Pakistani theatre and Mujra Culture

Whats with these theatre shows and dances (mujra) shown therein.

The lyrics can’t be quoted, but one quoted in ARY’s drama ‘Quddoosi Saheb ki bewah’ : ’ aai pyar di haneri 2 anar hil gae’ :smack:

Time and again government departments raided such programs and for the time being a ban is placed on such dances, but again we see the leading dancers (who called them actresses) like Nargis, Deedar are shown on media justifying their instance. Naseebo Laal (the famous singer for these infamous songs) said that she was harrased by the producers to sing such vulgar song and she does not sing such songs willingly :hoonh:

Whats with the society where peple don’t like to see such programs on TV screens before their families, but inspite of all this, it appears that such movies and stage shows got big audience and their DVDs are in demand to be watched in privacy.

Re: Pakistani theatre and Mujra Culture

People don't do a lot of things in front of their families, for instance watching porn.

right, but again porn is probably the next stage. Sometimes, the stage shows are shown on cable tv (which is not the case with porn).

Many theatre / cinema owners say that if they a show / movie full of such mujras attract more audience than a show / movie on some serious issue.

People experience serious issues everyday all day long. Work, family, kids are all serious issues. People need a break from their regular lives and they go to these mujras, because they have nothing better to do.

There's a demand for these things. It's like prostitution, or the existence of breweries. As long as it's not blatantly advertised, people turn a blind eye. If fetish/bondage wear can be manufactured in Pakistan for export, anything is possible.

I don't recall the names, but I remember my Mom mentioning several famous female singers (not necessarily those who perform controversial songs) who were forced to perform in private mehfils for government officials, all the way up to the PM/President. Some were threatened until they said yes. It was a martial law period, I think.

What do you suggest then. What should we do to fix this?

In Ayub Khan’s period, actress Neelo (mother of actor Shan) was comelled to dance before Shah e Iran. On her refusal, she was beaten. Later, Habib Jalib wrote her famous poem ’ Tu ke na waqif e aadab e ghulami hai abhi’ dedicted to Neelo.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/indo-pak-history/547764-raqs-e-zanjeer-a-historical-poem.html

Agree that our people think that they got less sources for entertainment, but again is this the only entertainment available to them?

We have food, but you can't eat all the time. Drugs, but they're worse. Or the sources of entertainment are just to expensive.

Muqawwee : Yep. Neelo sounds familiar, she was one example. Thanks for the link.

Saeed : No idea. I'm not sure if it can be fixed. You can limit access - shut down the public theater performances, and they'll continue in private residences. But you can't stop the distribution/viewing of DVDs, as Muqawwee mentioned.

Incidentally, do you think mujra attendance will decrease if people had 'better things to do'/less stress in their lives? I suspect the interest would continue. Gentlemen's clubs (if there ever was a contradictory term) exist in every society, and this seems to be Pakistan's version.

Speaking of entertainment, the periodic banning of Bollywood is so counterproductive.

:hmmm: so these mujra stuffed shows are the cheap source of entertainment. Why not a good movie for same ticket povide entertainment to the people?

Government doesn't pay full attention towards these things.If government can ban display of

firearms then why can't it stop such things.

If government wants to ban Hindi channels,instant action is taken.

But I think government officials get money for not banning such videos.

In short these things are more deadly than firearms because firearms kill one person

but these type of videos in home on Tv screen kills whole family because girls watch the

performers' clothes as latest fashion they consider them their ideals & try to walk on their foot

steps which leads to destruction of their family & other families of boys & girls.

I hope so

Actually this kind of entertainment is considered as manly way of passing time..i think that is also a reason of continuation of this form of art....:D

:hmmm: thin line difference being manly and being tharki

Dont you think those who consider killing other humans inferior to them...and kill them,humiliate them....

for them this is a not a grave sin....:D

:konfused: You mean the audience for such shows are Taliban?

first who started this kind of entertainment are elites and from ruling class....

is your ruling class different than taliban..both have same value for human lives and dignity ....:)

You mean establishment supports political parties as well as Mujra culture?

bhai mujra wagera dekhne ka shauk pehle zameendaar pala karte the....

Ab bhi unhi jaise paisewalo ki wajahse ye shauk zinda hai...

Waise Pakistani middle class bhi kya iss shauk me mulawwis hai?

As per the karta dharta of these shows, it is claimed that these shows are as per the public demand and public include rikshaw wala, doodh wala, rerhi wala, etc