Besides JUNOON is there a band in pakistan that would qualify for ‘rock’ ?
Barbarians for one
and then not a band but amir zaki is pretty much rock and roll..
like fraudia said...barbarianz
i'll say there are more...
opre...
shor...
karavan...
awaz...
circle...
rage...
collage...
stringz...
solo artistz..
aamir zaki
faraz anwar
abid umer
mikail hassan
Alf Allah Chunmbay Di Booti...Mere Maan Vich Murshad Lai Huu..
Naffi Asbaat Da Paani Mallaya...Har Raggay HarJai Huu
[Sultan Bahuu]...
Originally posted by ^DerVaisH^:
**like fraudia said...barbarianz
i'll say there are more...
opre...
shor...
karavan...
awaz...
circle...
rage...
collage...
stringz...
solo artistz..
aamir zaki
faraz anwar
abid umer
mikail hassan
i'll take awaz but rest is not 'rock' just soft pop.
mast bhai, aap ney opre suna hai kya?......what about shor?, i think u havent listened to them, cuz for sure out of the list they r the real good rockers,....... u cant get anything like korn or limb bizkit, cuz v r pakistanis....but beside junoon they r the closest to real hard rock.
DAKOO
p.s: check out shor's "shor", and opre's "suragh" and then post ur reply.
Dervaish can answer this question the best. As for barbarians are the still together? I highly doubt that though. Collage was an excellent rock band but I think they are broken up too now. And Opre is real good to, I have listened to them adnt hink they have alot of talent. They should produce some albums in Pakistan!
well there is new full time rock group called SHOR, they have there new song aired on TV specially on Indus Vision "Aja Mere Paas Aaja", n its full time rock, in that group Awaz's guitarist Asad is playing the metal guitar, n he has a done a great job!!!
~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!!
Originally posted by AliBeta:
Dervaish can answer this question the best. As for barbarians are the still together? I highly doubt that though. Collage was an excellent rock band but I think they are broken up too now. And Opre is real good to, I have listened to them adnt hink they have alot of talent. They should produce some albums in Pakistan!
Well keep your copies of OPRE and other bands they are a collector items now … its very hard to sustain in Pakistani Rock music .. Competition from cheezy/pirated and tasteless Indian filmi music is too strong .. not every one has the resources and luck of Junoon to breakthrough the non-existent desi-rock market … I managed and actually worked with OPRE since its beginning .. we produced an excellent album but hit the dead-end when it came to marketing .. the story is the same with other bands.. the promoters are happy with Saleem Javeds and Indian crap … its hard to follow up with the first album most bands (like with us OPRE) put all their resources, time and effort in the debut album and negative response just kills the prospect of surviving … but no doubt Pakistani Rock has some tremendous talent .. I followed up the Lahore underground scene for a while .. it was impressive .. but kicking it up a notch is whole different ball game .. so far Junnon is the only band who transcended to professional music …
Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go
We should not be expecting the Pakistani market to respond to rock music. I mean theres not much of a big audience anyway, of rock there. Its just not the culture of our country. So those doing metal and rock should not have many expectations.
As for the Lahore metal scene, most of the people there are fairly skillful but they are not going anywhere. They are cover bands, and dont do there own stuff. I mean apart from Coven and Trip none of them even tried.
Originally posted by junoonie:
**well there is new full time rock group called SHOR, they have there new song aired on TV specially on Indus Vision "Aja Mere Paas Aaja", n its full time rock, in that group Awaz's guitarist Asad is playing the metal guitar, n he has a done a great job!!!
The band you are talking abt is not Shor but Karavan. Pretty neat rockers.
Originally posted by Scratch:
** The band you are talking abt is not Shor but Karavan. Pretty neat rockers.
well i dont knw if they were called karavan or not, nowadys on TV they are known as SHOR, thts y i mentioned it here!
~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!!
I agree with Rooster on issues with music in Pakistan. Junoon is a great band, but there was luck on their side as there were other talented bands in Pakistan who never made it big.
The sound desired by the masses is pop. Junoon's sucess indicates that people would be open to new types of music, but the world of music is not about just talent, its about contacts and promotion as well.
I dont know how many of you know bands like Kashish in the west coast, or Saraab in the east coast, or singers like Aamir Agha and Dr. zaffar Iqbal (not zaffri) in pakistan.
There are people like Amir Zaki, who have more talent in thier pinkie than the whole khandaan of shehzaad roy, but they dont get the exposure.
To compare... our music industry is happy to feed people NSYNC and other bubble gum pop. and the led zeps or the oasis of pak music get shunned.
Rooster, lets start a rock label and promote artists. I am all for it.
Hey, dont leave me out of this Fraudia…I will be the flag bearer of the rock rebel…or better still make it metal rebel