medicine.

But following the slaying of the nine U.N. soldiers, the United Nations announced it was suspending humanitarian assistance to 54,000 people due to increased violence.

For several years, U.N. peacekeepers in Congo have been accused of being ineffective.

In 2003, a small contingent of U.N. Uruguayan troops in Bunia were quickly overrun when Hema and Lendu militia fought for control of the town, killing more than 500 people.

The United Nations drew stiff international criticism for allowing the deaths, many of which were execution-style murders carried out by rival teenage gunmen. The United Nations blamed a weak Security Council mandate that only permitted them to protect U.N. staff.

The U.N. Security Council toughened the mandate months later, allowing them to protect civilians. However, they were criticized again in June 2004 when renegade Congolese troops seized the lakeside town of Bukavu in the east, mostly while U.N. troops stood by.

Re: Pakistani U.N Peacekeepers Kill 60 Militiamen in Congo

Proud news :)

Park army is pretty neat - they've done alot of major peace keeping operations and
I still remember the breaking news of how Pakistan save american soldiers in somalia.
Awesome!

Pak fauj Zindabad :jhanda:

shaaabaash pakistan army…dil khush hogaya…pakistan zindabad… :jhanda: :jhanda:
now i just have to wait for the indian friends in gs to start bashing this thread also :smiley:

60 killed in biggest UN battle for a decade
By Adrian Blomfield in Nairobi
(Filed: 03/03/2005)

United Nations peacekeepers have gone on the offensive against a militia group in Congo, deploying helicopters and killing nearly 60 people in the biggest battle fought by the world body in more than a decade.

But criticism of the operation was mounting yesterday when it emerged that up to a third of the dead could have been civilians used as human shields by the group that was the attackers’ intended target.

Two UN soldiers were wounded during clashes with FNI militia
The latest hostilities began when a battalion of Pakistani soldiers advanced on the militia base in the Ituri district, the scene of some of the worst atrocities in the country, where more than three million people have died since war erupted in 1998.

UN commanders dismissed suggestions that the more forceful approach was retaliation for an ambush last week in which nine Bangladeshi peacekeepers were tortured then executed.

A UN spokesman said that fighters from the Nationalist and Integrationist Front (FNI) opened fire on the Pakistanis with anti-tank artillery and heavy machine guns.

Helicopters and armoured personnel carriers returned fire. Two Pakistani soldiers were wounded but no deaths were reported.

Congolese officials in the area said that 20 of those killed in the battle were civilians, including three children and several women who were burned to death after rounds from helicopter gunships set fire to their huts.

The UN was unable to confirm those reports.

“What we are sure of is that the militiamen were using civilians as human shields,” said Eliane Nabaa, a UN spokesman in Ituri’s main town of Bunia.

“We think the majority of those killed, maybe all, were militiamen but we are investigating to see if there were civilians among the dead.”

The FNI is one of four militias that recruit from the Lendu tribe. Its fighters are notorious for acts of brutality.

The firefight is thought to represent the most intense battle under the UN flag since 1994 when American troops killed up to 1,000 Somalis during the “Black Hawk Down” incident.

Eighteen American rangers were also killed.

http://www.arts.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2005/03/03/wcongo03.xml&sSheet=/portal/2005/03/03/ixportal.html

get the crayon out of your brain man.:stuck_out_tongue:

get the cow dung out of your brain man :smiley:

Who do you think provided air support for this? :slight_smile:

Hav'nt they learnt a lesson from their debacle in Somalia......and the wholescale slaughter by the skinnies.....

you didnt get the joke piggy. so shut your hole:bukbuk:

kaka crayon nikaal ki tumhaari a$$ main daal diya ...mazaaa aaraha hai na...

talwar instead of saying aprreciative words u will keep on saying abt air support- magar agar yeh soldiers galti karen to u will be the first one to post ur views...anyways ur response was just as i expected....

nahi yaar, i am straight. sorry to disppoint you but i am not one of your kind.Khudh ki me hi dall ke maza le lo.

now he’s got a crayon sticking in his ass AND cow dung in his brain :smiley:

yah, they are pretty neat, that is why they still can’t liberate kashmir. they are only neat when it comes to killing their own muslim brothers to make kufars happy

Dude,

Calm down.

Indian Helicopters provided air support for this operation. That was my point.

Basically, it was Pakistani groun troops, Indian choppers fighting together to avenge Bangladeshi troops.

:slight_smile:

and you start flying.

Wounded soldier tells of fierce DRC firefight

He managed to drag severely injured comrade to safety after explosion
March 4, 2005

By Graeme Hosken and Sapa

A Pakistani special forces operator is fighting for his life in a Pretoria hospital after an anti-tank rocket exploded in front of him in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Ihtibhar Khan, who is currently in the Pretoria Eye Institute, was critically injured during an attack by UN peacekeepers on a militia base in the DRC’s Ituri district, in which South African troops were also involved.

Doctors have removed both his eyes and are treating him for severe burns to his face, neck, head and chest.

Khan and fellow Pakistani soldier Gulzar Ahmed (27), who are peacekeepers with the UN mission in the DRC, known as Monuc, were airlifted from a Ugandan hospital on board a mercy flight to South Africa on Wednesday after a gunfight in which at least 50 Congolese militiamen are believed to have been killed by UN peacekeepers.

Khan sustained third-degree burns to more than 70% of his body, while Ahmed’s right eardrum burst and an eye was injured in the explosion.

The two were part of a Monuc mission to hunt down the militiamen responsible for the killing of nine Bangladeshi peacekeepers last Friday.

The Bangladeshi troops, several of whom were executed after being taken prisoner, were ambushed while on patrol in the DRC’s north-eastern region of Ituri.

Speaking from his bed in 1 Military Hospital in Thaba-Tshwane, Ahmed, a member of the 21 Punjab Regiment, said they had been involved in a three-hour fire fight with more than 400 militia troops.

“The militia were taken by surprise when we were dropped into their base by helicopter, but they were able to put up a fierce fight with anti-tank rockets, RPGs, heavy machineguns and missiles,” he said.

Ahmed, who is to be discharged from hospital next week, said they had been in the process of withdrawing to a new position when some of the militiamen ambushed them with anti-tank rockets.

“As Khan and I jumped out of our armoured vehicle, the Indian helicopters attacked, firing more than 20 rockets before one of the rebels’ rockets exploded in front of us, setting Khan alight,” he said.

Injured, but still conscious, Ahmed dragged Khan to safety, using his body to put out the flames, before administering medical attention.

Asked what the explosion felt like, Ahmed said everything had gone dead quiet.

“I remember lying on my back thinking how peaceful everything was. It was strange because I knew I had been hit, but I was not panicking.”

“Everything seemed to happen so smoothly. I grabbed Khan and dragged him backwards, like we were taught, and did everything to help him, holding him down and talking to him to stop him panicking,” he said.

A helicopter airlifted the two to a Uganda hospital, from where they were flown to South Africa.

Brigadier Jehanzeb Raja, defence adviser for the Pakistani High Commission in Pretoria, said Khan was still in a critical condition. He said it would take more than three months before Khan would be able to fly back to Pakistan.

Raja added that, once fully recovered, Ahmed would rejoin his battalion in the DRC.

Meanwhile the South African Defence Department said yesterday that South African troops had played just a small role in the attack on the militia camp.

Two platoons of South African infantry were initially in reserve with some Nepalese troops, while two companies of Pakistani troops attacked the camp.

“At 10.30am (on Tuesday) the Monuc force drew fire from the militia and returned fire. The South African reserves and a Mil Mi25 attack helicopter were called in to reinforce the Pakistani forces,” SANDF spokesperson Colonel John Rolt said in a statement.

“No South African soldiers were injured,” Rolt added.

Monuc chief of staff General Collot d’Escury said yesterday the attack was a “proportionate” reaction to the killing of the nine Bangladeshi soldiers.

Monuc has denied rebel claims that troops killed several civilians during the hard-hitting strike against the militias.

http://www.thestar.co.za/index.php?fSectionId=129&fArticleId=2434727

Yeah. I heard it was an Indian helcpter crew… Very cool indeed:)

Great example of co-operation. :), shame some of the members of this board cant do the same. :(